We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Newport.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel is located right near the aquarium in Newport. It had a nice Northwest feel to it. However the hotel was a few blocks away from the Ocean on the other side of Hwy 101. It was away from the main highway so it made for a nice quiet nights sleep. They had an indoor pool also. Nice free internet access was availabe in the lobby. The hotel was a little higher than other hotels in the area, but I would say the price was worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffbl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

jeffbl88,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor! We really appreciate all of the wonderful thing you have written about our property, and the great description about our location. The entire staff is so proud to read this wonderful review.
We hope to see you soon!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed end of January 2014. The rooms were extremely clean and had all the amenities you would expect. We chose the King Suite. The beds were comfortable, bathrooms were exceptionally spotless. We enjoyed using the boardgames offered at the front desk. Our room had a couch which made it the "hang out room" for our group. We had a wonderful time! Bonus that it's such a quick and easy walk to Rogue! We did not use the swimming pool. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of options! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Kylie F,
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this today. We love to read what our guests are saying about us on the web, especially when contain comments as amazing as this review does. We would love to have you again in the future, and we will be sure to keep our board games on hand!
Have a wonderful day!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

One of the nicer Holiday Inn Express hotels. We were upgraded to a suite and enjoyed the extra amenities and space. Rooms well appointed, clean and quiet. Breakfast area clean and well-stocked. We stayed here in August 2012 and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Elphaba,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon. We are all very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay not once, but TWICE! The best compliment any Hotel can get is a return guest, and you have shown that we are worthy of this. We all hope to see you again on your next trip to Newport!
Have a wonderful day!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stay at HI Express properties pretty regularly and though I get a little tired of their blandness one can't fault the consistency of their quality. I like the brand anyway but this one was one of the nicest I've stayed at. The lobby is particulalry nice and a little grander than the average HI Express, the guy that checked us in was super friendly and very helfpul about directions and information about Newport.

This looks to be a very nice facility and the rooms were very comforatable with two queen beds, mini fridge and a microwave. The bathroom had laminate flooring instead of tiles which I really liked. My kids loved using the indoor pool and breakfast was standard but decent (biscuits and gravy, hardboiled eggs, HI Express's signature cinammon buns etc).

I liked the location of this hotel, being right off the 101 (not noisy though) close to the aquarium and just over the bridge from the Downtown area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackberryBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

BlackberryBoy,
Thank you so much for your review! We are very proud to have been called "one of the nicest" Holiday Inn Express Hotels you have stayed at. Our staff is constantly trying to find a way to go above and beyond the average HIE, and I am glad to read that we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again!
Have a great day.
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at this hotel which is close to the bay front shops and aquarium. The rates are good, rooms are large and clean and the staff is great. Being an IHG member we received 2 free bottles of water and a snack--not much but better than nothing. Front desk remembered us from last year so that was a nice personal touch.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 4th floor which was quiet. view wasn't much but we were pretty much only th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OahuBandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

OahuBandMom,
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed another stay with us! I love hearing of return guests, and especially when those guests take the time to review our Hotel! We will see you next time!
Thank you again for such a wonderful review!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My father, daughter, and I stayed at this hotel while down at the beach at the end of October 2013. It was really nice, private, comfortable, and the pool and hot tub were just what my daughter and I needed to help us relax. The customer service was good, and they served a nice bacon and eggs breakfast free of charge with our reservation. Anyone who really needs a relaxing vacation should stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the first floor are closest to the pool and hot tub area."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Lisa A,
Thank you so much for writing a review about our Hotel! We appreciate all of the great comments you posted about us. We are also so happy to hear that you had a chance to take advantage of our pool and hot tub while you were with us. All of us know how wonderful it is to stay at a hotel that you can relax at, and we are proud to read that you had that opportunity with us. Thank you again for the wonderful review!
See you next time!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I usually give 5 only to exceptional hotels, i.e. with robes, fresh cookies, gourmet coffee.
I would have given 4 to this one except for one flaw: the lighting.
its dim, at the best. No way to read in a comfortable place. The easy chair with ottoman in a corner is useless, no light anywhere near it. At the wrong place and angle for TV watching.
the floorlamp by the table is too dim, even when pulled as close to the table as possible.
The lights by the beds/nightstand only work if you hang by the edge of the bed. And its an uncomfortable position for reading. We figured that was a serious design flaw, and needs to be remedied. Not sure how....
all else, as expected. Super clean, good beds, nice shower, lots of plug ins for electronics, quiet, decent breakfast buffet , friendly front desk staff, price ok.
we stay overnight in Newport when we attend conferences, workshops etc. at the Marine Science Center. The location is excellent for that purpose.
But please: give us some light!!! ( there were no comment cards in the room, so this may be the first time the management hears about this). Sorry.

Room Tip: top floor. No noise from people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregonoma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

oregonoma4,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport. We have reviewed you concerns about the lighting challenges you had experienced, and we are working on a solution. All comments and suggestions are taken seriously, and we will do everything that we can to solve this issue as soon as possible. I would like to thank you for all the positive marks you gave our hotel as well. We take customer service and cleanliness very seriously and we are happy to see that it shows to our guests. We hope that you choose us are your lodging destination the next time you are in Newport.
Thank you!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,098 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,932 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366-9631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £80 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing