We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Lovely lobby, Staff was friendly and helpful. Computer room with 2 computers with wifi Pool and hot tub. Easy to locate, 1 block off Hwy 101. Walking distance to aquarium and shopping.
The full breakfast and morning news was great. Pancake machine was a first!. Eggs, Bacon, rolls, cereal, several coffees, bananas. Hot tea and coffee was available all day.

Room Tip: Slight view of the bay on the upper floors facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Wow, thank you for such an awesome review! All of us at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport just want to thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are all so happy to see you enjoyed your stay, and with the perfect score you gave us we expect to see you again in the near future! Not many guests comment on the extensity of our breakfast, but you sure did! I am also glad that you got a chance to use the pancake machine as well! I know the next time you stay we will be sure to create another wonderful experience!
Thank you again!
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

The room was very clean, the pool and hot tub felt great after driving all day, the business center had two computers and printers, and the free breakfast had a nice variety of items (including a pancake machine that you have to try!) We had stayed at several other 2.5 and 3 star hotels during our trip to Oregon and in each one there was at least one thing wrong (i.e. run-down bathroom, smelly pillows, pool out-of-service, etc.) but our stay at this HIE was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin-and-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon! We appreciate all of the rave comments and we are very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay! It takes a great staff to be reviewed as "Perfect" from guests like yourself and we are so happy to see all of our hard work coming through in the Hotel. That pancake machine is quite a change from those over used waffle machines don't you think? We all just love seeing guests faces light up when they see the pancake machine in the morning, its just one of the small things that make this Hotel one of the best! We all hope to see you again!
Thank you again for the great review!
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Super clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Modern, spacious room. Good continental breakfast with coffee and tea available all day. Only complaint is that the hotel is kind of on the edge of town BUT it's a 2 minute walk to the famous aquarium here and about a 5 minute drive to numerous beaches. Very happy we found this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

J P,

The entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport thank you for such a great review! We depend on our guests to tell us how well we are doing, and by reading your review I know that we are doing great! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and we all hope to see you again real soon!
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review on our hotel!

Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Okay so I must admit we are very loyal Marriott travelers. We look for and stay at Marriott hotels any where we can, however there is not a Marriott anywhere (it seems) on the Oregon coast. We were very leary about where to stay but we chose the Holiday Inn Express based on the Trip Advisor responses. We have never been to Newport and didn't know the area. When you pull in to the hotel it is a little unassuming. The rooms themselves are what is so impressive. They were so clean and spacious. The decorations were warm and inviting. The hotel was so quiet and we had a bayside room where we could watch the sunrise. It was a real treat and we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are an early riser I highly suggest the bayside rooms so you can watch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

All of us at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport thank you for such a wonderful review! We pride ourselves on cleanliness and have recently had an inspection in which our Hotel recieved very high scores in our cleanliness department, as well as all others. We love getting reviews like these to forward on to all of our staff members! It is always good to try out new brands to see what they have to offer guests, and you picked the best in town! We look forward to seeing you again!
Thank you again!

Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

stayed one night at the Holiday Express Hotel since it is near the Oregon Coast Aquarium.

The motel is modern and clean, but it is clearly oriented for the business travel not the leisure tourist. At check in font desk was cold and official with a somber face I felt like she was going to ask would you like a smile with that? check out was fast and easy. I don't think that paying over hundred dollars for one night is a resealable rate for this motel. other motels near by should be better deals.

The location is a bit far from downtown Newport not much is within walking distance.

We did get a good night rest with large clean beds. The bed cover had a iron mark on it. The room is good size , with a desk and chair.

breakfast was the usual motel breakfast with eggs ,biscuits and gravy, I enjoyed the fresh large cinnamon rolls offered.

good motel for one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan36461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts with us about your stay at our hotel. We do apologize that you had a less than great expereince with us recently. We try to create the best experience possible when you are with us, so you feel the money was well spent and it seems as though we fell short. However, you did mention how clean everything was and the nice size of the rooms, and we thank you for that. We are a new hotel with a great hosekeeping staff that keeps the hotel looking nice and clean for guests, and I'm glad you noticed. We really are a great hotel, and I hope you give us a chance to better serve you in the future.
Have a great day.
Katrina Parker
Assistant General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The king suite was comfortable for our two night stay. It was very clean and the bed had the perfect firmness. The room temp was perfect as well. If you expect a suite to have a separating door from the sitting area, this did not. Lots of lamps throughout but poor lighting at the sitting/dining area. Had the complimentary breakfast the first morning. Bacon and eggs did not taste like the real thing. Passed for La Maison Bakery (decadent pastries!) the next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwfolks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Newport Oregon! We are so please that you felt everything was to your liking. I do apologize for the egg issue you experienced durring your stay. Unfortunately all of out breakfast items are band mandated and we cannot change them. However, you did get to eat at La Maison which is a really great resturant! We really enjoyed your review, and I hope you come and stay with us again!
Have a great day!
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

In planning our trip down the Oregon coast, I had an extremely hard time finding a hotel which would book for one night only on Sat., which had good reviews, was non-smoking and met all our other requirements. (We really are not all that picky). When I happened on Holiday Inn Express in Newport thru tripadvisor, I booked immediately. Having never been to Oregon, we began our southward exploration early on Sat. morning, thinking that we would reach Newport mid-afternoon. We saw way too many interesting sites and by the time my husband asked if we would arrive in time for his must see football game we really had to hurry. We reached the Holiday Inn Express and I truly ran in and held my breath until the very nice ladies at the check-in assured me we had ESPN. Check in was really quick and with my door key they handed me a printed list of TV stations with the correct one highlighted. Wonderful service. Our king suite room was perfect with comfortable sofa for game watching and a wet bar for game time refreshments. We had a great night, peaceful sleep with everything we could have hoped for in our room. Great room, excellent staff and beautiful location. Thanks ya'll.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

GAWanderer,

I am so pleased that your husband didn't miss his game! I know he was sure looking forward to it! We are all so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here in Newport, and our staff truely loved having you and your husband with us! Please be sure to come down the coast again,and stay with us! Maybe even stay a couple nights?!
Thank you for a wonderful review!!

Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,951 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366-9631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £80 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing