We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“User Friendly with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Elizabeth Inn boasts a great view from a bluff above the ocean and very nice comfortable rooms with balconies. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. The salt water pool--enclosed--is quite nice and the exercise room has an ocean view. Complimentary cookies and chowder are a plus. And did I say free fresh baked cookies? The Elizabeth Inn is one of the newer and nicer venues in Newport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
There are newer reviews for Elizabeth Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel is front and center on a long sandy beach...modern but cozy, nicely appointed rooms with gas fireplace and small balcony. Evening they serve a salmon chowder in the lobby and later warm cookies....refrig and microwave in room....so bring along some of your own snacks.
Standard breakfast room fare took care of breakfast needs---included hot items. Parking is undercover, which is a bonus at the often rainy and windy coast. Newport has an old town, a great aquarium, historic lighthouse, brewery, good antique stores....so lots to do.

Room Tip: All rooms have same ocean front view, we like the higher 3rd or 4th floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Good ocean views. Excellent complimentary breakfast. Chowder at 5:00 pm and cookies at 8:00 pm EVERY evening in the lobby was especially nice. Private balcony, fireplace, and large rooms. We stayed in a dog friendly room- all of these rooms are 1st floor only. No space on the property for our dogs to go the bathroom was a little annoying. We had to go across the street to other property, which made us a little uncomfortable. We ended walking our dogs up the street to an open lot instead. Doggy bags are provided in front of the motel which was a plus. Beach access is a short walk down the street. There is no private beach access from the motel. You can also use the stairs at a motel that is next door, but also a short walk. Overall the stay was good, we would grade the Elizabeth Street Inn at a B.

Room Tip: Book early for dog friendly rooms- very limited. Only 1st floor available, so be prepared to listen...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely weekend getaway at the Inn. We stayed using a Groupon Our room was clean and comfortable, with a great view. The fireplace worked ( a problem on a previous stay) and the room would be great for cozy storm watching. We were blessed with great weather for January. Lobby seemed a bit small but the free chowder and cookies are a great amenity that seem popular with guests. The lengthy wait for the only elevator got old, but there's rumor of a new one coming. All in all a nice stay for the price.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GolferMarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We enjoyed our one night at this inn. We appreciated the chowder, cookies and breakfast buffet. The room was clean and spacious. The indoor pool and hot tub were both warm and welcoming.
Although we did not enjoy the beach during the torrential rain storm, it looked wonderful. We had a great deal through trip advisor on the room rate.
Newport itself was pretty closed up during our wet January visit. Very disappointing. I would never return here in the winter.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at this hotel. It is comfortable, clean, breakfast is wonderful and they have extra treats.
We will stay here again. It was a plus because the weather was beautiful in January.We have stayed in a pretty friendly room to and they were very clean and cozy.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank trinaisfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We really have enjoyed this motel.This is our second stay. The desk personnel are very nice & very helpful. The view is wonderful-we can look out and see the ocean anytime. We can step out on the balcony & look north to see the lighthouse. They serve a wonderful Smoked Salmon Chowder (free) every evening at 5:00 and it is to dye for. We go down at 8:00 every evening for free warm chocolate chip cookies. There is always coffee, tea, hot chocolate & fresh fruit available. Then there are the wonderful breakfasts-choice of eggs, bacon or sausage(depending on day), gravy, waffles, 4 cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, bagels, several kinds of toasts, 3 juices, coffee, milk; who could ask for more-again free. Room rates are comparable to other local motels without the extras. Our room was roomy with a fireplace, balcony, 2 queen beds, sofa, TV/DVR,(movies available to rent), microwave, refrig., in room Keurig coffee, free wifi, toiletries, robes (to use), lots of pillows. They don't skimp on the amenities! CLEAN! We will defintely be back. Also partially covered parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor tend to be VERY warm, according to desk they have a problem with them, eve...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
872 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £106 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing