We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent stay”
Review of Newport Bay Motel

Newport Bay Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newport Bay Motel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Gresham, Oregon
1 review
“recent stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I recently stayed here and yes it is an older hotel but was also comfortable. they are doing a lot of work to fix it up. I read the other reviews and have to say that there are no bugs in the rooms, maybe you picked up sand fleas off the beach..I have in the recent past stayed in 2 different rooms. this is very affordable and the Managers were very nice and accomidating the entire week I stayed there this month

Room Tip: If you want a good internet connection make sure you stay in a room close to the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniebear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    8
    6
    14
See reviews for
10
12
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This motel is under new management. There's been extensive remodeling and fixing up of the rooms. It's an older motel and needed some updating, and they've done that. The new management is as nice as could be, very professional, helpful, and kind, and they make every effort to address your needs immediately. I'm pleased .. very pleased.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are available .. great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The place is older and need A LOT of updates/TLC. The female mgr at the front desk is extremely rude and disrespectful. Whomever owns this needs to fire her! If she owns it, well par for the course cause its a nasty mess. Getting towels was like asking for her 1st born child. If we came for coffee, she made snyde remarks about needing to charge us. Will NEVER stay here again. Do not ruin your vacation by staying here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jleep_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Sedona, Az
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed here for a week a few years ago, and could not wait to leave after the first night. It has sliding garage doors which were 10 bucks extra a nite, but didn't need it. Those doors are so loud it's ridiculous when the next door tenant opens and closes it. It's very old, and should either be demolished, or refurbished. The rooms are quite small, and everything has an "eeewwww" factor about it. There is nothing good about this place including the mgmt, and the prices they charge to stay, This is one to avoid in Newport, along with the Summerwind, a few blocks north. These are the two worst motels from the Norcal border to Astoria.

Room Tip: There isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealWindrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillersMotel, Manager at Newport Bay Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Guest states that he stayed here a few years ago, but sigificant changes have been made to upgrade the property including management staff. We would like to extend an invitation to the guest and see how much we have improved the place. we DO welcome any suggestions to improve our guests comfort and satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myrtle creek, OR
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Nice quiet motel with easy access and ocean views. I've satyed here many times over the past 6 years.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

If you prefer showering in mildew covered tiles this is the place for you. Also the toilet sometimes flushes sometimes not but there is a convenient plunger there for you.The sloppy appearance of the rude lady manager there should have been a clue as to the appearance of the room. Nothing as these pictures they are advertising. Perhaps these pictures were taken some years ago. The rudest service I have experienced in my 30 years of staying at hotels. On the first day no cleaning was done . I asked for towels they said the maid knocked and we did not answer and they cant come in unless we answer the door. Really??? I guess we need to make sure and make an appointment with the maid? Let her know we were not there she actually sat there arguing with us telling us yest we were and we just done answer maybe we were busy. the second day she said our sign most have been up?? Really they have 1 sign and both sides say do not disturb..we did not use it. Why bother when they cant enter the room if we dont answer when they knock. She finally said I guess I have to clean it myself. Oh my. She came in with sheets, towers and a spray bottle. She sprayed about 3 times on the mildewed shower. that was the cleaning. No vacuum entered the room. Keep in mind this place is pet friendly so yes expect dog hair in the carpets as we all know some of our pets do shed and we need to vacum daily. A couple new bites upon my legs--OMG the sheets? don't know-I wonder if the owner of this place is aware of how their management treats the patrons. most likely can care less as they have let the rooms run down..Thank god I had good company with me and on vacation so in good spirits and too much of a hassle to move else where after all these or else we would have hightailed out of there..Terrible..terrible...place..the customer service...the worst ever..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoodrat002001, Manager at Newport Bay Motel, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Guest requested a "do not disturb " sign which was hung on the door each time housekeeper went to clean the room. house keeper states the she was told by the guest themselves that they did not want service. after guest left, room was thouroughly inspected after housekeeper left and showers were in clean and sanitary condition with no sign of either mold or mildew present.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2011

It is old motel, clean and quiet. Managers on site, Karen and Lee are very kind, accommodating, and very attentive.
Housekeepers made sure I have everything I need every single day. And the price is right.They are always happy to go one extra mile to make sure their guests are comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BijAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#19 of 24 in Newport
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 Newport
Motel 6 Newport
#17 of 24 in Newport
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#14 of 24 in Newport
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Knights Inn Newport
Knights Inn Newport
#21 of 24 in Newport
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Bay Motel

Property: Newport Bay Motel
Address: 754 SW Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-5018
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Bay Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy everything the Oregon Coast has to offer during your stay at Newport Bay Motel. Our amenities include Free High Speed Internet, Cable TV, Microwaves, Refrigerators, Coffee Makers, and more! Newport Bay Motel is a pet friendly motel in designated rooms. Newport Bay Motel is located at the South end of Newport with close accesses to the beach, shopping, fine dining, golf courses, the Oregon Coast Aquarium, Historic Bay Front, Ripley's Believe it or Not, Undersea Gardens, Rogue Brewery, and many more scenic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Bay Motel Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing