We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to the 1950s (with two exceptions). Be sure a trip to the past is what you want” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oregon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oregon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Back to the 1950s (with two exceptions). Be sure a trip to the past is what you want”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Let's get one thing straight up front. The Oregon Hotel in Mitchell, Oregon is a Bed and Breakfast, not really a hotel. What's the difference? Some rooms share a bathroom down the hall. There's no towel service. There's no one to make up the room or the bed besides you. It's your room for the duration.

That said, this is a great place to kick back and meet people you'd likely never meet elsewhere. The people of the town are very friendly and each has had an interesting life. It seems most of the town eventually ends up on the Oregon Hotel's great front porch so it's easy to make new friends. Just sit out there and wait a spell.

Mitchell is a small town located between Prineville and Dayville. More than a century ago, this town bustled with mining, logging, and ranching. Now, it's struggling for survival. Many Main Street buildings are closed or abandoned. But the town's not dead. It's a way point for bicyclists who camp overnight in the town park across the street from the Oregon Hotel. Those cyclists with some money stay in the hotel. When we were staying there, a cyclist from New Zealand and one from Holland sat on the porch comparing trip notes and making plans for their continued trips across the Western US.

There are three cafes in town. They are open at the owners' whim. Perhaps none will be open for breakfast. Two might be but the one next to the hotel never opens for breakfast any more. (The Oregon Hotel provides giant muffins and coffee for breakfast.) Perhaps one cafe will be open for dinner. Never more than one. All three might be open for lunch. Or none. It just depends. The night we arrived (July 3), we had to drive 26 miles over back roads to the nearest restaurant in Service Creek and we closed the place down at 8 pm.

If you want to be sure of dinner in town, bring your own and heat it or cook it in the hotel microwave. There's a general store two doors down from the hotel to purchase food. It has the most reliable hours of any business in town.

The hotel hasn't been updated in a while. Our room had one electrical duplex outlet into which was plugged a triple tap and a couple of extension cords. If you're a 21st-century person with a ton of gadgets, you'll need a charging scheme to keep everything running. But don't worry about keeping your cell phone charged. There's no cellular service within 30 miles or so of Mitchell. However, the hotel does provide free WiFi service and DirecTV in the room.

As for the bathroom, be advised that there's no shower. Just a tub with an old-fashioned rubber plug. There was no electricity in our bathroom, so I shaved near that overworked duplex outlet. There's a lot of character in this hotel. It's an experience unlike any you are likely to have had. It's not Motel 6 or a Marriott Courtyard. It is unique. If you're looking for a unique experience, then this might be your place at the end of the road.

Room Tip: As for Room Number 1 or a Kitchenette out back (it has a shower)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    38
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
33
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

My friends and I rented the kitchenette rooms in the back after getting rained out of our camping trip to the Fossil Beds area. The units were old but very clean. They reminded my of some old vacation cabins from my childhood. The shower was metal, but in good condition. There was wireless internet that needed to be reset periodically by the owner. The owners and other locals were very friendly. The old hotel was also clean and comfortable. The rooms were well kept and the shared bath was spotless. It was great fun in the evening to socialize with the other guests and locals on the big front porch. I would definitely suggest buying food in one of the bigger towns (John Day or Prineville) as the dining and shopping options in Mitchell are not good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank camperkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

This hotel is also some kind of a hostel, so there are different types of rooms. We stayed in a room without a private bathroom, but we were the only guests so that wasn't a problem. The room was spacious, but basic. No TV et cetera. Service was kind, but a bit aloof.

Breakfast was very simple, just coffee and a muffin.
Mitchell is a very small town, this hotel is located at the 'business loop' but most stores are closed. Staying in Mitchell is kind a staying in a ghost town to be. The bar next door is nice, lot's of locals, friendly and decent food. Painted Hills are nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is a wonderful, homey, cozy, old-fashioned hotel. It's clean, it smells good, it feels well-loved and cared for, and Skeeter and her daughters do a wonderful job of welcoming guests and caring for them.

I stayed in a budget room (no private bath), but the public bathroom was kept spotless despite a full house for Memorial Day weekend.

Mitchell used to be a logging town, and there are actual historical photos of the loggers on the walls, as well as a piano and a breezy but protected front porch for watching the small-town shenanigans, such as they are.

The real draw is one of the most spectacular natural wonders on the planet, which has mostly been kept a secret: the very beautiful Painted Hills, only ten minutes away. The Painted Hills should be on everyone's bucket list: ranges of ochre hills gashed with deep yellow in bands going back about 33 million years. The hills are REMOTE. In order to see them, you have two choices: stay in Mitchell and be able to get there in no time when the light changes; or stay an hour or two away, in Fossil, Prineville, or John Day--and forget about taking advantage of the spectacular weather events: storms, rainbows, sudden splashes of sunshine that make the hills POP.

Room Tip: Best and quietest rooms are downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Pilgrim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA State USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Mitchell is in the middle of Oregon, the nearest large town is fifty miles away and is pop 6000+. The Painted Hills, a tremendous attraction for photographers and painters are only seven miles away. Close to the John Day Fossil Beds. Definitely off the beaten path, and you do not want to be here during the heat of summer. Spring or Fall are the times to visit. All these are givens.
With those givens understood, this hotel is cleaner than clean, the price is right, the toilets and sinks work, there is a restaurant next door, which is closed sometimes and closes early--7:30. ask the hotel lady about the gasoline across the street, visit the Painted Hills early in the morning or at dusk, sit on the large front porch and read, talk, or play on the computer.
The continental breakfast is large buns and coffee. Worked for me, along with my hard boiled egg.
These are real nice folks here, and it is a true piece of old style oregon.

Room Tip: LOL! As for one with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LollyWAStateUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

I loved my stay at the oregon hotel in Mitchell Oregon. I love the fact that it is historical and the homie feeling you felt when you stayed. Ma and pa who own the place are very nice and full of information. I was told the place was built in 1936, it was very cute and all the rooms had their own theme which made it a lot different from all the other places we have stayed. It was very clean and they served muffins and coffee or hot tea and Hot coco. If I had it to do all over agian I would stay. If you want a western feel get away go to the Oregon Hotel and stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumkinBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

I chose this as a B+B nearest to the Painted Hills. It looked quirky and unusual and it sure was. The things I fully understand a hotel of this age cannot do anything about are the walls made of wooden plywood which are paper thin. You could her a pin drop upstairs or next door. The other guests were howevr very quiet and respectful. What I did love was Mitchell. It was like a film set from How the West was Won. The next door bar and restaurant run by Mickey was great. He was an amazing character and the food was fine. You could even hitch your "hoss" to the railings. The general stores probably last did a stock take in about 1945. It sold about everythnig you could ever want!! The Oregon Hotel was pleasant looking. It had free WiFi. On a quiet loop away from the main road. I can only assume the place is owned and run by 2 generations. Mum and Dad and then either daughter or daughter in law and son/son in law. Younger daughter had 2 children. As we checked in , she bored me telling me all about her hay fever allergies and intermitently yelling loudly at her 2 kids, going out to their private quaters to do something for them or quieten the ferocious barkings of a huge mastif dog. She paid ZERO attention to me or the other guests checking in. We were given a key, our room was pointed to... we were not shown to our rooms or shown anything at all. We had to do all the asking- where was there somewhere to eat, when was breakfast etc??. She was rude and abrupt. The room was adequate, clean and the bath an old fashoined quaint roll top iron bath with adequate hot water. The towels were old and thin but clean. Breakfast is a complete joke to even call it that or include it in the price. It consisted of coffee set out in the sitting room ( no idea when it was put on -probably the night before) and a heap of cling filmed covered muffins with a note TELLING you to take only one. The coffee only had powdered milk and straws to stir it with. It all semed that it was just too much bother. There was no information on the Painted Hills. No engagement with the guetst at all. The porch and inside sitting area was clean and comforatble and especialy the porch was a very pleasant place to sit in a chair, or at the table or in the rocking chair. If you are going to charge an all inclusive price for breakfast then put the price up by $5 and add cereal, proper milk, fruit and fruit juice if you want to make it easier on yourself. And maybe take some lessons in customer service!!! If I was anyone thinking of booking this place -then DONT!!! Move on or find somewhere else to stay. The problem is there isn't anywhere else nearby so they can get away with a sloppy attitude and bad service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kootenaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oregon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Hotel

Property: Oregon Hotel
Address: 104 Main St, Mitchell, OR 97750-9733
Region: United States > Oregon > Mitchell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mitchell
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Oregon Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing