We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed five Days and Enjoyed It - Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Horizon Inn
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed five Days and Enjoyed It - Great Staff”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I hosted a Road Scholar group (Golf, Wine & Theater) for six days, and the Best Western Holiday Inn was a great place to stay. Very friendly staff (Megan, Heidi, Crystal, Angelo, and others) and the general manager, Darby Stricker, was most helpful and accommodating. Use of the conference room worked well, golf courses were nearby, and the Black Bear diner just across the parking lot from the hotel (Thanks John, Carrie and others) worked very well. I have already planned more Road Scholar trips next year using this hotel and restaurant.

Wayne Schumacher
Road Scholar

Room Tip: All rooms seemed fine for our group members. No elevator, however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleandWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Super fun review to read! When we can meet the needs of an entire group and have great feedback to boot, we really feel successful! We really appreciate that you have taken valuable time to share your experience with others. You said all of our favorite things! Once again thank you so very much, we look forward to serving you next time.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    418
    125
    45
    31
See reviews for
457
379
85
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Wondeful hotel & staff!!!!! Great value!!! Rooms were clean and everything was in working order. We stayed in 246. Noise level was very good. Shower head was pit problematic, especially for shorter people.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Wow - you covered it all! Clean, friendly, well maintained! Thank you so much for taking a moment to share you experience with other travelers. We know time is valuable and your generosity has not gone unnoticed. We have the high showers so everyone can stand under the water but I will be checking to make sure that it works perfectly. Your feedback improves our business!

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The front desk people were all friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome. Angelo was especially helpful. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The room was cleaned early in the day, which we like. We really appreciate having the refrigerator.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
We love to hear that you found our rooms not only large and comfortable but also clean enough worthy of a comment! We take cleanliness very seriously, winning awards for our effort. We also LOVE to hear that you enjoyed our service. We have the friendliest group of people working in all of our departments and it is so validating to hear our guests say so. Thank you for taking a moment to share your feed back, we are very appreciative.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just drove in here one night because I needed a place to spend the night. It was warm that evening and when I got to the room it was probably warmer than outside. The toilet seat was dirty and the phone cord was not even connected to the phone. Was able to get a decent nights sleep though. If you are beat and don't feel like driving anymore, there is a Black Bear to eat at next door which provided a nice dinner. Got up early the next morning to leave, and when I went to get ice from the ice room there was a transient sleeping on the floor and had to step over him to get ice. The next time I am in Medford I would spend more time looking for a room for the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uc4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we use it to improve our operation so we are truly grateful! We were glad to read that you were able to capture a good night sleep and that you enjoyed the restaurant on our property. Since we have never had comments about someone sleeping in our vending, we will take extra steps to ensure this is not happening. As an award winning team for our cleanliness, I am particularly concerned that you found your room not to standard. I will be taking these comments to the housekeeping inspector, as a reminder that EVERY room must be a 10!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Air conditioning worked alright. It was especially welcomed when it got to warm in the room and the bed bugs starting crawling all over my neck and arms. Turned the air conditioning on to cold and they went away but brought home two bug bites on my neck that are really big and itch a lot. Will never go there again.

Room Tip: Don't know if other rooms have bed bugs but stay away from 231.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AriBarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
At great expense, we had the room blocked off in response to this review and had it professionally inspected immediately. We would like to invite you to call us so that we can provide you a copy of the inspection, which shows that no bed bugs or signs of any infestation. We know how devastating an infestation can be for all, so we contract with the most reputable company for regularly scheduled inspections, as well we have trained and certified (on record) every housekeeper to identify all indications, as a preventative measure. We are sorry your visit to Medford caused you any distress. Please let us know if you would like to discuss your stay with us any further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Our September 24, 2012 stay was booked with Serena at the front desk on Sept. 8, 2012. We arrived on our booked date to a very friendly front desk and helpful too with directions to the Rogue Valley Mall. This mall is worth a much longer stay than we were able to give it. The Black Bear Diner is right on the property. We did not eat there but we have eaten at other Black Bear Diners and they are fine. We choose Shari's not too far away. This was a good choice. Also, there is a Fred Meyer's store just west on E. Barnett Rd. -- with gas too. Our room was very clean and just right as we have a small Westie. The area around the motel was quiet too. We plan to stay here again next year on our way to and from the central Oregon coast. Thanks Crystal!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have afternoon shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABLA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
We couldn't agree with you more about Serena and Crystal. Serena is our newest super star at the front desk and we think she is great! Crystal as always, is such a delightful person at the front desk. We are so glad to hear that you had a good stay, that you enjoyed our local attractions. the Black Bear Diner is just another great place in Medford and how lucky are we to have them right here on our property. Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience and impressions of the local scene. Medford is a pretty cool place!!!

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights and had the best service for the entire 2 week trip.
Heidi was the most helpful staff person that we encountered. She gave us information on a good
and clean laudromat, dining recommedations and activities. Getting good Dungeness crab at the
first retaurant made my day. Thanks Heidi!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Wow! High praise indeed. Hiedi is a true local having grown up here, even I still look to her for the best restaurants in town. We agree that she is so friendly and we would add very pleasant to work with. Thank you so much for taking time from your busy day to share the good word. We really appreciate your feedback.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medford hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 35 in Medford
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Medford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 35 in Medford
328 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramada Medford Hotel and Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Horizon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Horizon Inn

Property: Best Western Horizon Inn
Address: 1154 E Barnett Rd, Medford, OR 97504-8221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Medford
#4 Family Hotel in Medford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Horizon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Horizon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horizon Hotel Medford
Best Western Medford
Medford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing