We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last ditch option”
Review of Motel 6 Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Newport
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The staff was alright. Free muffins are served between 7:30-8:30am. Rooms were pretty gross. Furniture had dog hair and white stains all over. Some rooms were unable to get wifi. Spa was convieniently out of service. I wouldnt recommend this place to my worst enemy. We stayed here not out of choice. It was the only place in town left with a room and now we know why. Try and bring your own pillows+blankets if you have to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrfanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was surprised when we went back to the Inn at Yaquina Bay:
The "breakfast" consisted of coffee (no decaf) and stale Costco muffins, cut into quarters.
The "breakfast" was served from 7:30 to 8:30 AM
The hallways smell.
Costs $3 to rent a DVD, what's with that? Red Box is only $1
The sheets were so thin that we could see through them to the mattress which was not comfortable.
The towels were cheap and very scratchy. They were about the size of a hand towel in another hotel.
The price should have been $59/night or less. Way overpriced for what we got.
Management just doesn't seem to care!

Room Tip: A tip to help you choose a good room: Go right close by and stay at La Quinta, at least they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My family and I have stayed here for the last few years and have had a very good experience. The price is right and it is within walking distance of Rouge brewery and the public pier. We love crabbing and fishing and the place is ideal due to it's location. The manager is attentive and very friendly and so is the staff. I've seen other reviews here and I must say I completely disagree with them. I've stayed at many hotels over the last few years due to my job and rarely do you find such sweet people who care about your needs as much as Jodi (the manager).

Room Tip: I suggest a ocean side room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is the dirtiest, stinkiest hotel I have ever visited.
We checked in, went to our room, it was filthy and the smell was just awful, we returned to the front desk to complain, the lady at the desk gave us key cards for two room we can look at, none of the room were great but decided on one. We moved our luggage to the other room but after sitting there for a while we noticed this one was filthy amd the sheet smelled really bad.
DON'T LET THE INTERNET PICTURES FOOL YOU, THIS IS THE WORSE HOTEL I HAD EVER BEEN IN. It may be within walking distant of the aquaruim but it will be better to go to Best Western Agate, we did!!

Room Tip: Do not get a room tyhere, they all are dirty, stinky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GREG M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel on August 10th only because the town was sold out. When we walked into our room I right away noticed that the toilet had urine stains and black hair on it and in it! The cranky lady at the desk came up with a spray bottle and a dish scrubber. No cloth, gloves, or appropriate cleaner. She told us that she had sold the room earlier and that the people chose not to stay. So she decided not to check on the state of the room and instead let us discover the soiled bathroom. Later, my girlfriend got locked in the bathroom because the door handle latch was stripped. The cranky old lady came up again, this time with a screw driver. She claimed my girlfriend had the door locked which she did not. She pried the wobbly door handle away from the door and it popped open. The cranky old lady slammed the room door and left in a huff. The disgusting green carpet made me worry about contracting some sort of illness and I just imagined Gordon Ramsay with his blue light discovering all sorts of disgusting things in this ill kept hotel room. We were charged $165 for our inconvenience. Never stay at this hotel people. If the town is sold out there are many pleasant motels along the beach as you head south down the highway any of which would be far better than this dive! Beds have a swail in them and bedding looks like it has been there for decades!

Room Tip: Go to a different property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirbowla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The rooms are big, and you can walk to a brewery, that is what it has going for it.
On arrival my friends room had a full garbage and a used ice bucket in it. They moved them to a different room.
My room looked clean enough until the next morning when I did a last chance sweep of the room and discovered a bottle of lube under the bed. Really, clean the rooms!
The internet never connected and the view is of a RV park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed years ago and it was nice. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite when I turned jets on all kinds of stuff came out, floor was sticky in places, hair ball in shower, beds are old and pillows are about 2" thick. No air conditioning, fireplace did not work and hot tub was out of service. Overall it was the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrocker728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#14 of 24 in Newport
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1 mi away
Days Inn Newport OR
Days Inn Newport OR
#15 of 24 in Newport
341 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#16 of 24 in Newport
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Address: 2633 SE Pacific Way, Newport, OR 97365-5274 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites at Yaquina Bay)
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £50 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Newport is conveniently located off of US-101 South of the beautiful Yaquina Bay Bridge in South Beach on South Pacific Way. Nearby is the Historic Yaquina Bay Lighthouse which is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and the Oregon Coast Aquarium is within walking distance also the Hatfield Marine Science Center is just a few blocks away! Our guest rooms include microwaves, micro-fridge units and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Yaquina Bay Hotel Newport
Motel 6 Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing