We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Girl Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Girl Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This week my daughter celebrated her 21st birthday. Her wish? Not Vegas, not Seattle, Not Sedona...but a quiet trip to the beach with her Mom (insert happy Mom smile here). Her grandfather had always stayed here when attending business trips to Toledo, OR, so I thought we would give it a try. What I did not anticipate was how much we would enjoy or stay. Truly our only disappointment was that we only went for one night.

Upon entering our room we both said in unison "It's smells so good!" The room was clean, had the amenities we needed and every room has an ocean view....we were on the first floor and were not disappointed. Private balcony for every room with patio chairs, gas fireplace, microwave, hairdryer, Keurig coffee maker, complimentary bath robes for use while staying there (I've been to 5 star resorts that don't even have that).

The front desk was extremely helpful in suggesting a fun and different place to have dinner and cocktails...aside from what we normally do when visiting Newport. We visited a great Irish Pub in nearby Nye Beach called Nana's Irish Pub. That's another review! LOVED IT! Elizabeth Street Inn offers nightly Salmon Chowder at 5pm in the lobby (YUM!) and fresh baked cookies at 8pm (we were already comfy in bed at that time after having a nightly swim and rest in the Jacuzzi). **Caveat: Laying in bed watching the sun go down!**

Continental breakfast the next day included waffles, bacon, biscuits and gravy and scrambled egg patties (wasn't the greatest eggs)...not a good variety of fresh fruit, but no big deal. **Caveat: I brought breakfast to my daughter in bed so we could sip coffee and watch the beach wake up!"

The one downfall, although was not a deal breaker, is that the plumbing system is quite noisy. If you love your roommate try not to use the facilities in the middle of the night.....and pray that your neighbors don't use theirs either.

Looking forward to taking my husband for a few nights!!! Thank you Elizabeth Street Inn.

Room Tip: Don't think you could get a bad room for a view. We had 1st floor and it was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Jackie,

Absolutely loved your review! It sounds like you have a wonderful daughter and that the two of you are very close. We are so pleased that we could contribute to your special time together!

Hopefully you and your husband will be able to visit us in the near future. Your room will be waiting for you...

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    295
    89
    44
    21
See reviews for
227
512
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
623 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a AAA promotion rate. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the TV worked, fridge worked, and it was nice to have glass cups provided instead of the usual plastic. The view is incredible. Of course, the hotel location causes that, not anything the hotel does, but the view is great and a good reason to choose this hotel. There is a nice balcony to stand out on and view the sunset. The plastic chairs provided are nothing special, but the balcony is a decent size.

Breakfast is good for this type of self service buffet, with multiple hot and cold selections. Satisfied us well. The smoked salmon chowder available in the lobby at 5 is delicious. The fresh baked cookies at 8 are also delicious. These special items were a real treat.

The hotel sits high up from the beach,so be prepared for quite a trek down. It is worth it. The beach here is wide even at high tide, and you can walk a long, long way in either direction.

Staff were friendly and helpful, though we needed little attention. We would stay here again. It is a good value.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the more expansive the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkrissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Pkrissel,

We really appreciate your taking the time to write such a nice review for us. Thank you so much! Hope you are able to get away and visit us again in the near future!

All the best,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I bought two nights at the Elizabeth Street off a Living Social deal. We loved it! My husband, 18 month old son, and I had a great time. The rooms are clean, the continental breakfast is expansive and delicious, and the extra perks of salmon chowder and fresh baked cookies in the evening were a great touch. We utilized the pool and the gym and everything was top notch. I would recommend this to anyone and will certainly stay again the next time we are in Newport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetheDucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Love the Ducks,

So happy you were able to take advantage of the Living Social special we ran a couple of months ago. We hope you will be a regular with us going forward!

While the cookies are year round the chowder has now ended until after Labor Day. Good to hear that you were able to utilize all of the facilities while you were with us.

Look forward to seeing you next time you visit Newport!

Lela

PS GO DUCKS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here and loved the views, the staff very helpful and room although a little tired clean and comfortable, the breakfast was included and very nice lots of people seemed to take breakfast back to room to enjoy the sea view

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munich2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Munich2,

It's always nice to have guests visit us from other countries! Glad you were able to make the trip, and hope that you enjoyed your time in the United States!

Best regards,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just completed a road trip up the West Coast highway, and of the 14 hotels we stayed in, this was our favourite.
Firstly, we have to truly thank the staff and whichever guest it was for handing in our expensive camera which went missing somewhere in the hotel. We were panicked until a friendly staff member on the front desk returned it and confirmed he understood the value of the camera, and empathised with our panic.
On check in we were immediately offered the most delicious salmon chowder, which was out until 8pm when replaced by freshly baked cookies.
Staff were welcoming, offering friendly chat and great recommendations of places nearby to eat and drink.
The room was immaculate, with our own homely fireplace. Views across the ocean were spectacular. Cozy bathrobes were included.
The pool was a lovely warm temperature for the cool chills of the Oregon Coast.
The only small negative I could place, was the slow speed of the one elevator. But we were told that a new one was in construction.
I'm sure this is the nicest place to stay in Newport. We would return for the hotel alone, despite the lack of things to do in Newport!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Harriet K.,

Wow! What a rave review! Thank you so much!

You are so welcome about the camera, so pleased it was turned in. I know that can be very frightening when something that valuable is misplaced, plus I am sure you had all of your pictures on it from your trip. So glad we were able to be of service in reuniting you with it.

The chowder and cookies are very popular items. Unfortunately, the chowder has ended for the season but it will return after Labor Day. The cookies are a year round thing though.

Hope if you are ever in our area again you will visit us.

All the best,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Well situated, behind the beach, with a stunning view of the ocean. Our room was large and well appointed with a very comfortable bed and good heating. However, forget the breakfast! We were confronted with polystyrene plates and bowls and plastic knives and forks. The hot food bore little resemblance to real food so our breakfasts for the next two mornings were a pottle of yoghurt, ,and tea or coffee each. There was whole fruit but the bananas were quickly taken by families and apples are very hard to cut with plastic knives.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have stayed here twice. Had so much fun the frist time in newport had to come back. There was no question about where I would stayed. The room are nice with great views and the beds are comfortable. The staff is great. The salmon chowder is yummy. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Property: Elizabeth Street Inn
Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing