We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabeth Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
427 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We arrived in Newport on a Saturday night about 7:30 pm -- no reservations. Saw this reviewed on Trip Advisor and called them. We got their last room with a queen bed! And we got a AAA discount!

The hotel is along the cliff, and all the rooms have balconies facing the ocean. The room was clean, the bed comfy, and the staff friendly. Our breakfast was included and quite delicious. It was a Sunday morning so I am not sure if that made it special, but we had scrambled eggs, sausage, cereals, waffles, and more. Free newspaper, too. And yummy warm cookies in the evening. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyndeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Cynde,

So happy to hear we had accommodations for you! It is rare for us to have any rooms left on a Saturday, and at that time of night. Glad it worked out though, and that we have found some new friends!

Our breakfast is virtually the same every morning, although we do rotate between sausage and bacon. Those waffles are pretty yummy!

Thanks for the review and we will look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    288
    89
    44
    20
See reviews for
220
500
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

If we stayed in a room that "wasn't pet friendly" our stay would have been better. I was pregnant and all I could smell was animal urine. My son enjoyed the pool, the views are great, the staff is pretty good. The person next to us left their dog in the room while they were out it yapped for hours. All three days we were there. We complained, did t make much of a difference. One morning there wAs no hot water... Due to high usage. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Mrs. JBD,

It is always a disappointment when we see a review from someone who had a visit that was less than perfect. We apologize that the room did not meet your expectations.

Just to clarify we have 5 dog friendly rooms, and we have certain criteria for our guests who bring their dogs. We have a form for them to sign which states that dogs are not to be left in the room unattended. When dogs are left alone in a strange environment they will most likely bark at every strange noise. If we learn that this has happened we call those guests on their cell phones, and require them to return to the hotel immediately and either remove the dog from the room ro stay with it .

Best regards,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, Oregon
Level Contributor
435 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We arrived before check in time but they were able to give us a room early anyway!!! Nice surprize!! The room was clean and fresh. Good location, close to elevator and breakfast room!!! We stayed on the 3rd floor for 2 nights. All rooms have view. I was a little disappointed in the breakfast buffet this trip. Usually they alternate on breakfast food, bacon one day and sausage the next. No sausage, hard boiled eggs, or pastries. Minor stuff, still lots to choose from!!!! Missed out on the chowder and cookies because of timing but had them last trip and they were yummy!!!! King bed was really comfortable. Lots of pillows. Nice large flat screen tv. All in all, nice, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate it.

I am sorry you were disappointed in the breakfast during this particular stay. We do alternate the breakfast meats, bacon one day and sausage the next. In the three years I have been here we have not served hard boiled eggs or pastries. As you mentioned lots of other things to choose from, as our breakfast is pretty elaborate.

I will pass on your kind remarks about the staffs friendliness. I am sure that will brighten their day.

See you next visit!

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswell, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I just spent 4 days in Newport and stayed at The Elizabeth Street Inn after getting a special deal from Living Social. I had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially when I had to call after midnight to have someone come turn off the fireplace in the room that wouldn't turn off. I look forward to making another visit in the future to Newport and would stay at The Elizabeth Street Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmbem2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
It's great to hear you had such a wonderful time. The Living Social campaign has been very successful for us, and it was a very good deal. Thanks for giving it a try and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Have a great week!

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Friends have stayed here before and recommended it to us, thought we would try it out on a spur of the moment trip out of town! This hotel is easy to find with plenty of on-site parking. All of the reviews are true - it's clean, comfy beds, wonderful balcony w/chairs, gas fireplace, delicious salmon chowder (need to get there when they put it out) in the evening, close access to the beach and shopping, easy connect to wi-fi, great check-in and out. My husband used the pool and hot tub, while I spent time on the elliptical bike in the exercise room. Equipment needs some real attention but is useable. A really relaxing place to stay, wish we had been able to spend another night. Nothing negative to say about our stay at the Elizabeth Street Inn! We'll be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have great ocean view - because we were there during spring break, it was pretty busy, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTRHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
We love it when we hear that guests were referred by friends who have stayed with us. Word of mouth can be terrific advertising!

We are pleased to report that all new exercise equipment has been ordered and should be arriving soon! You will have to come back after the end of May and try it out!

Thanks for the review

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

A good value using the Living Social 2 night deal we purchased. The room was very comfortable and the hot breakfasts were more than adequate. If I had one complaint it would be the slow elevator and the lack of a central stairway to the lobby. The only way to get to the lobby via the stairs (at the ends of the long hallways) is to walk through the parking garage. But, overall a minor inconvience. I think the room quality and ammenities (hot breakfast/snacks) were slightly better than the Whaler where we stayed in January, but will check prices between the two before our next trip.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs and don't like waiting 2-3 minutes for an elevator, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spingor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
The Living Social campaign was a great value. Happy to hear you were able to take advantage of it and enjoy all of our amenities.

Our elevator is notoriously slow, for which we apologize. It is our hope to make improvements in the near future.

Our breakfast is quite elaborate compared to other hotels in the area and we have an area dedicated just to the breakfast so you don't have to walk outside to get to it.

Hope to see you again soon.

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We got to stay here while the kids stayed with the grandparents here in Newport. We were very pleased with everything from the comfortable bed, free newspapers, yummy snacks, and responsive staff. When we called about our fireplace pilot being out (very windy day) someone was at our door within 5 minutes. I do not get all the complaints about breakfast...there were apples and bananas (plus oranges in the lobby), real whole wheat bread plus plain bagels, english muffins, and raisin bread, several kinds of cereal and oatmeal packets, eggs, yogurt...plenty of healthy options if you don't want biscuits and waffles. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. We heard sounds from the adjoining room until we put a bath towel on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
2.7 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Property: Elizabeth Street Inn
Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing