We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprisingly Pleasant Throwback to the 1950s”
Review of Oregon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oregon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mitchell
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Surprisingly Pleasant Throwback to the 1950s”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

This is NOT deluxe but then again, no one comes to Mitchell for "deluxe". One comes for the scenery, fossils and geology. We hit all that -- plus a very positive anthropological trip back to a simpler era. Everything and everyone is genuine. An efficient check-in and a long, warm description of the town in specific and history in general from the colorful proprietor. Spotlessly clean rooms, a mattress better than many I've slept on in hotels that charge far more than this one does and free WiFi. En suite rooms have a bathtub but no shower, but there is a "shared shower" down the hall. The restaurant next door is as colorful -- check the hours it is open for the cook goes home before the bar closes. (The various hamburgers and "home cut" fries were the preferred items.). Skip the muffin and poor coffee breakfast for a better meal about .5 miles outside of town. A great experience I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasonfromHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    39
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
34
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed in a room with a shared bathroom. It was comfortable. Very simple - just a bed and chest of drawers. It was very clean. The lady at the reception was very friendly. There was free coffee and muffins in the morning for breakfast.

This hotel is not fancy, but it is also very very cheap. It was good value.

The only problem was whenever anyone walked up or down the stairs or down the corridor, it was quite noisy. But I think this is the nature of an old hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nutkin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Creek, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Took a hunting trip to Mitchell last elk season and found the accomodations at the Oregon Hotel to be perfect for our needs. The owner & operator, Skeeter Reed, was extremely outgoing, friendly, cheerful, and helpful while providing a cozy, warm place to stay. The room we had was very well kept, clean and perfect for our needs and the lounge was appointed extremely tasteful for the area and offered a very relaxful atmosphere. It has everything you would expect from an Eastern Oregon cowboy town, just don't expect a swimming pool or fitness center. You can expect down home hospitality in abundance.

Room Tip: We had a bottom floor room with bathroom, tub only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

You are going back to 1950th, authentic experience. The hotel is cheap, quiet, cozy and charming! It is next to Oregon Painted Hills and to spend a night there is a real treat.
Their continental breakfast is OK, and the stay there is fantastic value for the money.
Pay attention to room decoration. You need to share bathroom with other travelers, but it is the only wrinkle.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poisik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We wanted a place to stay near John Day Fossil Beds National Monument, Painted Hills Unit. Unfortunately, there isn't much choice if all you're looking for is a simple room. This is pretty much it. However, it is a near perfect location. Our requirements were basic ... friendly service, clean bed and room, quiet. We got that. We stayed in room 10 or 11; I forget. It's on the second floor at the top of the stairs. It had an old squeaky bed and mattress that sagged when you got it it. Reminded me of the old country beds my grandma had. Quaint, but not the most restful. It had a sheer window curtain, but no blinds. It used to have a pull-down window shade, but the shade was pulled off its core, which was left hanging in the window. In the closet was some old rolled up wall paper (among other supplies and pillows and such). We were able to drape the wall paper over the window to block out the street light outside and provide privacy (since the curtain was a sheer curtain). Electrical outlets was a problem. In an old country building like this, it's not surprising. They installed 2 outlets with the light switch on the wall which helped. But it functioned weird, perhaps because of the wiring. The outlet seemed to be activated when the light was switched off for some reason. Anyway, for travelers with mobile phones, cameras, and such that need to charged while sleeping, this can be a challenge. They run extension cords from the hall to the rooms for fans and floor lamps for this reason. Perhaps they should include power strips (but that could also be dangerous). Otherwise, it was "good enough" for our purposes and the location was super convenient. It allowed us to wake up before sunrise to get out to Painted Hills to see the sun rise and be back back in town to clean up and check out before heading on.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesinpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Mitchell Oregon is REALLY small. Check in here, have a bite next door (check with the hotel for hours) and go up to the painted hills for sunset. This is the place to stay and it's perfectly fine. What it may lack in plastic uniformity it more than makes up in friendliness. No shower.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllMimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

I wanted to go thunder egg hunting - that's how it all started. I dream- well, a dream to get out o the valley anyway. I had done research and found the only hotel I he area that was open - the Oregon.
I took my daughter and neice and we headed out. After four hours we got there. I was a bit worried when we rolled into town and found the first of two entrances under construction.
After making it to the second entrance it was easy to find the hotel- its the only one in town.
Check in was quick and, even after apologies for the a/c being out ( which was not needed) we were up to our room and walked back into history!
The room we had features a sink and wash basin. The bathtub was down the hall as was the men's and women's bathroom.
Room range from $17 ( hostel bed) to about $80 for room with private bath.
Breakfast was a muffin and coffee.

Overall a great experience. We went on a Monday- warning, most place are closed on Monday- its when they make their run to town for food and supplies. Bring food!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavtroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oregon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Hotel

Property: Oregon Hotel
Address: 104 Main St, Mitchell, OR 97750-9733
Region: United States > Oregon > Mitchell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mitchell
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Oregon Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing