We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

At check-in I was recognized as a Gold club member and upgraded along with a goodie bag. The young lady at the desk was excellent but I noticed after she went off the next was rather gruff. The hotel was very nice, had a room facing the inner harbor. Very confortable bed and nicely laid out bathroom. Elevator was very slow. Continental breakfast was very good and quite crowded food was refreshed in a timely manner. Was not too hot on Newport but the place to stay would be the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tailes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

The hotel is quite new, we have stayed here twice: nice clean rooms, friendly helpful staff. The aquarium is round the corner, the harbour nearby. Several rooms have sea sight. We enjoyed being here and will return in future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strandman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great hotel with good location in Newport. Great staff, very friendly. Spatious rooms with beds that will give you that good night's sleep that you need to have while on the road. I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Newport, OR.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Although this property is not on the beach, it is nearly new and you can easily access the town and sights along the ocean. The property itself is well maintained and provides a great breakfast. The price is great for the location near the ocean. We were able to see beautiful views both north and south on the coast highway. The somewhat central location at Newport lets you visit most of the beautiful Oregon coast in short day trips allowing plenty of time to visit other small towns and beaches.

Room Tip: We had a room near the north end on the backside away from the parking lot. Very quiet but not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great Hotel and location was perfect. They had a board walk in the back that you could walk along or bicycle ride. Hotel was quiet and close to resturants. Just go over the bridge to the pier and eat at Moe's and walk the shops. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Easy in and out to highway.
Seems like rough section of city.
Lock your car doors here.
Lot's of potential, much better than others in the area.

Room Tip: Points are honored most of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank govworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We had a free night at the La Quinta in Newport and took the opportunity to extend our stay by moving to the Holiday Inn Express for the second night of our trip. Like night and day. The HI Express is a new (well fairly new) hotel that is well maintained. The front desk was more than helpful. Our room on an upper floor on the back side of the hotel had a view of the bay (this is not an ocean view property). We had a good experience at the hotel and will come back to stay again. The hotel is modern. Everything is new. Beautifully designed HI Express.

Be sure to visit the Rogue Brewery just a short drive from the hotel. The brewery was recommended by the front desk at the HI Express. Get their beer sampler and stay for lunch or dinner. Meals are mainly sandwiches but good pub grub. Also, be sure to visit Georgie's Beachside Grill (check the tripadvisor reviews) good food and a great ocean view.

Room Tip: If an ocean view is not critical to you, this is THE place to stay in Newport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KandFRedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,078 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366-9631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £80 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing