We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat to stay in this home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
University House of Newberg
Ranked #4 of 6 Newberg B&B and Inns
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real treat to stay in this home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Our recent stay at University House was just delightful! The proprietess, Leigh, has attended to every detail from a fire in the fireplace to candles lit in the evening by the hot tub. She even offered home-made cinnamon rolls for breakfast. This 3-bedroom, 2-bath home has all the amenities to make our stay comfortable--WiFi access, DVD's, books, magazines, full kitchen, washer & dryer, fireplace (wood is provided) and outdoor private hot tub. But, beyond those things, we experienced a weekend of charming Victorian ambience. The home is a lovingly restored vintage home, furnished with beautiful antiques from Leigh's family. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Quiet neighborhood across from the college. The central location is perfect for getting around Orego...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IluvmyJRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
4
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
silverdale
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have been fortunate enough to stay here a few times with Leigh for our annual girlfriend getaway to wine country. Fortunate being the operative word! We've been coming to the area for years & stayed a few other places, but only until we discovered Leigh's wonderful gem - now we wouldn't dream of going anywhere else! This is not just renting a room, or even a vacation house...this is a fabulous experience! Leigh has done an absolutely amazing job of renovating an early-century house into a most comfortable home with all the modern conveniences, yet retained the character & authenticity throughout. Her beautiful family heirloom antiques fill the house, but you are comfortable enough to feel them, use them, open the drawers - all sprinkled with modern treats like flat screen televisions with cable access in every bedroom! Plentiful linens are plush & fresh, the house is fully appointed with everything you would have in your own home & the covered, enclosed hot tub...well :) But the truly best part of your experience here is Leigh, she is there when & if you need her. I came down with a most dreadful flu the first 24 hrs of our last visit & even tho it was Thanksgiving, & she was dealing with some recent, personal family health issues of her own, she spent hours making sure I & my friends had everything we needed (including medical attention) & that we were happy & comfortable. With hugs and smiles. Now, THAT, you can't get anywhere else in town.

Room Tip: All three are queen size, fabulous rooms...but one has a surprise :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbabeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Great value, extremely friendly. We stayed in the summer of 2010 and it was great. Lots of room and very close to the university. My parents loved it. It was our base of operations for wine country and was a great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We spent 6 nights at this most wonderful, beautifully appointed house in a prime location in Willamette Valley. The house is so comfortable to stay in that we were sorry to leave, We had breakfast served to us by the owner every morning outside in a covered part of the garden. The outdoor hot tub was perfect to come back to after a day of touring, hiking, and wine tasting. The house is walk to some of the best restaurants in the area. The owner is extremely knowledgable and assisted us with the planning of our days. I can't wait to go back with my family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Great historic location, with comfortable well appointed bedrooms, and gorgeous antiques. The owner is delightful, very knowledgeable about the area, and anticipated our needs. The hot tub is very private for both day and night use.
Our stay at the University House is simply FABULOSITY!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winegal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Have stayed here on numerous occasions and it it always a great experience. It is my favorite place to stay when visiting the Newberg area. You get the entire house to yourself and it is filled with wonderful antiques and it has a nice and private hot tub!. The owner is wonderful and is very knowledgeable about places to see and things to do...she is a great resource. If your going to stay in Newberg this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is a charming house. It has all the comforts of being a home away from home, such as a small kitchen with all you need to do a bit of cooking, along with a laundry room to wash and dry your clothes. And the whole house if beautifully furnished with lovely antiques throughout. There are three well sized and comfortable bedrooms and two baths.

There is much to see and do in the area as well as some very good restaurants.
Newberg is just 20 miles from Portland, and right in the heart of the Willamette Valley Wine region. The house is located across the street from George Fox University and within easy walking distance of the small downtown area of Newberg, a coffee shop/book store, a coffee/sandwich shop, galleries and wine tasting shops, and a small movie house.
And if you don't feel like going out, you can soak in the outdoor, covered hot-tub.
My husband and I live in the area, and the University House is where we put-up our visitors as well as business associates.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanceMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
0.7 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Newberg
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Newberg Travelodge Suites
5.4 mi away
The DreamGiver's Inn
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 6 in Newberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University House of Newberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University House of Newberg

Property: University House of Newberg
Address: 401 N Meridian St, Newberg, OR 97132-2624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to discover a unique lodging experience in the heart of Yamhill Valley's wine country. Family antiques blend with modern amenities to bring you into our world of comfortable elegance. We offer intimate charm, warmth and character. Located in Oregon's scenic Willamette Valley, this classic 1906 home offers a peaceful atmosphere within walking distance of downtown Newberg. Rest and relax in the private hot tub, then explore the nearby wineries, antique shops and incredible dining available close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing