We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wanted to give it FIVE!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Newberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wimberley, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really wanted to give it FIVE!”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I guess I will be "bucking the trend," but write these reviews so that other travelers know what to expect at the places we visit. I would love to rate this a 5, as every other reviewer has, but a few areas fell short of meeting that goal.
Hubby and I arrived in Newberg around 12:30pm, and we decided to see where the Inn was llocated even though we knew check-in time was 4:00pm. We also wanted to see if the iinnkeepers had some brochures or info on nearby wineries. We did not expect to check in early.
The front door was locked, so we rang the doorbell. Andy came out and acted like we were there to rob him, or so it seemed. There may be some regulations or rules about inviting people inside who weren't registered, but Andy shut the door in our face and then came back out with a map and some other materials for us. He was more friendly as we walked away from the door and he did give us some helpful ideas. We were both a little taken aback regarding this behavior from the owner and innkeeper. Not a good start.
We arrived back about 4:30pm to check in. Andy real friendly now. The first impression of the main house is awesome! High quality furniture, amazing views from the front of the house. Fireplace, outdoor seating, munchies available, and so much more. There is even a small library (a few books) and exercise room? Not a place to exercise, just some equipment. Outside is a croquet set that I would have liked to use.
Andy took us upstairs to Air. I always prefer the top floor--it cuts down on the "Elephant Dancers" so prevalent these days. Vaulted ceilings, luxurious bedding, comfy couch, nice table for 2, fresh flowers, salted caramels, and nuts, were just a few of the lovely amenities. The view from the door to the balcony is gorgeous. Which brings me to negative #1: the balcony door is almost impossible to open, and the balcony itself is TINY! Anyone with big feet would have trouble stepping out. No room for even a small chair.
The windows were open and the road noise was horrific! (negative #2) There is a reason there is a noise maker in the room! We always bring our own for occasions like this. With the windows closed, the noise is quite dampered, but (negative #3) there is no thermostat in the room to cool it down.
We found the thermostat outside our door in the hallway of the 3 upstairs rooms. Who gets to decide the temperature? We had a choice of sweating all night or hearing the truck noise. Opted for the heat.
Note: the next afternoon, our windows were closed and the air conditioner must be on high as room quite cold now.
To continue the tour of the Inn, Andy took us to the Loire Room---where the only TV with reception was located. No where on the website does it state that the televisions in the rooms are only for viewing dvds. I don't want to share my TV viewing habits which include wine drinking and snacking in my pjs or undies with strangers. There was a large collection of movies to choose from. This room would be perfect for weddings, family gatherings, etc. Microwave (including popcorn), trail mix, and sodas are also available here. We were quite disappointed that we would miss news and some of the RNConvention. We can live without Tv, but think it should be mentioned beforehand.
Andy helped carry our luggage to our room--a really nice touch considering the "luxury" place we stayed in the night before and had to drag our own luggage uphill.
Negative #4 was the bathroom. Yes, the towels are the most plush I have seen in a long time, but the room is small with only one sink and a shower-no tub. This was not unexpected after looking at the floorplan. What was unexpected was the quality of the shower---fiberglass? insert for the shower floor, with a small lip and shower curtain to curtail the water. Yes, an enclosed shower with a door is more expensive and harder to keep clean, but appearances do matter. Water pressure wasn't real great--much better with the handheld attachment. Again, I am not fond of the dispenser amenities although I understand while they are present more often.
Breakfast is served at 9am. Website states a possible earlier time, but when we asked Andy if we could eat earlier before our drive to the airport the next morning, he said he would check, but never responded back. The food is excellent, especially the pain perdue. Fresh fruit both mornings. Crisp bacon. And NO onions. If you read my other reviews, you know how I feel about that. Coffee is strong and abundant. Ready around 7am with a few items to eat: banana bread, granola, fruit, etc. Leah cooks and Andy serves---this is what a great B&B does! Leah comes by to chat at breakfast, asks if you need help for the day--dining or wineries, etc. Another nice touch.
This was almost a perfect spot for relaxing but for the above issues. The architects have done an amazing job with this property. However, we have stayed in numerous B&B's, and can not quite give it the 5 stars as some others we have visited. I believe that if some of these items were addressed in the website literature, people will still come in droves, and maybe a few others, like me, would go elsewhere. A good's night sleep is a high priority.

Room Tip: Generally, we prefer a room upstairs. Air has a great view, but perhaps a room facing away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandmommyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lea D, Owner at Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
We are so sorry that our guest did not find us perfect - we strive to be! The house was originally built as a single family home so the upstairs rooms are currently on one thermostat. Luckily, we are remedying this issue in October (when our busy season slows a bit). Each room will have an individual temperature control. Our website clearly states the amenities in each room as LCD/Blu-ray with complimentary movie library - it does not say TV. We also clearly describe the layout of each room verbally and with floor plan. Unfortunately, our guest forgot to mention the tiled shower surround and marble decorative mosaic tiles in the bathroom. The fiberglass floor was a conscious choice for cleanliness as that is very important to us. So, thank you for all the compliments and suggested improvements. We take each guest's experience to heart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
169
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at Le Puy. We were very pleased with our charming hosts, Andy and Leah and with their B&B. To economize we chose the smallest of the rooms, Fire, but were not disappointed by the accommodations, which included a beautiful view, a clean and comfortable room, bath and walk-in closet. The price included a delicious homemade full breakfast each day, chocolates and toasted Filbert nuts at night, a porch with a magnificent view, a fire pit and more. Perhaps the best part was discussing with the hosts the vineyards and restaurants to visit and those we visited.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This little gem , nestled in the wine country was a total surprise and delight to 2 weary travelers. The inn was beautiful and the rooms so lovely with beautiful views. Each room was so well appointed with every amenity taken care of. The breakfasts each morning were a gourmet"s delight and we couldn't wait for it each morning. The owners were warm and gracious and we certainly could not rave enough about this fabulous little B&B.

Room Tip: the website is wonderful in showing each room, easy to pick one that is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 46mickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Le Puy was a rare combination: both impeccable and laid-back. I enjoy good food and a first-rate environment; but I don't enjoy snobbery. None of that here. The hosts were wonderful (and the breakfasts and coffee very, very good). The beds were terrific, too. My husband and I stayed in "Fire," one of the smaller rooms, and we found it to be perfect--still plenty of room for our things (there is a separate dressing room with a fridge and all the wine accoutrements you could want). The decor is very tasteful (something i care about a lot!): modern, spare, but comfortable. Best of all, after visiting wineries all day, each night we curled up with a book on the common porch, which has a lovely view, and read. If you have the chance, visit Anderson's winery. By far our favorite: small, relaxed, fabulous wine. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Le Puy is certainly the best B&B in the Willamette Valley. Lea and Andy were beyond kind and accommodating. From our arrival to departure, they spoiled us with wine tasting recommendations, shopping ideas and delicious locally sourced breakfasts. I'm still dreaming about the Eggs Benedict and Andy's authentic Gaufres!

My mom and I stayed in the Lake suite, and enjoyed our view overlooking their garden. I don't think there is one bad room to choose from, I only wish I had taken advantage of the over sized jacuzzi in our bathroom. The bed was so comfy, and the sheets were clean and soft. There were also some great finishing touches that made you feel at home - local chocolate and hazelnuts for turn down service, and a movie collection with popcorn and soft drinks to help yourself to.

If your looking for a B&B for your weekend wine escape, look no further than Le Puy!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of their offerings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

This inn and the innkeepers are fabulous. Just returned from a fantastic stay in the "Air" suite. Every detail has been thoughtfully taken care of, and the setting is bucolic. Andy & Lea are wonderful hosts and can answer any questions about local sights, restaurants or wineries. Breakfast features local ingredients and is 5 star! (Don't miss the waffles served with local preserves!) Our only concern is that it will be booked the next time we want to visit!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iwu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This inn provides first rate accommodations in a beautiful setting. We were traveling in a group of six and had the three rooms at on the top floor. All three were beautifully decorated with high quality bedding and furniture and provided plenty of space for everyone. Each day we were supplied with wonderful chocolates and hazelnuts and water. There is a fridge in all the rooms as well as a DVD player for which the inn has a large supple of movies. But the reason you stay here is the location, the amazing grounds, and the fantastic service provided by innkeepers Lea and Andy. They were both architects who left their jobs to renovate what was originally a private house into a small and upscale B&B. Our room faced a courtyard with a lovely fountain which was nice to listen to at night.
There is also a separate room from the main house which you are encouraged to use after 10pm and it is stocked with movies and snacks....nice touch.
There are plenty of places to sit and enjoy the surroundings both inside and out and both Lea and Andy spent time getting to know us and gave recommendations for activities and restaurants. We stayed two nights and had already made dinner reservations in Newberg for both and Andy provided the transportation to the restaurants so we never had to worry about the drive back at night.
The best part of our stay was breakfast. The food was superb and I would love to get the recipe for Lea's Pain Perdu as it was amazing! I totally recommend Le Puy to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onionryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lea D, Owner at Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for your review. We so appreciate feedback from our guests and sharing our dream with so many people! We will happily share out recipe for Pain Perdu. Email me and I'll email it back to you! innkeeper@lepuy-inn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 143 in Portland
1,719 reviews
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3rd Street Flats
#1 of 2 in McMinnville
123 reviews
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 6 in Newberg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn

Property: Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn
Address: 20300 NE Highway 240, Newberg, OR 97132-6739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn is a destination bed and breakfast for the Willamette Valley. We are focused on being a romantic retreat for couples. The inn strives to exemplify sustainability from the food offered, to the products used, to the care for the environment from the exterior to the interior. Our goal is to provide a superior hospitality experience. Our mission is to be an authentic "eco-inn". Guests are invited to come to the inn to re-balance themselves with the peaceful and tranquil setting, organic cuisine, spa-like amenities and fresh atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing