We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice if traveling in the area”
Review of Oregon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oregon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mitchell
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We just returned from our "Eastern Oregon/John Day Fossil Beds Extravaganza" trip on the 4th of June (2009). Our first destination was Mitchell Oregon and as the options were limited, we picked the Oregon Hotel and we weren't disappointed.

Our options on rooms was a bit small as they already had a few reservations and I was not interested in having to share a bathroom with other guests.

We ended up reserving one of the kitchenette rooms which turned out to be fairly spacious, light and bright and very clean. There was an old but quite serviceable oven, sink with plenty of counter space, a few utensils and cooking apparel and the fridge was large enough for our purposes.

Since we were going to be traveling to the various fossil beds and nearby points of interest, we were quite keen to have the kitchenette available for cooking breakfasts and dinners so we didn't have to rely on visiting the local eateries (one of which was always closed by the time we returned to town). The general store/market was a bit disappointing as far as quick small meals were concerned - we were only spending two days in town so we didn't want to buy large quantities of food - so if you are thinking of doing the kitchenette route you may want to purchase some non-perishables in an appropriate quantity to bring with you on your trip just in case.

The bed was comfortable, there was a TV with satellite and an alarm clock was provided. The windows did not appear to open, some are covered with a clear plastic and so the room did get rather hot and muggy. A small fan was provided but it wasn't entirely up to the task of keeping the room cool.

Despite having a number of children around at various times during the morning and evenings, we didn't hear much of anything so either they were REALLY quiet for children or the kitchenettes are far enough from the backyard area that the sound gets muffled considerably. There are two kitchenette apartments and they share a wall but other than a couple times of hearing a TV or some raised voices on the first night, we weren't bothered at all by our neighbors.

The young woman who handled both taking my reservation over the phone and checking us in and out was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. We instantly felt comfortable and the main hotel looked clean, homey and the remodelling really allowed the beauty of the architecture shine through.

The price for the kitchenette was on par with most chain hotel/motel rooms and the bonus of the privacy and the kitchen was worth the higher price than the rooms in the hotel proper.

I gave the Oregon Hotel a 4 rather than a 5 despite really enjoying my stay for a few reasons:

1: The shower has a very small water heater so the hot water gets used up fairly quickly and not being used to taking ice cold showers, I ended up washing my hair in the shallow kitchen sink the first morning after the hot/warm water ran out halfway through my shower. My boyfriend had showered first and enjoyed an entirely warm shower (though it ran cold the second morning when he had to go second) so if you're traveling alone you may be fine.

2. The toilet in Apt 1 runs so you have to remember to jiggle the handle so you're not wasting water or listening to it all night.

3. No air circulation - the inability to get any air through unless you open the front door was a big downside particularly with the kind of heat the area gets in the summer. We ended up using wet washcloths to keep cool at night because the provided fan wasn't sufficient.

All in all I would definitely recommend staying here as the downsides are not unsurmountable and the upside of a centrally located place to stay along with the privacy provided by the kitchenettes and the friendliness of the owners is a huge plus. If we do another fossil bed trip in the future or are planning to be in area we will certainly book a room again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LucidLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2008

We stayed in a unit behind the main building of the hotel. It was spacious, clean, functional. It came with a very well equipped kitchen. The mattress was good.

Travelers used to luxury accommodation might be disappointed. However, the hotel has come a long way since the change of ownership. The current owners are very accommodating and the hotel ends up feeling like home in remote Wheeler County. The truth is that besides a primitive Forest Service Campground some 15 miles west of Mitchell, there just aren't many logging options.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonOeilPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

The hotel is not plush and has no mod-cons, but it was a delightful place to stay.

The people in the hotel and the people in general in this City - (population 170) are delightful. Take away the cars, and the business centre could be from 100 years ago.

The best however is Henry the Black Bear, owner by Hugh Reed, Hotel and Gas Station owner. A 600 Lb giant, we were invited into his cage by Hugh and had the thrill of feeding him too.

A delightful place.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

I stayed at the Oregon Hotel for two nights while on an excursion in the area. I admit I was a bit concerned after reading that 2003 review. I was pleasantly surprised with what I found. I had Room 5 and, except for the bearskin on the wall, found it to be a great room. I'm just not partial to bearskins- it was not tacky or anything- just not my cup of tea.

The room was very clean and the bed was out of this world comfortable. I had two of the best nights sleep I'd had in ages. I really liked the comforter- just right as far as warmth. My only issue was the scent of the cleanser/freshener they used. Not sure what it was but I didn't care for the scent. Everything was spotless though so no complaints.

The lady running it was awesome! She was very friendly and went out of her way for us. Her young daughter was our 'bellhop' when we arrived and we made fast friends with Angus, her big Lab. Mitchell's a very friendly little town. The Little Pine Cafe had great food and the lady working at the grocery store was so nice. I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank krascal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

A real find. The $29.00 rooms with shared bathroom probably make this one of the cheapest options in Eastern Oregon. The top price is still only around $60.00. Every room is unique. This hotel isn't for those that like everything modern but, for those looking for character, beautiful old furnishing, an old world style, and a community atmosphere, this hotel cannot be beat, especially for the price.

The previous review on this site from 2003 mentions several things that were no longer true on my two stays in 2006. I didn't observe filth, the manager is a woman and not a man, and there are no dogs outside, only a dog in the manager's room, that I only heard bark a single bark. Everything seemed to be in fine repair to me. However, the sound does carry as it would in any hotel build in 1938 that still has a 1938 feel to it. On the plus side, Mitchell is out of the way and there likely won’t be too many other guests to make noise.

The Little Pine Cafe next door is a wonderful place to eat with great tasting, low priced, very fresh food.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
3  Thank calearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2004

We stayed here May 23 - 26, 2003. Our first room was on the first floor under the stairs with a private bath (toilet, sink, tub). The bed was so soft, we felt like we were going to sink to the floor, the bed frame creaked and cracked everytime we moved. When I plugged in the battery charger for our camcorder, the outlet almost fell out of the wall. The room looked a little run down and in need of repairs but for $45, we thought we couldn't complain. There was no airconditioning but we had a corner room and could get a breeze. We turned in around ten but only got about 45 minutes of sleep before people started coming in and going up the stairs (only 2 rooms are on the 1st floor). The floors are all hardwood so there was nothing to deaden the sound. The owner kept several large dogs behind the hotel and they barked for most of the night. The people in the room above us had a large dog that was walking around all night and 2 kids who cried almost all night. They were up before 4 am. They also had a bathroom and when the mom gave the kids a bath, we ended up with dirty bath water dripping into our tub. We waited until the owner was up to speak to him about switching to a different room. He was reluctant to do that until he realized just how angry we were over having dirty bath water coming through the holes in the ceiling and only getting about an hour or two of sleep. We ended up with a room without a bath so we had to shower in the nastiest shower either of us had ever seen (and my husband worked on a ranch where the shower was a hole in the ground covered by 2 x 4's with a pipe for a shower head). There was mold growing on almost every suface in the shower and I doubt it had been cleaned in the past year or more. There was also a clawfoot tub in another room that looked fairly clean but in the entire time we were there, we didn't see any housekeeping staff at all so we didn't figure that got cleaned either. We at least had a better bed and were away from the worst of the noise. The only rooms in the entire hotel with a private bath are 1, 2 & 3 so I don't know how their web page can say they have all those suites. The web page definetly made the hotel look and sound charming, too bad the hotel was such a dump.

19  Thank msdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Studio kitchenette à éviter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ERJOME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oregon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Hotel

Address: 104 Main St, Mitchell, OR 97750-9733
Region: United States > Oregon > Mitchell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mitchell
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Oregon Hotel Mitchell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing