We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Sushi, but I've had better”

Sushi Kata Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Milwaukie
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Sushi, but I've had better”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

It was good, but I've had better. If you are close by it is a good place to go. Looks like a hole in the wall but clean. Portions are a good size and liked that miso and salad came with any entrée. Salad was not good only a few pieces of lettuce with 3 strips of carrots with a sweet Mayo
dressing. Miso good but small.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sissycat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food, generous portions, decent prices”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife stumbled upon this restaurant with a friend and brought the whole family back, so I've eaten here a couple times now. As a "hole in the wall" in a strip mall, it doesn't really stand out; and if you enter and find it pretty empty, you're just early: be assured most of the tables will be full by the time you leave.

The food is very good with generous portions for the money. It's run by a Korean family, so some of the food may remind you of bulgogi etc., but it's very good and you will either be very full or you'll need to take the rest home. The menu has a broad selection, so there's something for everyone. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luteguy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It's in a strip mall and not a great part of town. It is not a nice place and we were a little worried walking in. BUT the food was great. They give you a tiny salad and miso soup complimentary. We ordered some edemama and 3 sushi rolls. Tiger,Ninja and Honey something roll (can't remember the full name). They were great. Our favorite was Tiger but the honey something roll was a close second and I loved that it was a little spicy. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tulsadivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A very casual, small restaurant. The fish is very fresh and the portions are very large. My son
and I ordered three sushi's and two rolls. We barely ate it all. The bill was $25.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drcthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snoqualmie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Family owned & operated. Strip mall location, but excellent food & value. I've had better, but at twice the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikePeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Kata Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Milwaukie, Clackamas County
Milwaukie, Clackamas County
 
Milwaukie, Clackamas County
Milwaukie, Clackamas County
 

Been to Sushi Kata Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing