We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Stay”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in late September. We had planned to stay overnight but because of the excellent facility and the price we extended our stay for 4 nights while visiting the sites in the area. Upon arrival we were greeted by the front desk person, Trevor. Trevor was exceedingly pleasant and accommodating. He treated us like we were the King and Queen. We also had contact with Trish. One day our TV would not function correctly. Trish was at the desk that day and when we returned we found her in the room reprogramming the TV and it worked well after that. All staff members were very friendly. The room was immaculate and large. The breakfasts were excellent. This hotel though moderately priced compared more than favorably with much higher priced hotels that we have stayed. Just to add and not be redundant, Trevor is one of the best front desk staff members that I have ever been in contact with. Dave Hodes, Yardley, PA

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    187
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
174
167
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed in many Holiday Inn Express hotels and this one is on par with all others. Very comfortable and flawlessly clean. I was surprised at how much it cost, but that is apparently the norm for coast-area hotels. We stayed here one night after hiking in the area and it worked great. I especially enjoyed the bonanza of ripe blackberries on the west side of the parking lot...nearly didn't make it into the hotel lobby for want of picking berries. Breakfast was great: biscuits & gravy, waffles, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, coffee, etc. Of course, it has zero unique charm, but it is a reliable chain hotel in an area where you aren't going to spend much time in your room anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achin4Bacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Kirstie Allsopp and Phil Spencer (I love their shows) would class this as NO Location, location, location. If so, they might have just been right but as in their shows, it all depends on what you want.

If it’s a one night stay on the way south or north (why do people do that) on highway 101, it really isn’t that bad.

We were greeted by Trevor who informed us that because we were members of the IHG® Rewards Club, we would be upgraded to a deluxe outside suite (without veranda). Also, as a further perk we were handed bottles of water and a choice of snack. Great guy, this Trevor. He informed us on where to eat (and why, or why not). Gave us some local info and tossed us to the wolves (just thought I’d check to see if you were paying attention).

We were directed to room 325 which was on the parking lot side facing La Quinta. The room was sparsely decorated but we weren’t staying long and who really likes hotel/motel pictures. There was a king sized bed, writing (computer) desk, good TV with a nice selection of stations and a mini fridge with microwave. As well, a 2 sofa facing one of those picture previously mentioned and a 2 person dining table. Bathroom had a single sink, toilet and tub/shower (nozzle at about 6 foot 2 with adequate pressure).

Wi-Fi was not so great.

Breakfast was very good for the type expected at this type of establishment. Good enough to get you on the road south (why would anyone go north – oh, I mentioned that).

The only down side was the location. If you want to explore Newport it is by far, across a long bridge. If you don’t, then stay here and talk with Trevor (did I mention him? ah yes).

PS I believe that there could be a good sunset from this room but I was off a dinner just before.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gresham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just want to let you know where to stay in Newport OR. I travel there 2-3 times a month and enjoy the Holiday Inn The Most. have stayed others in the city, but when it comes to clean, friendly and a great breakfast they have them all beat. Just across the bridge and on the left, easy to find and Quiet. Which you know is a huge plus. The front desk staff is on it and the Manager will take care of you and the staff will remember your name~! Now where does that happen that often these days~! Thank you~!

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donovan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here recently for a week on business travel and was happy with my stay. A very comfortable hotel, a really nice room, and very welcoming and helpful staff. Great value for what you get as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

For an inexpensive stay in Newport, Oregon this is a clean newer Holiday Inn Express. It is located on the south side of Newport near the bay. Breakfast is included, which I did not eat. The employees were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Request a room on 4th floor east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a clean hotel that comes with a good "hot"breakfast (many protein options). The hotel has a pool and a hot tub which is nice for relaxing after a long day. The rooms and lobby are clean and the hotel is next to some tourist places to visit, which you can walk to. Across the bridge from much more that Newport offers. I would recommend this as there aren't many quality hotel options in Newport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHXAZ1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,043 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.4 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366-9631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing