We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse stay yet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worse stay yet!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We requested the 4th floor away from noise distractions and got room 406...we had a long day and a filling dinner and retired around 9pm..we slept with the window open for some fresh air...big mistake..our window faced the back parking lot and a bunch of people pulled in all hours of the night..loud as can be...I think the front desk sent them all to the 4th floor because the door slamming, people talk loud at midnight in the hall, in their rooms and in the parking lot..very rude...we recieved maybe 2 hours of sleep...it seemed as soon as we fell asleep someone somewhere was loud and obnoxious. .in the morning we went down for breakfast ....placed was packed...coffee was good..eggs were ice cold..could not get in to toast my english muffin as there was 1 toaster and a line waiting for it... the milk and yogurt was warm and milk tasted a bit sour although still in date...I will not return here...I explained to the gal at the counter and she asked me if I let the front desk know...I said no because I was to upset....I should of brought a van so we could of slept in it fir a better rest...

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
megmelchar,
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon. We are terribly sorry that you had experienced noise issues while you were with us. For further reference we have staff twenty four hours a day to assist guests with anything they may need throughout their stay. We do hope that you give us another chance to show you that the issues that you experienced were an abnormal occurrence, and we really are a wonderful hotel.
Thank you,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    177
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
164
159
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel was located just south of Newport. However, it is located one block away from the Aquarium. Is was quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and efficient. In order to get dinner, we went back to Newport. This hotel provides all that I expected. One of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels in which I have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

It is a very nice hotel just not to my taste. I just came from a very comfortable and welcoming hotel in Lincoln City and after that was disappointed with this hotel. It was too businesslike for me and didn't have that comfortable feeling to it. They did put me in a quieter location on the top floor as requested. I just didn't care for the way it was decorated. Too businesslike with a big desk in there and just didn't have that comfy feeling to it. Staff was courteous and breakfast was pretty good but for the money it wasn't worth it to me. Nice location but not in walking distance to much but the aquarium. Would try somewhere else next time I think.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7737bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear 7737bears,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
300 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Newport is full of hotels, and some may be better bargains, but you won't find a better corporately owned hotel than this. Great, young helpful staff, Immaculately clean, and a really good breakfast which is complimentary.

The location is really great, because it is south of the bridge and away from the honkey tonk. However, you are only 5 minutes from all the on the dock restauants, the older of the two lighthouses in Newport, and you have a running start on the many sights on the coast located south of the town of Newport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohiomitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We spent two nights there during a big storm. The hotel lobby area is pleasant, the suite was comfortable and clean, the breakfast was good, the rate was reasonable, and the staff was very customer centric --especially Katrina. We will likely stay there the next time we drive down the Oregon coast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njblanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in a king suite.

Positives:
- Fast check in
- Great pool and spa
- Good location, near Aquarium
- Quiet and clean
- Check out staff on the morning of 9/14 was great

Negatives:
- Check in staff seemed a bit flaky and insincere, like snickering teenagers.
- Very salty eggs at breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaMartinOriginals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The lady that checked us in alway seemed to be there & she was very nice & friendly (I wish I had gotten her name). The room was a good size, very clean & quiet. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was better than the normal continental breakfasts that you usually get in hotels & we really liked their coffee (tasted like coffee & not colored water). It was a nice stay & would stay there again. Elevator & wifi tends to be a little slow when the hotel is crowded.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredlady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366-9631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing