We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly check-in, Good Value, Clean, & Close to George Fox University” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly check-in, Good Value, Clean, & Close to George Fox University”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

No complaints here. The man who checked us in was friendly and helpful. There are two floors to hotel. They have a swimming pool and hot tub, open until 11pm. The beds were comfortable and the pillows fluffy. The hotel backs up very close to private residences. They had nice back yards, but it was awkward to see that out the window. Not a big deal though, since we were only there to sleep. Breakfast had make your own waffles, biscuits, gravy, assorted breads, cereals, etc. Nothing to brag about but it was nice to have and a good value considering the hotel price. Will be trying Shilo Inn next time, just to compare. So check my review in late August.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rero31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    138
    58
    25
    15
See reviews for
148
92
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Definitely nothing fancy but it was clean and the staff were very helpful. Didn't have time for the complimentary breakfast but someone from my group who was also staying at the hotel said it was nothing to write home about. I didn't sleep as well as I would have liked because it seemed like every time anyone walked by the door I could hear every thing they said and feel every footstep. There was a family staying a few doors down and I could hear them pretty late into the night. I did like the fact that the room I stayed in had a sofa and coffee table area. I was a little disappointed that the room didn't have free wifi. I think this should be standard in all hotels. All in all, it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsibs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38135, Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for writing your review about our hotel. We would like to inform that we do have complementary WIFI & cable internet for all our guest at Newberg Inn. Extremely sorry that you could hear some noise in your room during your stay. We do serve biscuit, gravy, make your own hot waffle, scrambled eggs, yoghurt, cereals,oatmeal & pastry. Next time you are in town please stay with us and try our deluxe continental breakfast + Internet service -- they are complementary to all our guest.

Shalini Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This was my wife's and I first time to Oregon, and I searched for an inexpensive hotel central to everything that we were going to do, and here we found it. For a 3 nights stay, having a mini suite with additional sitting area and micro/fridge was helpful. Breakfast items were satisfying, with breads, pastries, juices, cereal, and also hot "make your own" waffles helped fill us up for our daily travels. Having a stubborn non functioning a/c unit that kicked off more than stay on, Sarah (who checked us in) did everything in her power to try to get it to work, to no avail. After several attempts to get it to work, she offered for us to relocate rooms, but not before having us check out the other room to ensure the a/c unit was fully functional and to our liking, which it most definitely was. Every time we passed in the hall or interacted, she made sure to check in and ask how the room was doing, which showed she really cared about this potentially negative situation, and ensured it stayed positive which we appreciated.
The room was spacious and bed very comfortable. The decor is a little dated, but the rooms are kept very clean and meticulous.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaicabitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I had to get a room here last minute. I had a 5-1/2lb dog with me and I am assuming the dog rooms are the smoking rooms and I was not informed of this fact. I am allergic to cigarette smoke and was miserable all night. When I had to wait for a ride I was informed the dog was not allowed in the lobby, this was very confusing to me as it is a Pet Friendly place?!?
The most upsetting is I signed to pay for $94 and was charged $112.34!!! What?!?!...as if $94 was not enough for the below average experience?!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sneedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38135, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
First I would like to thank you for your buisiness. I would also like to apologize for any confusion there may be regarding your bill. The room rate for that night was 94.99, our pet fee is 10.00 and with the state lodging tax we come to the total of 112.34. I hope this clears up the misunderstanding regarding the room charges. I again apologize for any discomfort you experienced due to smoke smell, we were out of options for room assignment when you arrived and the smoking room is the backup pet room when we are heavily booked, which would have been explained to you upon arrival. If ever you are staying in any hotel and especially ours if you have any issue what-so ever please bring it the attenition of an associate so it can be addressed. I hope this explains everything to your satisfaction, I again thank you for your feedback, we will use it to guide us towards perfect service.

Nicholas Sprague
Front Desk
Best Western Newberg Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Check in and check out were seemless, breakfast was fine except breakfast room was too warm, bed was very comfortable and clean. I would of given it excellent but as I sat at my computer at the working desk in the room I looked up and there is a floral painting with a vase which has unclothed men on it. Now I am not a prued by anymeans, but this hotel is family friendly and recommended by the local Christian University so I think the hotel should rethink the artwork!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norenebeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38135, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for the comment and suggestion. We will look at the artwork and work accordingly on same. Once again thank you for taking out time and reviewing us. Appreciate your feed back and hope to see you soon at our property during your next visit.

Shalini Patel
General Manager
503-537-3000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed 1 night on 1/1/12

Everything was more than adequate. The staff at check-in, check-out, breakfast and in the hallways were courteous and friendly. Had no problem getting an extra hour for check-out so our kids could enjoy the pool a bit more after we ate our breakfast.

The GOOD: staff, cleanliness, the price ($72 for 2 adults/2 kids/1 dog on a Sunday night), breakfast, location, pool, hot tub, sauna (pre-heat for 30 minutes if it hasn't been used), selection of channels, dog walk area

The BAD: ice machine on 2nd floor was broken

The UGLY: nothing

Overall I would most definetly recommend this hotel to others, and would not hesitate to use it again if needed.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk staff at check-in, they'll get you what you need depending on availability. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleMurphy4HOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38135, Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for taking out time and letting us know about our customer service. Appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

First off I went back and forth about wether to rate this place as average or very good. I ended up choosing very good and I'll tell you why. Currently my husband and I are staying with my parents while we wait to close on our new home. So every other weekend we take off to a motel/hotel to get away and get some privacy. When I read the reviews people had left on other trip sites they'd rated the place low. So the first time around we didn't stay, but when we did we were pleasantly surpised. The staff are very friendly and helpful. When she offered us the first floor I asked if we'd have someone above us and the woman checking us in was nice enough to move us away from everything. The room was rather large, clean and had all the basic features you'd expect in a motel. In my opinion the only thing I'd change was how firm the bed was. Other than that..if you're passing through and need somewhere affordable to stay, I'd choose this place over Travelodge.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want and they seem to be willing to accomodate. If you ask for the second leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38135, Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
On behalf of best western newberg inn, i would like to extend our thanks to you for just a positive feed back. We strive for superior customer care and glad you were appreciative about the same. Thank you for staying with us and giving us chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Newberg
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wilsonville Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites
12.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
14.5 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn
Address: 2211 Portland Road, Newberg, OR 97132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Newberg Inn is in heart of wine country. George Fox university is just a mile away. Water park in McMinville is 14 miles from Newberg Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newberg
Newberg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing