We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm alive to review this awful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Newport
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We checked in at 8:30 p.m, had our two small dogs with us so we were charged an extra $30 on top of the $60 for the room, 104, along the North side. I was horrified when I saw the carpeting in the room...owners need to tear it up and tile it or something! The musty, moldy smells were horrific! We had driven all day so we're too tired to go further but my last thought before finally going to sleep was "We're going to DIE in our sleep!" It smelled THAT bad! I refused to place a bare foot on that floor and was mortified when my dog rolled on it! The housekeeping staff needs to check the inside of the bathroom doors...our was spattered with something Brown! Totally gross and the Health Department would close it down, I am sure of that!! I got us up and out of there, still tired, at 5 a.m.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Patsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We are so thankful for this hotel. The front desk is so friendly and they are very catering and caring to what you need. They took the time to find out what we were looking for and they were able to find us a room in an emergency situation that fit a group of students traveling for the break! I will recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to the coast for the night. They beach is close too! We will definitely be back to the Knights Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raiders1189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Very cooperative staff. We did an extended stay due and staff was willing to work with us in any way necessary. Convenient location. Rooms were clean and quiet. The windows were a little drafty, but not very cold here so not a bid deal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterED57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Knights Inn is clearly an old building. They use old style door locks. The rooms look a little like you've stepped back into a time portal. However, once you make your reservation and get there, the managers make sure you have a comfortable, helpful, and charming stay. This is about as much luxury as I would expect at $60 a night. But it's like staying with a close family member you're really comfortable with staying with. I had an awesome experience and would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: We booked a queen bed online and then when we get there they offered us a king room that was availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 345Brent345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Comfortable stay for a night. The place looks like it's been updated, but it's mostly paint over corrosion, peeling paint, and rust. BUT everything works well, except for the fan in the bathroom, the heating works, it's comfortable, and the old folks at the front desk are nice. The price was very affordable.

With a bit of TLC and some real maintenance, it would be a nice place, even if it's older and with a pretty old layout, if the doors were actually painted properly (instead of paint over peel), and the little nits were fixed.

Still, for now, it's a decent place to stay, it's inexpensive, and it's not obnoxious. I would fear it won't stay that way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired_old_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I'm not too picky when it comes to hotels. The price for the hotel was very reasonable, but I wasn't blown away by the value. There was a faint chemical cleanser smell in the room when I entered, and the heater was somewhat hard to figure out. Don't expect much if you stay here. If you're in town visiting the beaches and just need a place to sleep and aren't planning to spend much time in the room, then it should meet your needs. Otherwise, I would try some other hotel options in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#14 of 24 in Newport
376 reviews
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 24 in Newport
148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Motel 6 Newport
Motel 6 Newport
#19 of 24 in Newport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Newport OR
Days Inn Newport OR
#15 of 24 in Newport
347 reviews
1.6 mi away
Money Saver Motel
Money Saver Motel
#20 of 24 in Newport
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Newport

Address: 1823 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-2022 (Formerly Newport Bay Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £47 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Oregon Coast and see everything that Newport, Oregon has to offer as you stay here at Knights Inn. Our amenities include Free High Speed Internet, Cable TV, Microwaves, Refrigerators, Hair Dryers, Coffee Makers, and A/C units*! We offer designated pet friendly rooms at our facility for a fee of $15.00 Per night. We are located at the North end of Newport with close access to the beach, shopping, fine dining, golf courses, the Oregon Coast Aquarium, Historic Bay Front, Historic Nye Beach, Ripley's Believe it Or Not, Undersea Gardens, and many more scenic attractions. *Deluxe room only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Knights Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing