We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed here while attending a photography course on the Oregon coast. Lovely hotel, great staff - very clean, great shower, free strong wifi, nice big room, great breakfast, good value. Special mention to Katrina Curry & her front desk team - really made the stay perfect. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
rebshep,
I was so happy to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us during your business trip! All of the staff is delighted to read that you gave them special mention in this review. We hope that you will continue to choose our brand during your travels. See you next time you are in the area, and we will be sure to WOW you again.
Thank you so much!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    179
    38
    7
    5
See reviews for
165
161
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel is located right near the aquarium in Newport. It had a nice Northwest feel to it. However the hotel was a few blocks away from the Ocean on the other side of Hwy 101. It was away from the main highway so it made for a nice quiet nights sleep. They had an indoor pool also. Nice free internet access was availabe in the lobby. The hotel was a little higher than other hotels in the area, but I would say the price was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffbl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
jeffbl88,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor! We really appreciate all of the wonderful thing you have written about our property, and the great description about our location. The entire staff is so proud to read this wonderful review.
We hope to see you soon!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed end of January 2014. The rooms were extremely clean and had all the amenities you would expect. We chose the King Suite. The beds were comfortable, bathrooms were exceptionally spotless. We enjoyed using the boardgames offered at the front desk. Our room had a couch which made it the "hang out room" for our group. We had a wonderful time! Bonus that it's such a quick and easy walk to Rogue! We did not use the swimming pool. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of options! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Kylie F,
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this today. We love to read what our guests are saying about us on the web, especially when contain comments as amazing as this review does. We would love to have you again in the future, and we will be sure to keep our board games on hand!
Have a wonderful day!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

One of the nicer Holiday Inn Express hotels. We were upgraded to a suite and enjoyed the extra amenities and space. Rooms well appointed, clean and quiet. Breakfast area clean and well-stocked. We stayed here in August 2012 and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Elphaba,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon. We are all very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay not once, but TWICE! The best compliment any Hotel can get is a return guest, and you have shown that we are worthy of this. We all hope to see you again on your next trip to Newport!
Have a wonderful day!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stay at HI Express properties pretty regularly and though I get a little tired of their blandness one can't fault the consistency of their quality. I like the brand anyway but this one was one of the nicest I've stayed at. The lobby is particulalry nice and a little grander than the average HI Express, the guy that checked us in was super friendly and very helfpul about directions and information about Newport.

This looks to be a very nice facility and the rooms were very comforatable with two queen beds, mini fridge and a microwave. The bathroom had laminate flooring instead of tiles which I really liked. My kids loved using the indoor pool and breakfast was standard but decent (biscuits and gravy, hardboiled eggs, HI Express's signature cinammon buns etc).

I liked the location of this hotel, being right off the 101 (not noisy though) close to the aquarium and just over the bridge from the Downtown area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackberryBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
BlackberryBoy,
Thank you so much for your review! We are very proud to have been called "one of the nicest" Holiday Inn Express Hotels you have stayed at. Our staff is constantly trying to find a way to go above and beyond the average HIE, and I am glad to read that we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again!
Have a great day.
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at this hotel which is close to the bay front shops and aquarium. The rates are good, rooms are large and clean and the staff is great. Being an IHG member we received 2 free bottles of water and a snack--not much but better than nothing. Front desk remembered us from last year so that was a nice personal touch.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 4th floor which was quiet. view wasn't much but we were pretty much only th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OahuBandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
OahuBandMom,
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed another stay with us! I love hearing of return guests, and especially when those guests take the time to review our Hotel! We will see you next time!
Thank you again for such a wonderful review!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My father, daughter, and I stayed at this hotel while down at the beach at the end of October 2013. It was really nice, private, comfortable, and the pool and hot tub were just what my daughter and I needed to help us relax. The customer service was good, and they served a nice bacon and eggs breakfast free of charge with our reservation. Anyone who really needs a relaxing vacation should stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the first floor are closest to the pool and hot tub area."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Lisa A,
Thank you so much for writing a review about our Hotel! We appreciate all of the great comments you posted about us. We are also so happy to hear that you had a chance to take advantage of our pool and hot tub while you were with us. All of us know how wonderful it is to stay at a hotel that you can relax at, and we are proud to read that you had that opportunity with us. Thank you again for the wonderful review!
See you next time!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,707 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366-9631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing