We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is FILTHY.”
Review of Inn at the Commons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at the Commons
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Medford
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This hotel is FILTHY.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I booked this hotel based on its 3-star rating and looked forward to taking my granddaughter to the swimming pool. We put on our suits and went out to swim, but given the huge ball of hair floating in the pool, substantial debris sitting on the bottom, and the milky condition of the water, we opted NOT to swim. (The Health Department should check this out.) When I complained to the front desk, the response was, "Gee, we've never had any complaints before." I find that pretty hard to believe. Also, the carpet in the room was so filthy, that walking from the bathtub to the bed resulted in dirty feet! This place isn't fit for dogs to inhabit, much less people. Even though the manager comped our room, this was definitely NOT a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrittneyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, General Manager at Inn at the Commons, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We were surprised to receive your review on TripAdvsior today. Since we obtained the property a year ago, we have been working hard to make changes and to provide a positive experience for each and every guest that walks through the doors at Inn at the Commons. As renovations have been and continue to be made, we have been receiving increasingly glowing reviews for our level of customer service, standards of cleanliness, and quality of food as more and more guests visit and continue to return.

As much as we’re disappointed to get your review, we appreciate the reminder and the opportunity to reflect on what we can do to improve the experience of others like you. Though we did discuss these issues when you brought them to our attention upon departure, we are open to hearing more about your experience so that we can continue to improve. Please do not hesitate to call us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Chris Anderson
General Manager
(541) 774-4701
chris.anderson@neumanhotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    110
    35
    7
    10
See reviews for
75
50
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Damascus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent five nights here while attending a reunion weekend. The room was spacious and clean, great mattress and breakfast was the best I've had in any other motel coming across the country. Would highly recommend staying here and would do so again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinleyville, California, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Upon arrival we were very disappointed as this place is very run down and not in a good area. The lady checking us in was borderline rude and could use a few lessons in customer service. The lobby is beautiful...but don't let that fool you. The room had been somewhat renovated however the carpets were extremely dirty and left our feet black (just after getting out of the shower!). We tried to take my daughter to the pool but upon arriving at the pool we found that the water was murky, there was a significant amount of dirt and leaves on the bottom of the pool...as well as a hair ball the size of a grapefruit floating around. After this we declined to even try the complimentary breakfast since cleanliness does not appear to be a priority for them and we were not about to risk it. In addition, the room was backed up to the freeway so we could hear traffic throughout the night. For the price they charge for this dump, you can find a nice hotel that's clean and located in a better area. DO NOT waste your money on this place!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, General Manager at Inn at the Commons, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We were surprised to receive your review on TripAdvsior today. Since we obtained the property a year ago, we have been working hard to make changes and to provide a positive experience for each and every guest that walks through the doors at Inn at the Commons. As renovations have been and continue to be made, we have been receiving increasingly glowing reviews for our level of customer service, standards of cleanliness, and quality of food as more and more guests visit and continue to return.

As much as we’re disappointed to get your review, we appreciate the reminder and the opportunity to reflect on what we can do to improve the experience of others like you. Though we did discuss these issues when you brought them to our attention upon departure, we are open to hearing more about your experience so that we can continue to improve. Please do not hesitate to call us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Chris Anderson
General Manager
(541) 774-4701
chris.anderson@neumanhotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is a renovated Red Lion. The new owners kept the glamour and glitz of an older hotel but improved it with a modern look. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and stll have a touch of the old ( groovy shell shower soap holders and a dinosaur a/c unit.). My only area of improvement would be the smell in the room reminded me of my great grandmothers house - not bad but a little musty, maybe a glade air wick or something fresh.

Overall a nice stay, friendly professional staff and a good nights rest.

Room Tip: The garden view would be nicer than the creek view. The creek runs underneath I-5. The rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We really liked this recently renovated hotel. The free breakfast had a great selection. The restaurant was first class. The service from the front desk to Ava in the restaurant to the breakfast attendant were all very accommodating.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gregorydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Quick check in with friendly staff. Our room was on the top floor facing the creek ,but it also faced a busy highway,luckily we did not hear the traffic noise! The rooms were really clean and the bed super comfy,..the air conditioner worked great, it was over 35 degrees out but our room was nice and cool. Breakfast was excellent probably one of the better ones we had on our trip! Nice selection of cold and hot tasty breakfast fare. We went for a little walk around town in the evening and found that there were quite a few pubs and bars to that offered a large selection of different beer. All in all we had a pleasent stay and will defenetly stay at this motel again.

Room Tip: Good motel for families with children. A section of the motel has rooms with patio doors that open d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle198012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cool, California, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I really liked the spaciousness of the room and the comfortable bed. Although I usually hate square pillow, theirs were larger than normal so I was able to sleep well. The wall AC worked well and I stayed comfortably cool in my room. Added bonus: the breakfast at the hotel was really good - way better than most!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medford hotels
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
1.4 mi away
Best Western Horizon Inn
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 35 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Medford
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rogue Regency Inn
Rogue Regency Inn
#10 of 35 in Medford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Commons

Property: Inn at the Commons
Address: 200 N Riverside Ave, Medford, OR 97501-6027 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Medford)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Commons 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Commons is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Medford, in southern Oregon’s scenic Rogue Valley. Its location offers an easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including Crater Lake National Park, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Southern Oregon University and a sophisticated dining scene. We are just a short drive from the historic Jacksonville and the Britt Festival, golf courses, as well as wineries of the Applegate and Rogue Valley. With the multitude of trails, rivers and lakes, Southern Oregon is your outdoor vacation bonanza. Enjoy hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing.The Inn is just 10 minutes from the Rogue Valley International Airport via our complimentary shuttle. Our 118 non-smoking spacious guest rooms and suites feature all the modern hotel amenities, including complimentary breakfast, WiFi, parking, and the heated outdoor pool. With over 9,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, we can also accommodate up to 900 guests for your next conference, or special occasion. For business or pleasure, make Inn at the Commons your destination in the heart of downtown Medford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at the Commons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Medford
Medford Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing