We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals
illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great get-away!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the bigger of the 2 cabins and were SO happy with our choice here! My husband is an amateur photographer - so thoroughly enjoyed being able to make it to the Painted Hill's Unit of John Day for sunrise & sunset photos of the fascinating landscape, which was only 20 minutes away. Magical, beautiful area! The worries of the world seem to slip away there!! (note that although the cottages are not in a remote area by itself - actually between houses on a small plot of land in the small town of Mitchell - once you are in the gated grounds of the cottage with the surrounding garden - you feel you are more remote). The beds were super comfortable & the house was spotless & kitchen was truly fully stocked (even some condiments that we forget were there - olive oil, vinegar, etc PLUS of course the farm-fresh eggs & fresh tomatoes!) For you future travelers to Mitchell - in reading some of the reviews of the area - since we stayed there 5 full days/nights we realized it was important to stock up on food prior to our stay (we got it at Fred Meyers in Redmond w/cooler), as the town is so small, we knew that the restaurant & grocery store (basics only) would not be open when we would come back from our excursions. Just a bit of advice! Who cared - we had a great kitchen to make breakfasts/dinners & put our lunches together every day in order to explore the area!

A bonus was the beautiful Bosch washer that we used - our clothes have never gotten so clean on hiking trip before! Barbara & Aruna, the owners, obviously take a lot of pride in keeping the grounds so beautiful & they are VERY attentive to any needs you may have! They had a lot of information on the area on a desk when we arrived & said we could help ourselves to anything in garden!! Also, we drove to the other 2 units of the John Day Monument from here as well on separate days - it was beautifully situated to get to all of the Units.

We are already planning future trips out to this beautiful area & staying at the cottage - which we noq consider a home away from home! Thank you so much Barbara & Aruna!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arunajacobi, Owner at The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your enthusiasm about our place and this awe inspiring area. September is a special time here with golden light and long shadows. The summer heat has given way to mild days and cold crisp nights and hiking is fantastic at this time of the year. We are looking forward to see you next year and the Bosch washer is waiting for you too :-)
Aruna and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent five awesome nights here in late August with our two dogs. The cottage was perfect for us, and the fenced yard with grass was perfect for the dogs! There was a dozen fresh eggs in the fridge, along with cherry tomatoes from Aruna's garden, which was a special treat. The cottage was charming and welcoming, and very comfortable for just hanging out. We spent a lot of time sitting in the Adirondack chairs in the garden, and ended up eating in more often than we had anticipated, given the fresh food and the fact the was kitchen was so well stocked, as well as the incredible peace and beauty of the garden. We also visited all three units of the John Day Fossil Beds, and drove to the various "ghost towns" in the area. The scenery in the area is beautiful. I have rented a lot of vacation houses with my family over the years, and all of the minor annoyances I've experienced in the past with other rentals had already been addressed by the owners of this rental (i.e., everything you need to cook/eat in; LOTS of places to hang towels or robes in the bathroom; an abundance of plush towels, etc.) We have been telling everyone we know about this wonderful place, and will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REBECCA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you looking for a truly relaxing and peaceful experience then look no further than Painted Hills Vacation Rentals. We stayed at the Holly Hock Guest house( 2 adults 2 children). It was blissful. Aruna has painstakingly manicured the grounds into an oasis of plum trees, grape vines, strawberry and raspberry planys and host of plants to create a beautiful canopy to relax under. There are wonderful spaces on the grounds to hide away and relax on a chaise lounge, dine surrounded by horticulture or pick the fruit and herb varieties for your consumption...and the surrounding area (the painted hills, the John Day river, the fossil beds) are amazing for the fsamily to explore...We'll be back again, and again, and again...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun5029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A great place to relax in peace & quiet! Well equipped and comfortable. Makes a great base camp for exploring the sights and scenery of Central Oregon or for just a weekend retreat. Lovely hosts who are available when you need them and not around when you don't. A perfect mix.Great for families or not!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimd111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Went to eastern Oregon to see the John Day fossil beds, which I had been to before but not for several years. Stayed at the larger cottage with friends. It was so delightful. The cottage has such a comfortable feel. Full kitchen was nice -- complete with spices and olive oil -- but the garden was the best part. Places to sit and read or ponder the meaning of the universe. Beds were comfortable, and the shower was large.

Great flowers -- poppies, columbine, and peonies were in bloom when we visited. Our host was available but never intrusive, and takes great pride in the cottage and the garden. I had no telephone service AT&T and the wireless in the cottage kind of came and went. However, for me, those were advantages not disadvantages. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubolly610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Painted Hills Guest Cottage with friends. We really enjoyed being so close to the Painted Desert and John Day Fossil Beds. Barb and Aruna's place is very comfortable and fun. The garden/outside area is lovely, the beds are really comfy, there's lots of great information provided, books on the area and history. Landscapes painted by Barbara's husband make you feel part of this amazing setting. The town has a small grocery and place or 2 to eat, and the cottage is above the town with a view of the sagebrush covered hills. Thank you for the lovely stay, Barbara and Aruna!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My friend's family and my family stayed in the Painted Hills vacation homes for two nights. We enjoyed every minute of it. And when it was time to leave, the only regret we had was that we were leaving too soon. My 4-year-old son said to me on the way back, "We will come back again, and this time we will stay for TEN days."

My friend's family took the Painted Hills cottage, as they have more people. We stayed in the Hollyhock Guest house. The house is quite old, I give you that. And the bedroom is a bit small. The bed is comfortable, but a bit small for us, because my son co-sleeps with us. We even tried to make him sleep in his friend's room in the bigger cottage, where the two boys can each have their own bed but share a room. Though he prefers to spend every minute of waking time with his best friend, when it's night time, he wants mommy and daddy. So, the size of the bed is not what I liked most about the house.

But that is no problem. Not when everything else is so perfect. The garden is breathtaking! I could spend all day just walking in the garden and taking in every inch of beauty and freshness in every corner, or simply sitting on my front porch, enjoying all the pleasure that sunshine, breeze, a masterpiece of a garden, food, family, and great friends can give you, feeling so free and relaxed,

Our children had a blast! They spent most of their time exploring the fenced-in ground, chasing each other, chasing the neighbor's cat, running soaking wet around the lawn sprinkler, playing hide and seek (a lot of times not intentionally, the place is just too big for them to keep track of each other). The garden and the two houses and the game room became a maze, a palace for them. They were boys in Wonderland!

The owners are so friendly and nice. They made us feel very welcomed. And a lot of details in the homes and the garden show their thoughtfulness. They make their guests feel at home and at ease. Things may not be in the best shape or the most luxury, but they are comfortable.

Before we went there, we weren't sure if it was going to be a good trip. Because we weren't sure if there were going to be many interesting things to do or see in the area to justify the 4.5 hours drive to get there. But now we wish we stayed longer. We had a great time hiking at Painted Hills and digging for fossils. But for me, the vacation homes alone would draw me back again, and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals

Property: The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals
Address: 209 -213 SE Rosenbaum St, Mitchell, OR 97750
Region: United States > Oregon > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 charming European cottages available for your Eastern Oregon vacation. Located in the quaint town of Mitchell, just around the corner from the famous Painted Hills,one of the 7 Wonders of Oregon. Another one of the Wonders, Smith Rock is only 1.5 hours away. The cottages are surrounded by a beautiful private garden, and are equipped with everything you need for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. Free WiFi, pet friendly, exceptional movie library, artsy ambiance. German owners. Everything is in great condition and we keep it that way. A paradise for nature lovers, artists, geologists, photographers, and outdoor enthusiasts. Great hikes in pristine nature, a taste of wilderness and amazing star gazing. We offer accommodation for larger groups and gatherings, workshops like yoga retreats, or photography and art classes. Free Wifi, pets are welcome, full kitchens in every cottage with basic condiments provided and herbs and spices provided. Country fresh eggs from our own chickens will be in the fridge for you. Mitchell has 3 restaurants , a gas station, espresso shack, and a general store. We're looking forward for your visit! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals Mitchell, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing