We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champoeg State Heritage Park

Champoeg State Heritage Park
Ranked #2 of 53 things to do in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The visitor center was a nice walk from the campground, and does a good job of presenting the history of Champoeg and the local area without bogging down into too many details. Some of the displays actually presented questions and story problems for the kids to work on, there were artifacts from the town, and friendly costumed docents eager to answer questions without cornering us into the long-winded monologues that can sometime happen.

We were also glad to find cold, reasonably-priced drinks to fortify us for the walk (in high 80's temperatures) back to the campground.

A generous relative had reserved half of the RV loop in the campground. Our group had its own set of restrooms, a meeting room with tables, chairs, and sinks, and RV hookups for 10 RVs. My husband and I tent-camped in the field. It was very quiet.

The park is nice, with lots of camping sites, 6 cabins, and 6 yurts, and lots of trails for biking and hiking.
In thinking of camping with any grandchildren here, the absence of any kind of playground is disappointing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Big open campground but no swimming!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were looking forward to our stay at Champoeg as it appeared very spacious (which it was), had a disc golf course and was beside a river (for swimming). We were hugely disappointed that there is no where to swim. Yes there is a dock (although we couldn't find it) but you're not allowed to swim from it. And all the other accesses are so steep to get down. Even with all that space, there isn't a playground for kids. Also disappointing. But there is great biking trails and a really cute store that you should visit. Also, there are presentations for kids (we learned about bats). We would stay here again but only if the weather wasn't swimming weather! The people beside brought their own sprinkler!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to ride your bike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Since we live in the area we come often to ride bikes on the well maintained bike/walking trails. It is quite scenic and historic. They have a visitors center that is manned by volunteers and staff that are very helpful. There are camp sites and yurts for rent. We like to ride to the Butteville store for ice cream as part of the outing and there are signs directing you. Also, the park has many good places to eat a picnic lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great park along the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a wonderful park to ride bikes or just walk the several trails. Beautiful scenery and large trees make this a must do if you are in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pricklypear143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great Campground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This state park includes many actives: Frisbee golf course, fishing, hiking, boat dock and picnic areas. There are two camping sections within this park. One section is heavily wooded, and the other section in an open field. We found the section in the open field of the park to be our favorite with better views and most sites included sewer hookups. As you enter the park, a gift shop and museum are at the entrance. Our site was level. Only a few sites within the wooded area were able to a DirecTV satellite signal. Our Verizon phones got a weak 3G signal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TheHappyCampers227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Champoeg State Heritage Park also viewed

 

Been to Champoeg State Heritage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing