We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopefully this recent stay was just an anomaly...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Hopefully this recent stay was just an anomaly...”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My wife and I have stayed here previously, numerous times. Our previous stays have always been excellent, as indicated here on Trip Advisor with so many positive reviews.

However, with this recent weekend stay for two nights, we had less than an excellent experience. Not sure if there's been a change in ownership or management, but there were definitely a few negatives that cropped up, which haven't in the past...

(1) Major carpet stains in our room 114...I know a hotel can't always avoid this, but because everything has been so impeccably clean with our previous Elizabeth Street Inn stays, this unfortunately stood out.
(2) In bathroom, where shower / tub met tile floor, horrible mildew stain in the grout line.
(3) No emphasis on cleaning up the balcony hand rail where sea gulls and other birds naturally "do their business".
(4) No glasses re-stocked on day two. (Also, while it is easier to go with plastic and styrofoam glasses and cups, not very upscale...I know some hotels do it, which is fine, but at $150 + price point, I'd expect real glasses and real coffee mugs.)

Anyway, that's it. All of these items above are admittedly small when looked at on a "per item" basis, but when strewn together over a couple days, they add up.

Overall, due to the ES Inn's excellent location, and due to the lack of 3 1/2 star hotels ocean front in Newport, I still think the ES Inn is a good choice for someone going to Newport ....the views are incredible, the proximity to Nye Beach is perfect, and the rooms are still above average. This most recent stay just wasn't as good as before.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddyrider2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    300
    91
    45
    21
See reviews for
233
528
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My freind and I had no plan on our trip and ended up in Newport on tyhe 4th of July looking for room for the night. We stopped here and were immediately greeted by Monica and Lulu two of the friendliest people you will ever meet. They ended up having a room available which I was suprised but enen more surprised that every room here has an ocean view!!! Monica and Lulu answered all of our questions, "Where's a good place to eat? Where is the best place to watch the Fireworks etc..." in a fun but professional quality that you just don't find anywhere.
The room was spacious and quiet with an amazing view of the ocean I could not have asked for anything better.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewpre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We just stayed 4 nights here, after staying at one close by each year for the past 20 years. It was clean, nicely furnished, with great views, close to everything, and good hot breakfast in the morning. The staff is enthusiastic and pleasant. There is absolutely no smoking, and that made it even nicer. The rooms were cleaned daily, but the linens were not changed while we were there, though we could have asked. The value is about right, but could be better. I think the beds were okay, but nothing to brag about. The cons: one very slow elevator (we were informed that they were adding another), and only 2 luggage carts. They need at least 2 more. Yes, the toilets were very loud flushers. Very reliable and free Wi-Fi. I highly recommend the place, and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1eaglewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Wife and I spent 2 nights in Newport for our anniversary. Many years ago this hotel had a great reputation, but was slightly worried after reading a few negative reviews on this site. No need to worry though. This hotel delivered an excellent getaway for us.
Each room in this hotel has a private balcony facing the ocean and although neither of the days we were there were hot, we enjoyed keeping the balcony door open and listening to the waves hit the shore. We both found the king sized bed to be very comfortable. There was a gas fireplace in the corner of the room that provided a nice bit of luxury. Our room was also appointed with a mini-fridge and microwave. The only negative if I had to come up with some were that the doors slammed when closing so neighbors coming and going were sometimes loud. Also the toilet flushing was the loudest flush I've ever heard in a non-airline toilet.
The breakfast buffet in the morning was adequate with biscuits & gravy, bacon, sausage, eggs, cereals, yogurt, and some juices.
There is an indoor pool that appears to be somewhat aged, but in good condition.
Parking is available 2 floors at the bottom of the facility as well as on street.
Beach access is only about 1-2 minute walk down the street.
Finally, the staff from the front desk to the maid to the window washers were all very friendly and attentive to our requests. Overall we were very happy we chose this hotel and would do so again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORTraveler477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
466 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 780 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed here two nights in June and while this is not a bad hotel, we did have some problems. It is especially disappointing because this could be a great hotel. All of the rooms have an ocean view, with a balcony, that does not disappoint with its commanding views of the Pacific. Also, all of the rooms have many extras. The king bed rooms include a fireplace and couch in the living room area and a microwave and a refrigerator. There is a separate sink area outside the bathroom.

Parking is below the hotel in a covered garage and we felt that the hot breakfast was good and had a lot of options. There is no air conditioning but we did not need it the two nights we stayed here. I don't think it usually gets very warm on the Oregon coast even in the middle of the summer. The first night we were there it was downright freezing (in Mid June). The second night was warmer but you still needed a jacket at night.

Our biggest complaint about the room was the toilet . The flush mechanism on the toilet sounded like a Mack Truck. This means if you went to the bathroom at night and flushed you would not only wake up whoever was in your room but in the room next door as well.

The other problem we had was our room location the first night. They placed us on the third floor, right across from the elevator, which was bad enough but the breakfast room is also located on the third floor, next to the elevator. Why anyone would design a hotel with the breakfast area right across from the rooms is beyond me. Sure enough, as soon as breakfast was served (6 A.M.), it was impossible to sleep with breakfast going on right outside our door. After we complained, the hotel did move us down the hallway. Therefore, if staying here, avoid rooms 314-326 at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2010

I read some bad reviews regarding this hotel prior to taking our trip. They were definitely wrong! The hotel is beautiful and has the best staff. The rooms face the ocean and have a patio with furniture for relaxing. The room itself is clean and rather large with a fireplace for the cool evenings. Homemade cookies every evening and they never ran out of coffee. Also, they have a large variety of food for breakfast. The pool, hot tub and gym were very clean. I reserved our room on Hotels.com and the rate was very reasonable. Thank You Elizabeth Street Inn staff for making our mini vacation so wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBKMeridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

My wife and I went here for a quick 2 night get away. I did some research and thought we'd give the Elizabeth Street Inn a try and we sure don't regret it.

The location is spectacular. The service and room were outstanding and the entire Hotel was spotless. We will definately be back alone and with our two daughters.

The little touches like the warm cookies and the free breakfast were just icing on the cake but they certainly added to an already great experience.

Of course you can always nitpick and say that the lobby is small and the elevator is slow and the parking was a little cramped (especially for my Ex Cab Long Bed truck) but these minor things are lost in the overall charm and hospitality we met with at this hotel... Thanks to everybody on the staff that made out getaway so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkmanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Property: Elizabeth Street Inn
Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing