We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empty parking lot at 11pm and told they have no rooms”
Review of Motel 6 Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Newport
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Rocky River, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Empty parking lot at 11pm and told they have no rooms”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Title says it all. Tried to stay and voice on the courtesy phone said no rooms available. Rude and inhappy to take a call at 11 pm. Priceline, bookings. C & hotels.com showed rooms for undet$100. Stay elsewhere

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    19
    12
    16
    26
See reviews for
25
32
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

At 1st upon arriving to our 'king deluxe room' for the 4th of July fireworks on the bay I was excited..hopeful. and walking in room yes it was dark..curtains closed and musty as other writers have said. I opened glass door to air. The room is large and the hot water machine in lobby available from 730 am to 9 pm was hot..after that..not much good to write about and I hate giving bad reviews..look for the positives..No wifi..whole 2 days even after office 'rebooted', Hot tub 'out of order' don't want to know how long..phone didn't work and when desk called on cell we were instructed to plug it into different outlet..not offered service. No coffee in room and muffins-continental breakfast- at its worst served only 7:30 to 8:30 am. Carpets dirty filthy and agree with previous writer..this place needs some love. Beds hard. No chairs on the balcony to watch the works, one washrag per day and no 'Do not disturb' sign for room. Probably the cheapest I've ever stayed and paid over >300 for 2 nites..expedia for the 4th..wouldn't go again or recommend it

Room Tip: Dont go here..they advertise 'spa rooms' not sure if true or functional if exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kulena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

San Ramon, California
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed in king room on 3rd floor with a balcony. Hotel has an elevator so no problem. Big room with good view of Yaquina Bridge. Nice sitting area with wet bar, fridge and micro. Now comes the WHAT????? part NO COFFEE MAKER. Lobby has coffee but closes at 9pm and doesn't open till 8am . So all you coffee drinkers get coffee before 9pm and micro it the next morn. Come on guys even super 8 has coffee makers in rooms.

Room Tip: Get balcony room and get coffee nite before
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We called ahead and made reservations for Saturday, March 30, 2013. I asked the receptist the difference beween the standard king room and the deluxe king room and she said the deluxe king room had a balcony to look at the bay and the yaquina bay bridge. We took that room $79 plus tax came up to $88. We specifically told the receptionist we wanted a non smoking room and she assured us that all the rooms were non smoking.

We arrived on Saturday and the female clerk was friendly and already had our reservatrion printed and cards for room 216 on the second floor. We paid and she told us the spa hours and the hours for coffee, juice, etc in the morning by the front desk. Further that the front desk is closed at 8:30 but we could access the building with our card throught the side door.

We grabbed our luggage and headed up the second floor. The hallway smells somewhat musty - would suggest windows or vents that can be opened on nice days to air it out.

Room 216.....opened the door - smells VERY MUSTY. We opened the sliding glass door and pulled over the screen and let the room airout while we went shopping, etc. 4 hours later came back and smelled so much better. Wonder why the clerk doesn't air out the room prior to visit by customer?

The TV and VCR - yes, that's right the old time of 20" TV and can you believe an actual VCR player? I can't believe the owner has not yet disposed of those two and installed a flat screen TV.

The bed - oh my goodness.....HARD AS A ROCK! Owner: If you are reading this, go to Kohl's and buy a memory foam mattress topper for that bed. Who can possibly get a good nights rest on that thing? The sheets and the bedding were clean.

LAMP: Decided to read my magazine. Turned the on button several times. Couldn't figure out why the lamp would not come on. Looked under the shade. THERE WAS NO BULB IN THE LAMP! My husband took the bulb from the lamp on his side of the bed and put it in the lamp on my side of bed.

The green carpet......FILTHY. Get it professionallly cleaned or if it is stained, then please remove it and put in new flooring. Are you kidding? We didn't even walk on it without our shoes or socks on our feet.

BATHROOM lineolum: If this is a non smoking room, then why is there cigarette burn right in the floor in front of the toilet and why does the room have that stale smoke smell?

Towels: Went to wash my face. No wash clothes at washbasin nor in the bathroom. Only two hand towels and two bathtowels.

Furniture: chipped everywhere AND the next morning my husband found chewed gum stucked to the side of the TV stand and there was dryed up toilet paper put over a vent on the wall by the bed.

When we checked out, we asked the male clerk if they are open to hearing suggestions for improvements. And he said they were. After stating all of the above, he said "well, it's not something we haven't heard before. All I say is to go to the website and write a review".

OWNER IF YOU READING THIS: You need to update these rooms right away. Not only will we not ever stay there, nor will we recommend it to anyone else. If you think you can't afford it, I say "you can't afford not to". Your hotel will not survive with these horrible rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwe888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

You can see the festival tents from this motel. Be prepared to pay an extra $100 night on Friday and Saturday night because of the festival. WOW The room was not bad considering the price, but they need to vacuum under furniture (saw french fries under a table), and around the corners of the carpet. Everything needed to be dusted. I dusted the furniture before putting anything on them, and there was a bad smell in our room. The towels were so thin that I needed to use 2 of them just to dry off. 1 of our pillows was so flat that you would nott even know that you had a pillow. At least the sheets were clean as was the bathroom. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outoftowners2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We went during the Seafood and Wine Festival so the location was great and we thought it was worth the high prices for the concience. Wrong not only was it filthy,but the service was awful. Some people don't understand the term guest, customer or patron, I think since it was the festival they figure they were doing us a favor by allowing us the privlidge of staying at their poorly managed motel. I can handle a place that's old and even a little warn around the edges but this place is just plain very poorly maintained. When we had a problem with no hot water for the second time and called the front desk we were basically called liars when the manager appeared in the hallway stating the water was hot in a different room would I like to come see for myself? Rude rude rude. Certainly not the way to treat a guest or a customer. Well lesson learned, next year we will just pay the cab fare to stay at a nice hotel with good customer service that's a bit farther from the festival. Festival was fantastic by the way ;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Good location, and friendly desk help, but that's all that was good. The entire hotel smelled like B.O., the carpet was crunchy and dirty, the tub had a ring around it, the bathroom counter was falling off. Breakfast was only from 8-9, and they ran out before that. The coffee was good though. Oh, the couch and chairs in the room were very faded, and the couch had tears in it. I never sat on it because I was afraid of catching something! Free would have been too much to spend on this room. Would definitely never stay here again!!

Room Tip: Plan ahead so you can get a room in a different hotel than this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#14 of 24 in Newport
325 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,027 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#7 of 24 in Newport
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Property: Motel 6 Newport
Address: 2633 SE Pacific Way, Newport, OR 97366-5274 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites at Yaquina Bay)
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Newport is conveniently located off of US-101 South of the beautiful Yaquina Bay Bridge in South Beach on South Pacific Way. Nearby is the Historic Yaquina Bay Lighthouse which is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and the Oregon Coast Aquarium is within walking distance also the Hatfield Marine Science Center is just a few blocks away! Our guest rooms include microwaves, micro-fridge units and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Yaquina Bay Hotel Newport
Motel 6 Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing