We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than a Hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
University House of Newberg
Ranked #4 of 6 Newberg B&B and Inns
Bellevue
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than a Hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The University House is a wonderful place to use as a home base to enjoy the sites of Portland and the surrounding areas. The beautifully appointed home is spacious and ideally located in a quiet, well maintained neighborhood in Newberg. Great place to come back to after a day of sightseeing, wine tasting, shopping, and exploring the nearby communities.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
4
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here at the end of July and we are so happy we chose to stay here! I truly believe that the University House is the BEST place to stay when in the Willamette Valley. We were within walking distance of awesome restaurants and wine tasting rooms. The neighborhood is gorgeous with historic houses and parks and a ton of wineries just a short drive away. The house had absolutely everything you could ever want when away from home! We felt very much at home and the house was immaculate. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We just spent Memorial day weekend in the house. What a gem---delightful old Victorian, tastefully decorated (LOVED the family pics on the walls) and all the amenities PLUS within walking distance to restaurants and downtown. Leigh is a delightful hostess and went out of the way to make us comfortable despite our haphazard program. Great tips on places to visit and where to eat with information and maps to help. She even volunteered to take as wine tasting as we did not want to imbibe and drive. What a delightful trip that was---like having a personal insider guide to the area!
We will definitely be going back. Better than the Peerless Inn in Ashland! 2 thumbs up!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navnitashok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Over the past few years, I have had the opportunity to stay at the Univerisity House of Newberg. The accomodations are plush: large firm beds, comfy couches and chairs to snuggle into, a hot tub for relaxing after a days touring in the wine country, and returning to the house to find that Leigh has set a fire in the fireplace and lit candles for that over-the top charm. As if all this isn't enough to bring us back, my mind wanders to the pies that Leigh is famous for. My personal favorite was the Marionberry pie on the last visit. Conviently situated, in the heart of Newburg, we have used the U-House when in the area on business, wine touring, or visiting friends with my wife. While I am not at all sure you can put a price on the love Leigh puts into making the U-house your "home-away-from-home", we have have found the U-house to be one of the best travelling values while on one of our frequent trips outside (of Alaska).

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I have been working the wine harvest in the Newberg area since 2009. I have always stayed at the University House B&B or as we call it....the U House. A great location right across from George Fox University and walking distance to downtown. Everything you need to make you feel at home....Awesome beds, flat screen tv, fire place for a cozy fire, a clawfoot tub and a private covered hot tub to soak in after a long day of wine country exploring! Leigh is the most amazing host and is close if anything is needed. For the price of a regular hotel room you get an entire two story house with 3 bed rooms and full of antique funiture. I can't think of a better value in the area

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Remember your grandma's house? You know; warm, inviting, homey, full of family photos and heirlooms. Well, that is exactly what greets you when you walk into the University House. It's the perfect spot for anything from a romantic get away for two to a family gathering. Plus, there's a ginormous hot tub and outdoor entertaining area complete with barbeque. Leigh and Dave are such great hosts and great people to boot. I've stayed here many , many times and always look forward to going back. University House is, by far, the best B&B in Newberg!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This wonderful house is a perfect place to stay, for many or one. The location is fantastic for a week or weekend of wine tasting in Oregon. It is centrally located in the town of Newberg, within walking distance to downtown area, as well as the university. There are endless numbers of wineries and tasting rooms. Though there is the fancy Allison Lodge and Spa not far from here, this lovely home is where you want to be with your friends and family. The owner is incredibly warm, welcoming and friendly. I have stayed here several times and can't imagine staying anywhere else in the area. Every amenity is available to you (hot tub, washer/dryer) plus everything you need in the kitchen to feel at home.
For warmth, friendliness, cleanliness and a fantastic location - just stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh w, Owner at University House of Newberg, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Michele! Thanks for your wonderful review. I'm so glad that you continue to enjoy staying at the "U" House. It's a pleasure to have made a new friend and I look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
0.7 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Newberg
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Newberg Travelodge Suites
5.4 mi away
The DreamGiver's Inn
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 6 in Newberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University House of Newberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University House of Newberg

Property: University House of Newberg
Address: 401 N Meridian St, Newberg, OR 97132-2624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to discover a unique lodging experience in the heart of Yamhill Valley's wine country. Family antiques blend with modern amenities to bring you into our world of comfortable elegance. We offer intimate charm, warmth and character. Located in Oregon's scenic Willamette Valley, this classic 1906 home offers a peaceful atmosphere within walking distance of downtown Newberg. Rest and relax in the private hot tub, then explore the nearby wineries, antique shops and incredible dining available close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing