We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panoramic views and fresh picked blackberries at breakfast-best of Oregon!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Newberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We recently visited Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast for two nights over a weekend. We stayed in the High Desert Suite, which has a King bed, a sitting area and a private balcony with excellent views of the valley below and feels very private as there are no neighbors that can look in the windows.

The accommodations were very clean, neat and inviting; and the bed was so comfortable I am contemplating the purchase of one like it. The bed and the two chairs in the sitting area have views through 4 large picture windows (some of which open, so that you can take in that cool Oregon air). The bath had a soaking tub with a shower within it. The only difficulty with anything on the trip was that it is hard to get into a soaking tub for a shower, but this was a minor thing for us. For those that go in cooler weather, each room has a small gas fireplace.

Kristin is your innkeeper and chef. She prepares a delicious breakfast each morning which is served on the main floor’s balcony when the weather is good, as it was on our visit. She even has a basket on the outdoor table with sunscreen and sunglasses you can use/borrow if you forget to bring yours from your room. Each breakfast included coffee, tea or cocoa, juice, fruit, breakfast baked goods and an entrée. The food was delicious and she accommodates those with dietary restrictions.

We asked Kristin about wineries that we might enjoy based on our preferences and she provided recommendations of several nearby wineries to visit (we visited two that she recommended and really enjoyed them both). She also recommended a local produce stand where we found some beautiful tomatoes. She was very happy to assist guests in finding what they were seeking in terms of activities and attractions.

Backpacks and cooler bags are available to borrow for a hike or other adventure. Also, the inn maintains baskets with maps, laminated hiking mini maps, wine glasses, plates and cutlery, a small fridge and a microwave all for guests use. In addition there is a living room and a TV room for guests use, as well as a reading library. And I cannot forget that she bakes cookies for the guests each day so that you may have cookies in the afternoon or evening.

We slept very well there and enjoyed the private balcony which has an electric heater and a couple of chairs and a side table. We awakened each morning to the view of hot air balloons launching in the distance. Although all the windows have darkening shades, we kept them open most of the time.

The inn was clean, quiet and comfortable. It would be a great place to spend an anniversary weekend or some other special occasion.

The inn is about a 10-5 minute drive from downtown Newberg, and there are many wineries nearby, as well as areas to hike. While there we took walks, tasted wine and visited an Orchard in Sherwood. Our visit was a very relaxing experience.

Room Tip: The high desert suite has a private balcony/patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KellyMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had an absolute lovely time here. I thought the rooms were great and loved the balcony overlooking the valley.
The highlight was definitely the breakfast- I loved that some of the food came from the garden and it was all delicious. Very creative meals too. It's a perfect spot to spend your time exploring the Willamette valley.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Veronz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this lovely little bed and breakfast on our two week holiday from NYC. I would generally say im very picky about hotels/b&b's and food, and this lived up to expectations on both counts. It has a wonderful view overlooking the valley and thry served a very nice 2 course breakfast.

The only issue we had was erratic hot water the first morning and generally low water pressure, but the room more than made up for it. Both of the hosts were very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ehorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

When we arrived we were pleasantly greeted at the door and welcomed into the house. A short tour and up to our room. We stayed in the Rose Garden room. We had recently stayed at a few fine hotels on our trip with King Sized beds and lots of extra space, with that in mind the room seemed a little small. However we quickly found that it had enough space for all our things, the queen was very comfortable and there was lots of space in the bathroom. The best part of the room for us was the balcony and the view! We visited during the busy season and would have never known the house was full. If we had wanted to spread out we could have gone down to the shared living area or TV room at any time. The house is secured and comfortable and I found that it better fit our needs than the 5 star hotel in Seattle. Cookies and tea available in the evenings, access to cork screws, wine glasses, cutting boards, dishes, etc. for when you bring your bottle of wine back to the B and B and take in the view. The breakfast was amazing and the hosts were great. I have read other reviews about the host Kristin, and feel that they are uncalled for personal attacks. She works hard to make sure your stay is perfect, has a way she sets the table and lets you know when it is prepared. I will plan to return with other family members and stay longer than the 2 nights since it was such a joy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in the Oregon trail room for a few nights. Clean and quiet. This was the only room available and there is no deck, but this was explained well by Kristin when I booked it. The temperature of the room was easy to regulate. The hosts answered any questions we had. Yes, one host is more extroverted than the other, and both are friendly in their own way. Breakfast was exceptional. WiFi was fast.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MulberryCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Tough to rate this fairly. The property is very nice with sweeping views over the valley. Owner Curt and employee Sabre were great- 5 stars. Problem was with owner chef Kristen. I upset her when I couldn't eat her salmon soufflé day 1. Never thought to say please - no fish for breakfast. I apologized repeatedly for inconveniencing her and said cold cereal would be fine. She opted to make scrambled eggs and then proceeded to drop the plate in front of me. Some time after breakfast, my sweetheart asked what did she plan for tomorrow and she curtly responded " the menu isn't set yet". He felt dismissed. From that point forward she was cold (to me) until the night before we were checking out. 4 stars for her cooking, 0 for her customer service skills. Grateful Curt was there for the weekend, he's definitely an asset.
Too many options to choose from, never again for this property.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank seniorskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The B&B was constructed as a Bed and Breakfast, so the layout is terrific with beautiful views from each room, great privacy and spacious baths in every suite. Breakfast is taken to the level of "cuisine" and every possible accommodation is thought-out - guidebooks, umbrellas, wine glasses, binoculars, robes. And as a home base for exploring the Willamette Valley wineries, it's the perfect place. Enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: The rose garden room has a very low bed, slant ceiling and low closet, so if you're a tall or la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanAtlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country
2.4 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
5.9 mi away
The DreamGiver's Inn
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 7 in Newberg
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
19.8 mi away
Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
2.3 mi away
Newberg Travelodge Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 28700 NE Mountain Top Rd, Newberg, OR 97132-6663
Region: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range: £101 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning vistas of Oregon's wine country await you as guests of Chehalem Ridge B&B. Each of the five rooms - four queen rooms and one king suite - within the modern house evoke the spirit of Oregon in their decor. In-room amenities like fireplaces, jetted tubs and private decks enhance your experience. The valley is full of opportunities to explore with award-winning wineries, fine-dining restaurants, hot air ballooning, local artisans and markets all within a short drive. Of course, you start each morning with a gourmet breakfast, complete with scratch-baked treats, a creative fruit dish and a hearty entree. Dietary needs, like gluten or dairy free, are happily accommodated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing