We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fire hazard supreme”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Newport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fire hazard supreme”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This place is scary. We had two rooms reserved for 6 people and 3 dogs. No access to electrical outlets which I need for a cpap machine. Moved mattress to find outlet. Lost power to clock and didn't even touch the plug. Lamps didn't work. Bathroom light went out and flickered for no reason. The other room lost power completely and had to move. The new rooms shower didn't work at all. In the hallway, the pull for the fire alarm had obviously seen fire damage as the wall was scorched and there was melted plastic. I would never stay there again...even on a bet.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broncogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    38
    27
    20
    25
See reviews for
45
46
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I am a travel writer and my husband and I found this Econo Lodge after we had a bad experience at a different hotel we'd reserved and had to leave in a hurry. We checked several other hotels and settled on this one because it had the best price, was pet friendly and centrally located to all the tourist attractions. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and efficient. When we first entered the room it had a very clean and pleasant smell, but it wasn't perfumed like some hotel/motel rooms. Even though we were there when a large storm system was blowing through the room was very quiet and comfortable. The room we were given (#317) had an excellent ocean view. The bed linens were clean and the mattress was firm, but comfortable. We had our puppy with us and they had a dog walk area complete with doggy bags and trash bin for our convenience. Although we did not take advantage of it they have a continental breakfast every morning and we were told they have fresh waffles and syrup. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: choose a room on the second floor facing west for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
259 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I don't have big expectations for Econolodges. They are cheap and when I won't be spending much time in the room, I don't worry about it. This motel was ok, nothing fancy at all. The continental breakfast did not have many selections. Bed was comfortable, room was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paladine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We found this place last minute that would accept dogs, not just the 2 pound kind that many places that adverse "pet friendly" will accept. The room was clean, though certainly not fancy, which is what we would expect at such a reasonable price. It was perfect for us as we came to the coast for a mini vacation on the beach with the dogs, not to spend our time in a hotel room. The staff was very accommodating, helpful, and friendly. There was a nice area provided for the dogs to take care of business with clean-up bags provided. I would recommend to anyone traveling with their four-legged friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank id_funnyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Tough review. I've stayed here a few times in recent years. It's never going to be above a 3 star property (and even for that, it's 3 stars for it's price range), but it can be a definite "one night on the way" stay. However, if you get one of the really bad rooms (hint, the ones in the back on the lower level facing the ocean are really bad, avoid like the plague), it's barely 2 stars.

The Good: Front desk is very friendly, price is very nice, and location is quite good. Parking is decent.

The Problems: Room quality varies from "you know, for the price, this is okay" to "OMG, get me the tent". It's not the cleanest, certainly NOT the most quiet, but some of the rooms are downright bad - this year I stayed in one where the curtains were see through and the bathroom was pretty sketchy.

I think if the property just went through a basic rehab I could give it 3 stars (for the price), but at this time I struggle to recommend it; you're FAR better off spending the (many more) dollars at the Comfort Inn literally a block away, which is a few classes better a property easily.

Room Tip: Simply put, I'd rather go to the dentist than stay in one of the lower level / ocean facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvlMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Medical Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

As soon as we stepped into the room there was a strong chemical smell mixed with a horrible air freshener smell. It was so bad we had to prop open the door and the window to get the chemicalish smell out of the room. Soon we noticed a strong odor under all the cover up sprays. Dog urine! It was so strong we left the hotel and walked around town until we were so tired we came back and went to bed. We even sprayed Lysol disinfectant as well as animal odor remover, and Febreeze candles. These didn't even touch the strong smell of dog pee. We slept with the window AND door propped open. We checked out right away in the morning because the smell made us literally sick it was so bad. We also now have flea bites all over our arms and legs thanks to our not so great pet room. (We didn't go to the beach so it's no possibly way it was sand fleas BTW). Mentioned to the gal at the front desk and I received about a $13 discount (less than we spent on trying to make it smell better). When we got home our bags that were on the floor REEK of dog pee!! So gross!!! I guess the moral of this story is if you want a place that smells tolerable enough to be comfortable in the room, and don't want your things to smell like dog urine even after you leave the hotel, then don't stay here. Wish we at least got an offer on a future stay at another Choice Hotel, or more of a refund than a measly $13ish bucks.
Signed,
P.O.ed Guest (literally)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mullihm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Like some one rlse said you get what you pay for. Woke up too bed bugs crawling on the bed and childern with bites on them. Searched room to look at how bad it was and found used panties between bed and wall! Went to front desk and they offered to refund 10%! Demanded refund and spent the rest of the afternoon sterilizing our clothes. awesome start to vacation

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soggykong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeNewport, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
I would like to apologized to you again that you had this experience at our hotel. I wish that you would have mentioned finding the undergarmets when you spoke to us at the front desk, though I have set up some new policies for my housekeepers so we can prevent both the problems you experienced in the future. We did issue you a refund and offer to launder your clothes, and I would like to know how we could have made your stay better. I am sure you will be pleased to know we have since had the room isolated and treated, and further inspection shows the rest of our rooms were not affected. To prevent the unfortunate circumstances of your trip we are instituting stronger prevention policies. If you would like to give us another try to give you the kind of stay you should have enjoyed, please contact me and I will set up a stay in our suite free of charge.

Dawn Cuevas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#7 of 24 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newport OR
Days Inn Newport OR
#14 of 24 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#17 of 24 in Newport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 606 SW Coast Hwy # 101, Newport, OR 97365-5024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT! Econo Lodge, a Newport hotel near Oregon Coast Aquarium Stay wwithin walking distance of the Oregon coast at the pet-friendly Econo Lodge(R) hotel in Newport, OR, located near the Yaquina Bay Lighthouse and Bayfront District shops. Situated near Highway 101, we offer quick, convenient access to a number of attractions, including: Mariner Square The Wax Works museum Oregon Undersea Gardens Ripley's Believe it or Not! Oregon Coast Aquarium The Chinook Winds Casino and Factory Outlet Mall are a 30-minute drive from the property. A diverse selection of eateries surrounds the premises, including Apple Peddler, Gee's Family, Pip Tide and Moby Dick's. Hotel features and amenities include: Free high-speed Internet access Free continental breakfast Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms come equipped with a coffee maker, cable television, microwave, refrigerator, desk and wake-up service. Select rooms contain ocean views. Non-smoking rooms are offered. This Econo Lodge hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Premier location, plentiful amenities and warm hospitality make the Econo Lodge hotel an ideal choice for travelers in the Newport, OR area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newport, Oregon
Newport Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing