We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Working Harbor, lots to see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport's Historic Bayfront

Newport's Historic Bayfront
Ranked #5 of 47 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Working Harbor, lots to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hidden gem down off the highway, lots of history to see in this working harbor that also accommodates tourists' needs and interests

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    395
    107
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minden, NV
Level Contributor
184 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lot's of old stores with a variety of maritime stuff - ok for an afternoon walk and a variety of seafood resturants. Make sure to walk thru the park and view the bridge and waterfront.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beave8920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smells awful, but worth a short stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second time to the Historic Bayfront. One of the best parts of our first visit we were able to watch over 15 sea lions play on the docks. The smell permeating from an adjacent building was overpowering and nauseating. We couldn't stay long. This second trip we still experienced the awful smell, but no sea lions. It was disappointing. I couldn't imagine trying to eat in any of the restaurants around this area. The shops are overpriced, but I imagine having a storefront on the bay is expensive rent.

Helpful?
Thank Caren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent waterfront town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Bayfront in Newport is a must do if you are in town. Wide sidewalks that accommodate groups of people. There are benches for resting and many stores have bowls of water outside for your four legged family members. Many excellent shops and restaurants. You can take a rest and watch the sea lions on the docks by the undersea gardens. Watching people fish and crab from the docks is a neat experience as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't go to Rae Rae Restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My Down syndrome son went to coast with his caregivers. He was excited about the attractions on the bay front and excited about the crab he was going to eat at Rae Rae's Restaurant. The weird woman working there was border line abuse to him. Banging dishes, swearing, at very verbally rude. After all of that she demanded a tip. She scared my son and now that is the only thing he remembers is "the mean lady".

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Pwilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newport's Historic Bayfront also viewed

 

Been to Newport's Historic Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing