We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shilo in Oregon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Beaverton, OR
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Shilo in Oregon!”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

This hotel and staff are outstanding from restaurant staff to top management. Rooms are spotless and hospitality is outstanding. Will return year after year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonDuck09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    160
    148
    143
    105
See reviews for
257
239
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Definitely dated and tattered. No decks, just a casement window that opened 4 inches. Non adjustable shower head like a hose. Nice people, but needs a complete teardown and rebuild. Free wifi didn't work with my pc, no paper even though they claim such. Mattresses extra firm. Smelled like they just sprayed for bedbugs.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloInn, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport, responded to this review, 7 October 2009
Dear edi0:
Customer service is our #1 priority and we value our guest’s taking the time to post comments regarding their stay at the Shilo Inn Suites Oceanfront Hotel – Newport.

It is true there are no balconies or decks at our oceanfront property but our rooms do have nice large picture windows that offer an unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean. The window stop limits the opening width for guest safety.

High speed internet access is a free amenity for our Shilo guests and because it’s free the demand for bandwidth is sometimes very high which slows it down just a bit. I’m also sorry to hear there were no more newspapers when you requested one.

Be assured we would never put a guest in a room that had been sprayed with any type of chemical other than regular housekeeping disinfectants. If for any reason, our guests are not comfortable in one of our guest rooms we diligently work to make reasonable accommodations.

Please accept our apologies that some of things about our hotel did not meet your expectations as they relate to your personal experience. We hope you’ll give us another opportunity to provide Shilo’s affordable excellence the next time you visit Newport.

Sincerely,

Karen – Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

oregon
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We reserved two nites in a 2 bedroom suite, because of reviews on this site. Upon
opening the door we were horrified by the condition of the room. Not only was the
dark brown furniture and carpet outdated it was in very rough shape.ready for the
dump.The fronts of the fridge ,dishwasher and stove were dented and marred.
Wall paper in the bathroom on ceiling was falling off literally.Spent thenite and
packed as fast as we could to get out of the depressing room.

However,the staff was helpful and kind.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kb123oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloInn, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport, responded to this review, 22 September 2009
Dear kb123oregon:

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very sorry your stay was not what you had expected. Shilo's guest room furnishings are updated regularly and a certain amount of wear and tear is unavoidable. However, we value your feedback and will replace the furnishings and appliances as soon as possible. Thank you for commenting on the quality of our Shilo friendly guest service. Our staff is dedicated and committed to providing comfort and enjoyment to our guests. The next time you are in Newport, please consider staying at the Shilo Inn Suites Hotel and we'll make sure you stay in one of our newly remodeled rooms.

Sincerely,

Karen - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2009

The service and accomadations were fantastic. Staff was great and when we arrived they all made us feel very special. I have never been treated so well as I was here. I will always remember my stay and WILL be back! Cami and Susan are the BEST!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLHRC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My family and I absolutely LOVED our stay at this hotel. You couldn't ask for a nicer group of employees and staff that did everything they could to make sure our stay was PERFECT!!!! The rooms were spacious, well appointed, with gorgeous ocean views, and the beach access was RIGHT THERE!!!! After spending the morning on the beach, our family would go up to the hotel, grab some freshly baked chocolate chip cookies from the lobby, and head to the heated indoor pool for an afternoon swim. Then, for dinner, we had the choice of going to the restaurant on the premises (which makes a GREAT omelette BTW), or take the short walk to the nearby village for a variety of close shopping and restaurants. Our stay was SO great, we had a hard time saying 'Good-Bye'!!!

We will most definitely come back to this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We loved our stay at the Shilo Inn, Newport. Our room was high up in the tall building and it had a balcony with a fantastic view of the ocean. Other hotels may have this, but none can have such a caring and friendly staff. They gave us handicapped parking right by the door to our building. We were afraid we might lose it if we went sightseeing, and Kathy on the front desk said not to worry. We were to phone her as we were leaving, and she would meet us at the parking space and put out cones to save it for us. Can you imagine such service? Obviously when you need something, they will try very hard to provide it. Our room was very comfortable, and we especially liked having a coffee maker, refrig, and microwave. We ate dinner in their fine restaurant, and the portions were so large that we brought back enough to reheat for dinner the next night. There is fruit, freshly baked cookies and coffee in the lobby, and also a free computer available for your use. If you come to Newport, don't miss having the famous clam chowder at Mo's Restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klockars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The GM Karen Anderson and her staff are to be commended for the excellent service that they extended to the "Wild Hogs" Group. Everything from check-in, special group parking, reserving a section of the dining room exclusivly for our group, blocking a section of rooms on the top floor with fantastic views of the ocean, plate of cookies and a welcoming letter to each of us in our rooms on arrival, great food and service from dining room staff and even a welcome to our group on their reader board out front of the hotel.
This was the nicest stay of our trip and we would highly recomment this property to everyone visiting Newport, Oregon. Again, thanks to Karen and her staff for making our stay such a memorable experience.

Mike

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodeHog2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,015 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.8 mi away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#16 of 24 in Newport
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#8 of 24 in Newport
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Address: 536 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin your Oregon Coast excursion with a stay at the full service Shilo Inn Suites Oceanfront Hotel in Newport. This ocean front hotel features 179 beautifully appointed guestrooms, each with a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean, south jetty and to the north, the Yaquina Head Lighthouse. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Oceanfront
Shilo Inn Newport
Newport Shilo Inn
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing