We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dirty the Rude and the Lies”
Review of Motel 6 Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Newport
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We checked in toi our room and the sink was cloged. The Front desk Lady Jo was rude and said to deal with it. It was fthe fourth of july and they could not do anything about it. All hotels in town were booked so we decided to stay. After the fireworks we climbed in bed to find the bed had been Vomited in and not cleaned. I called the desk and was told again to Deal with it or leave. I still do not under stand why I was treated this way.... Do they treat all customers this way?? We checked out the next day and found a cheaper room at the wonderful Embarcedero Hotel for 20$ less! after filing a complaint with the mgt. ant the hotel chain and not getting any reply the front desk lady Jo wrote me a letter.
she stated their head housekeeper had checked the room....LIE i was there whe the Hispanic man finished " cleaning" the room. The letter also stated she would have moved me to another room...LIE they were full as she stated. the next lie in the letter stated we had 3 adults and 5 kids in the room LOL I drive a s10 blazer that seats five and My family consists of me my wife and three kiddos.. This lady Joe was rude and LIES!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matomotive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 97 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2009

We paid $129.99 before taxes for a suite with a fireplace, jacuzzi tub and a balcony. We had stayed at the same hotel several years ago when it was under different ownership. At that time the rooms were very clean, well appointed and properly maintained.
At the time of our recent visit the room was very dirty and poorly maintained. The bathroom shower/tub was filthy! My wife didn't realize that the bathtub drain was plugged until she found herself in ankle deep dirty water when she showered. The sliding glass doors leading to the balcony had not been cleaned in weeks. The window side of the drapes were covered with black mold and one drape liner had a large tear. The mini blind on one window had months of accumulated dust and grime on it. The edges of most of the wooden furniture were very worn and the veneer was peeling away in places. The bed linen was clean but worn and thin.
If it had not been a holiday weekend we would have tried to find another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travalongbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Close toall attraction,very helpful employees stayed at seven other hotels and this was the best.

jack lash #9283051837 jlash40@msn.com

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlash40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

While visiting the Rogue brewery across the street we decided to stay at this hotel and paid $109 before taxes. The place is a motel 6 at best and is worth about 70 bucks per night. The proximity to the brewery (which is awesome) and the aquarium (which is definitely worth a visit) are a plus, but the mobile home park right in front of the hotel is not. The interior of the hotel is dated, the bathrooms not clean and the mattresses uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank World_Traveler_Linus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in July 2008 as we were making a trip along the Oregon coast. We saw it while driving through town and called to book it directly. We paid around $77 for a double room. We had 5 people, including 2 small kids. We chose it primarily from the exterior look and low price compared to others in town we called.

Since we have kids, we wanted a hotel with a swimming pool. You'll find that no hotels along the Oregon coast have outdoor pools because of the cool weather. We didn't want to pay the big jump in price for an indoor pool since we were arriving late anyway.

This hotel does have an indoor hot tub, which we used and enjoyed. There was a small exercise room near it, which we didn't use.

For our room, we were given a choice if we would like to have a balcony or a fireplace - it seems rooms have one or the other. We chose a balcony. It overlooked the Yaquina Bay. The room was nice and clean and larger than a typical double room. It included a loveseat and coffee table. It also had a refrigerator and microwave. It had a double sink outside the restroom. You enter the rooms from an indoor hallway. They have an elevator and a cart for luggage (no bellboy).

They had coffee in the lobby and muffins (not too good) out at breakfast time. Every room had a VCR (yea, old technolog), and they had a wide variety of movies in the lobby to rent. I don't know how much they cost - we didn't ask.

We were happy with our stay and found it a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones del segundo y tercer piso son mejores
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Benjamín S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#14 of 24 in Newport
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1 mi away
Days Inn Newport OR
Days Inn Newport OR
#15 of 24 in Newport
341 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#16 of 24 in Newport
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Address: 2633 SE Pacific Way, Newport, OR 97365-5274 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites at Yaquina Bay)
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £50 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Newport is conveniently located off of US-101 South of the beautiful Yaquina Bay Bridge in South Beach on South Pacific Way. Nearby is the Historic Yaquina Bay Lighthouse which is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and the Oregon Coast Aquarium is within walking distance also the Hatfield Marine Science Center is just a few blocks away! Our guest rooms include microwaves, micro-fridge units and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Yaquina Bay Hotel Newport
Motel 6 Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing