We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wax Works

The Wax Works
Ranked #16 of 47 things to do in Newport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“so so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The wax figures are really poorly done and you can't interact with any of them expect the jhonny depp one. Its smaller and doesn't take long to go through

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank montanagirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    49
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a blast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Had so much fun here! My favorite! Lots of life like things to see, it's amazing to think these things are made of wax! Fun for the whole family!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollywoodgirl2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ok, Wax Works could be better?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have toured the Waax Works here in Newport, Oregon several times: 1 Wax Works tour on the pier walk area SF, California and Wax Works in Atlanta, GA. ; I really like the one in SF and Atlanta much better for the following reasons:
Newport is "older" by some years and has become a bit dingy, small compared to SF & Atlanta, does offer "combo pricing package" but you need to seek it out or go to the Newort Chamber on Hwy 101. Otherwise you will pay almost double without the combo package offer.
I think all 3, Wax works, under Sea Garden and Ripleys are entertaining and interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JER Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loads of Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My teenage daughters and I had a lot of fun at the Wax Works. Lots of interesting information. Had my picture taken along side Johnny Depp. After words my youngest daughter had a wax mold done of her hand outside the gift shop. It was a good time :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No thanks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I'm no wax expert, but this museum stinks. It's dark, outdated and confusing.

At certain points it feels like a wax museum, which is good, but at others it feels like a haunted house. And then, suddenly, it's an arcade. What's going on here? This place makes no sense.

I wouldn't care too much except that it cost me twelve hard earned dollars to suffer through it. It is way overpriced.

Fun fact: The gift shop, which you inevitably walk through at the end, is bigger than the entire museum. If you have any doubts, walk through the shop first to reconfirm your doubts.

The museum includes one highlight: A wax figure is D.B. Cooper. It's totally random but very interesting on a few levels.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wax Works also viewed

 

Been to The Wax Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing