We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property on Nye Beach”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Esterhazy, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Property on Nye Beach”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at Inn at Nye Beach for two nights in May. Great views from deck; we stayed in #36 on the northwest corner and the only problem was the balcony was very small compared to other rooms, so there was very minimal space for deck chairs. We actually didn't have chairs on the deck, although the room below us did. The room(s) were huge, very modern and clean. The fireplace was nice - we had to keep resetting every 30 minutes, I guess keeping with their green policy. The Inn was a short distance from some nice restaurants, just down the hill to the south - Cafe Stephanie, Nana's, Cafe Mundo, and April's, we tried them all! There was a nice continental breakfast in the reception area in the am, and some nice outdoor seating to have coffee, etc. I appreciated the balconies on the east side of the building for morning coffee, and to get out of the wind. I also liked that we could buy wine, etc at the reception area for a reasonable price. I thought this was the nicest area of Newport to stay, and the best hotel of that area.

Green Features: Probably best environmentally friendly practices of places we have stayed
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    224
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
228
457
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The location was very good and the room was spacious, clean, and well appointed. We especially appreciated the patio and ocean views. All of the staff was friendly, helpful, and pleasant to deal with. The scones and the french press coffee that were provided were a treat. I would highly recommend The Inn at Nye Beach and hope to return someday.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have stayed at almost all of the decent hotels on the coast from Newport - Astoria. This hotel was great, with a few minor issues. The hotel has a great sustainability policy. The room (1 bedroom king suite) was great, plenty of space for a family of five. The kitchen was fine, we never cook in a room anyway. The coffee was great, we are total coffee snobs and so having even decent coffee on the coast is a bonus, but french press Portland Roasting coffee is great!! The hotel looks nice, furnishings are comfortable.

We never eat an included breakfast so that's not a big deal for us. There was a good wine selection, and good snacks available. We also got the s'mores package which was great!! We didn't need to get or find anything, it was all waiting in the room for us.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

The hotel has a great location, right by the beach just a short walk down some stairs. If you have a hard time with stairs, it might be hard!

The parking is really tight and the garage was almost impossible to get in and out of.

The only thing we didn't like was the cleaning. After our first night, the cleaning person vacuumed and that's about it. The bed wasn't made, the snacks in the room weren't restocked, no new towels, and nothing really seemed different except that it had obviously been vacuumed.

After the second night we left out the "please clean" door tag and it seemed a little cleaner, towels were restocked but still no restocking of the snacks! Sure, they are all downstairs in the lobby but we would have loved to have the snack bar restocked each day.

A pool or hot tub would have made this place absolutely perfect :) Overall it was great, clean comfortable and a fantastic location.

Green Features: Awesome! Most obviously sustainable/environmentally-friendly hotel I've been in.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 784cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your very informative feedback regarding the parking and housekeeping service. While I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, I'm concerned with the housekeeping service you had received during your stay. As our standards of cleanliness are extremely high, whenever a guest's room is not serviced by our staff to those standards, we have to look into the most effective ways to improve going forward. I have spoken to the housekeepers who were involved and assure you that we will do everything in our power to ensure this is corrected going forward. We certainly hope to see you again in the future and it is our promise to you that the issues will not occur again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangevale, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for five days in a one-bedroom King suite, and enjoyed every minute. We had a corner unit on the 3rd floor, with a great view of the ocean. Small, but adequate kitchenette with cups, silverware and plates for two people, + refrigerator and microwave Coffee press and fresh-ground coffee. Two closets, fireplace and two TVs. This is truly as advertised: a lovely boutique hotel in Nye Beach within walking distance to the beach and eateries. There is no on-site restaurant, but its a short walk to Cafe Stephanie OR they do deliver food if you want to stay in. We would definitely go back if visiting the Oregon Coast again.

Room Tip: Spring for the suites...its worth it
See more room tips
Green Features: They are a green hotel, and provide accordingly: recycle bin, no changing of sheets and towels unless requested, etc.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grampam916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It's so wonderful to hear how every minute of your stay with us was enjoyable. It was definitely a pleasure to have you stay with us for 5 days during your trip to the Oregon Coast. If you find yourself venturing our way again, we surely would welcome you back with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

How could we have possibly known when we booked #34 that it would be such a find? The room was very large with an important bathroom and shower. The view was magnificent. To look way down to the wide sandy beach and see the whole of the Pacific Ocean in front of us was magnificent. The lack of an included breakfast bothered us not all and the very low room rent just under $100 AAA rate was merely the icing on the cake. My booking, check-in, and check-out processes, done with three different people, were all very positive transactions.

Room Tip: A high up room facing the beach was perfect for us.
See more room tips
Green Features: We applaud their efforts. Every little bit counts.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights earlier this week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Following the suggestions of others on Trip Advisor, we booked a third floor ocean view room and were not disappointed. The room was extra large with windows on two sides and comfortably furnished. Every conceivable amenity was found to include binoculars to further enjoy the spectacular view. Bed was very comfortable.The rooms are thoroughly cleaned and not a speck of dust was found on any surface. A pleasant subtle odor was noticed throughout the hotel. The hotel staff was very pleasant to deal with. We will be coming back for sure. This hotel is very popular so advance booking is recommended. I was told that some people reserve their stays a year in advance to assure a choice room. During much of the year an opportunity exits to take advantage of a special rate of 3 nights for the price of 2 when booking directly with the hotel as we did.

Room Tip: Third floor ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John16752024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
John, we are beyond thrilled that your stay with us resulted in such a lasting impression on you. Thank you so much for the wonderful review and the detailing of what our rooms have to offer. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Had a woderful stay here. The room was very spacious. Beautiful ocean view, even saw whales from our balcony. Right above the beach with easy access and right in town to walk to cafés and restaurants.
The staff was very nice and helpful. The warm cookies in the afternoon were a special bonus treat. We've stayed at other places near Nye Beach but this so far has been the best and we will return on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wgh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,027 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,752 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Property: Inn at Nye Beach
Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing