We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip gone wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I recently went to this motel with my family and brothers family the guy at the front desk was very rude about my brothers shirt we asked for conjoined rooms and we got side by side rooms with no entry into each other the TVA were old and no balcony we went down to the front desk and the old guy working there started literally yelling at my brothers wife very un professional and the rooms were just okay not nearly worth the price

Stayed: February 2014
5  Thank Jarrellbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Jarrellbrad,
I would like to offer my deepest apologies regarding this matter and to let you know I have personally addressed this issue. Our goal is to create an enjoyable and relaxing experience for our guests and again I apologize that we did not deliver this during your stay.
Best Regards,
Mike Willock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

We usually stay at Elizabeth Inn and Hallmark been told not to stay at Shilo now I know why room not clean looked clean... house keeping isn't doing their job unless you wipe around things...beds are like plywood hurt the next morning.....needs major up date...their was like a generator running all night or fan.....Took a wash cloth and wiped room down... showed the front desk and they said glad you enjoyed your stay...really.......147.00

Room Tip: Check trip advisor I defiantly will follow people......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WebberFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear WebberFamily,
Thank you for taking the time to offer this feedback during your family’s recent stay here in Newport. I appreciate you pointing these items out and will work with my housekeeping department to ensure cleanliness is their number one priority.
Best Regards,
Mike Willock General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The view was great. Even though no complimentary breakfast the breakfast cafe onsite was quick and good.

The room was old, a little bit of mold near the ceiling of the bathroom, and the TV was small (but I didn't spend more than 1 night so who really cares). The biggest frustration was being over charged 5.00. I had to call and explain my case to the desk agent. They did fix it without too much headahce and not a really major deal (just the principle of the matter).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddd771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear ddd771,
We are happy that you stayed with us during you trip to the Oregon Coast and were able to enjoy the great views from the hotel. I am sorry there was some confusion with your bill, but relieved to hear it was taken care of by my team. We hope to see you again in the future to enjoy another night in Newport
Best Regards,
Mike Willock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I am perplexed by some of the negative reviews. I stayed in the cheapest room and thought it was fine except for the smallish TV and slightly sticky faucets. You can walk to Georgie's for a great meal (make sure to get the marionberry crisp).

Stayed: January 2014
Thank WALTER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Walter S
Thank you for joining us at the Newport Shilo during your recent travels to the Central Oregon Coast. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback on your stay with us and suggestions on areas to address. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Mike Willock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

All rooms have an ocean view, with access to the beach right on the property. Our room had 2 queens and was extremely comfortable. The atmosphere is quiet, with only the surf to create a very peaceful experience. The rooms and facility are clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. It's an easy walk to Historic Nye District. This was a tremendous value. We will return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crankshaft61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear crankshaft61,
Thank you for offering your enjoyable feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Shilo Inn Suites Newport. Having our location nestled atop the ocean bluff gives our guests a wonderful opportunity to enjoy a great coastal atmosphere and I am glad you experienced that. I am happy to hear that you found us of value and we look forward to having you join us again in the near future.


Best Regards,
Mike Willock General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here on the first night of our Pacific Coast Highway trip. An older but clean and well kept hotel with a couple nice restaurants in a town that has everything you need. All the rooms appear to be ocean view, and yes you can walk down to the beach, but I must warn you its about 90 steps down (and back up). If you are short-winded or handicapped you will have a problem. One thing I noticed is that this was the only hotel in a strip of hotels on the beach that did not have rooms with balconies.
A WORD FOR THE WISE: The beaches and ocean on the Oregon coast are not places where you will be swimming or sunbathing. The weather is usually brisk and the water is cold. But don't let that stop you if you want to see the natural beauty of the ocean in a setting that has not changed for thousands of years. You can hunt for sea shells with no crowds and take in the mesmerizing sound of the never ending waves.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are ocean view, but it wouldn't hurt to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cantstayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear cantstayhome,
It is great to hear that you were able to launch your road trip here with us at the Newport Shilo. Having beach access is certainly a nice option from the hotel, but I must say I take advantage of the half way bench each time I use them. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Mike Willock General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Not too much exciting to say other than being on the ocean. Price for room seemed to be a premium one for the quality of the lodging. We stayed here in the past and last summer chose to try it again when in Newport for my wife's birthday. Sadly, it was not what we had remembered. Bathroom was not clean (hand grime buildup on door which I was able to scrub off with washcloth and water) and overall furnishings dated. Bed was mediocre. For the cost, you can do better. We have already made reservations for another stay in Newport and have passed on the Shilo for that upcoming trip.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WmMorris1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear WmMorris1960,

I appreciate your return visit to our property in Newport Oregon and I value your feedback in regards to your recent stay. I will make sure to reiterate the importance of cleanliness to my team and will work to ensure these items are not overlooked. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Mike Willock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 24 in Newport
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#16 of 24 in Newport
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport

Address: 536 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5012
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £84 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin your Oregon Coast excursion with a stay at the full service Shilo Inn Suites Oceanfront Hotel in Newport. This ocean front hotel features 179 beautifully appointed guestrooms, each with a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean, south jetty and to the north, the Yaquina Head Lighthouse. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Oceanfront
Shilo Inn Newport
Newport Shilo Inn
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing