We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Certificate of Excellence
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This place is really on top of everything! I will list the wonderful aspects as follows: staff welcomes you, both prior and during the visit, rooms are large and clean, staff is outstandingly courteous and friendly, breakfast, attended by 2 hostesses, had everything except green tea-- boiled eggs, yogurt, biscuits & gravy, several kinds of breads and muffins, fresh oranges, apples and bananas, good juices, lots of coffee and hot water for tea and oatmeal, several dry cereals! Pool was large, clean, and well-cared for, dog area was a little forest, and there is a huge dog park across the street, an excellent breakfast restaurant adjacent, and several good restaurants in the area! Did I mention-- it was extremely quiet, though very close to the freeway! All this in about 250 rooms!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, but it looks as if all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
WOW - you said it all and we are over the moon! Thank you so much for you really very kind words about our hotel and our efforts. We appreciate it when our guests takes the time to share this kind of recommendation with other travelers. It is validating!!!

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    380
    115
    37
    24
See reviews for
416
347
77
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The room smelled bad, the furniture was stained, the carpet was dirty and stained. Bugs in the bathroom. Inadequate towels and toilet paper. Refrigerator was either on or off and froze the food. Noisy neighbor kept us awake all night. Bed was lumpy. Room for breakfast so small we didn't bother due to the crowded conditions. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
My goodness Mr. B, you were here for 4 days. I would have loved to have you contact me so that I could hear that you were having challenges, while you were here. We would have gotten to the bottom of your disappointments, and done everything we could to turn your experience around. You can bet I will be in your room this morning to find our what you experienced and if I find deficiencies, we will fix it now. We know we are not perfect every single time but we stand by our guests and get them what they need if they communicated with us during their stay. Very sorry we didn't have that opportunity.

Grateful for the feedback,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

we were lodged next to rooms with barking, howling dogs for 2 nights in spite of lodging a complaint after the first night. This was unacceptable! Guests should be told where pets are lodged so they can chose not to be in a room next to them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank O7274GYrebeccab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are so sorry the neighboring guests disturbed your stay. Our goal is always to satisfy every guest who stays with us. Please feel free to contact me directly, I would like to discover the break down in communication in this very solvable challenge so that we can correct our failings and so I can make it right.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
550 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The staff at the front desk is terrific. They went out of there way to help me get a room when I arrived very late at night. Super friendly.

Nice clean rooms. Good breakfast.

Pet friendly hotel that is a nice hotel unlike one of the other properties we checked out first in Medford.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Very kind words, thank you so much. We appreciate our guests who take a few minutes to get out the good word about us. We loved your comments about the staff, especially coming from a very seasoned reviewer! Thank you again, we look forward to your next visit.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbor, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Old school open type 2 story hotel complex located at a convenient location. For me "clean & comfortable" comes first and the rest is just incidentals.
Pros:
1. Overall clean room with basic neutral furnishings and décor, to include a microwave and a small refrigerator. Comfortable Beautyrest mattress.
2. Located adjacent to I-5, and very near the Hospital District (important for those along the coastline that come to Medford for major medical services)
3. Friendly and attentive staff
4. Black Bear Café immediately next door to hotel (safe recognizable café type food serving anytime breakfast.
Cons:
1. Traffic noise can be persistent, but HVAC fan will drown out noise.
2. Very large hotel complex with only a very small Breakfast room (a converted hotel room). Six tables with 4 chairs each. Having the Black Bear Café next door is possibly a wiser choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HopefulIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for the very kind words. We really appreciate the time you took to share your experience with other travelers. We agree about the breakfast room and we are expanding it starting on November 2nd. We are excited to be able to improve our service and we look forward to unveiling the new breakfast room in late November.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

When the room had maintenance problems, I was made to feel that it was somehow my fault. Breakfast was way below par for the best western chain. And for a hotel with 115 rooms, there were only six tables int he tiny, converted hotel room they call a breakfast room. But it doesn't matter, because the breakfast supplies are stored and staged in what was the room's bathroom. When the leave the door open, you can still see the tub! It not has a set of shelves sitting it in. I blinked in disbelief, grabbed a banana and a chalky mini muffin and are back in my room. Worst BW ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are profoundly sorry for the misunderstanding. We honestly believed you were telling us, it was a guest in your room who broke the shower head. In either case, we certainly wanted to get you moved but every room was occupied. We believed when you accepted the very deep discount and the 2000 extra rewards points, that we had satisfied your expectations. I only wish you would have told us that we had not, our aim is to be fair and we look to the guest to help us determine what fair is to them. We can't always get to the challenge if the break is so bad that we need parts, but we certainly try to make it right.

As for the breakfast room, it is a converted guest room that is way too small for the recently increased demand on hotel continental breakfast. While the 11 tables available for 121 rooms meet the standards, we agree we need more room. Things have changed since the day when hotel breakfast was a packaged danish and a coffee, our menu and attendance has really expanded. I assure you that like most hotels, there is no food preparation on site. We have all prepackaged items like yogurt, hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy or self serve items like cereal, fresh fruit, muffins and toast. In either case, we are always in the top percentages of health inspections for food handling and safety. We have our plans through the city now and we are starting the remodel to expand on November 2nd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The BAD. Let my toddler crawl for a minute on the carpet. He came up with very black dirty knees. Last time him or we touched the carpet with bare skin. The GOOD. Everything else was good. The front desk called right after we checked in to make sure that everything was satisfactory. Service was good and if I wasn't aware of the carpet being really dirty I would of thought the room was pretty clean. Everyone seems to get going pretty early here so don't expect to sleep in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Oh my, don't ever hesitate to let us know immediately that your room is fallen short in some way. There are so many things we can attend to right then or get you into another room. We have our carpets cleaned on a very regular rotation but if one gets hit hard and we need to bump up the schedule, we will do so right away! Thank you for the feedback, we really do use this information to make our business better.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medford hotels
1.4 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 35 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rogue Regency Inn
Rogue Regency Inn
#10 of 35 in Medford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Medford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn
Address: 1154 Barnett Road, Medford, OR 97504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Medford
#3 Best Value Hotel in Medford
#4 Family Hotel in Medford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horizon Hotel Medford
Best Western Medford
Medford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing