We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel is right off the main highway and only a two minute walk from Agate Beach. The room was large and clean, the restaurant seemed a little old and outdated, although the food was very good. Will probably stay here again just to visit the beach!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TikiDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, You mentioned that our restaurant seemed out dated. We have just put 7 all new Flat Screen TVs in our lounge this last weeks so that it is updated. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,347)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Agate Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,256 - 1,262 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

While this is an older property and our pet room faced the highway--which we knew before arrival--the hotel was extremely pet friendly, allowing dogs of any weight, and the staff was more than friendly and helpful. We had a spacious room with two beds and it was very clean and quiet. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJK1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will come back to see us again. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

There are many choices of hotels along the Oregon coast, with lots of options in Newport. We have stayed at the Agate Beach Inn several times, and can highly recommend the facility.

Positives: Great location. As many previous reviewers have noted, be sure to request an ocean-view room, on the back side of the building - and the higher the better. The evening sunsets over the beach, with the Yaquina Head lighthouse in the background are unforgettable. The front side faces US 101, and can be noisy. The hotel is very popular for conventions, workshops, etc., so book early for the ocean-view rooms. Great welcoming staff, and a minor problem was very quickly resolved half-way through our three-day stay. Our room had a flat screen HDTV set; the WiFi was very fast at all times. The rooms are not large, but we spent very little time in them!

There's lots to do in the area: don't miss the Hatfield Marine Science Center and the Oregon Coast Aquarium, a short drive away. This year, we spent a full day at the Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area, with a lighthouse to visit and several trails to walk - again, a short drive away. There's a good restaurant on site, with some great seafood restaurants along the "Old Town" waterfront.

Negatives: Although the facility is close to the beach, it is a steep walk to and from. There is a parking lot at the bottom of the hill, but beach access was still problematic for some. Some rooms are dog-friendly, so if you have allergy concerns, you might want to check whether the room assigned to you has been so designated. There are balconies attached to all rooms, but they are far too small to be used for sitting out.

In all, a very good location.. we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stamperbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have stayed at several Best Westerns. This one is by far one of the very best. The rooms are large and comfortable.
Everything you need is there.
Hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank USNBMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to let us know! We look forward to your return. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

If I had paid the rack rate for this room I would have been very unhappy. Even the extremely good rate from Groupon, I wouldn't go there again, and it was almost free. The room was very small with a low ceiling, it felt very much like a box. The furniture was old and looked plastic. The view was great but the windows were so filmed that you had to open the door to see out. The microwave is probably one of the first ever made. The bathroom door almost hit the toilet and when you switch the water from tub to shower, it came out lukewarm at most. The food took forever to appear, we waited 45 minutes for a rueben sandwich. The access to the beach is down the hill, across the street and over a water hazard. Not coming back here again with so many other nicer places to stay for much less.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

I do appreciate your review and I am very sorry that your experience with us was not good! Unfortunatly some of our rooms do seem small while other seem bigger. I just want to apologize for your dissapointing stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I had previously stayed at this Best Western with my family a few times and always enjoyed our stay. As I have before I booked this room online and we really looked forward to our stay.

We had reservations for 3 nights and pre-paid $572. Upon arrival we were given a room with a parking lot view and told that it was a ocean view. The room was also small and looked nothing like rooms we'd had previously or that were shown online. The final straw was that it was at the end of the hall right next to the door to the humid, heated pool.

The front desk wasn't that concerned when I voiced my concerns and didn't seem to care when I returned to the desk and told them I was moving to another hotel. The real test will be how hard it is to get my money back.

In my opinion the Hallmark is far superior at a better price for a family and the Elizabeth Street in is much, much better for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank WorkmanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

I am very sorry that your room was not what was expected. You mentioned you had stayed with us before and that you had a good experience, I do hope that you asked to be moved and if that wasn't an option because we were full I do apologize. I hope that you were able to get your money refunded and if not please let me know and I will help in way I can. I do hope that you will come back and give us another try. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Needed a hotel for the night, booked thru AMX. The King Suite is no larger than a regular room, smaller than the similar option at HIE. The delineation 'wuite' is deceptive. No sofa or even comfortable chairs. Small cushioned chairs ... no place to put your feet up. The 'balcony' is a standing review stand, no room for a chair ... don't expect a cup of coffee and a sunset view, or a quiet balcony moment in the AM. 'Balcony' as 'suite' is deceptive sales language. Older TV - no flat screen. Clean but dated rooms. The view and beach location is the only redeemptive feature, however, be careful. Some rooms align with a 90 degree wall and offer a limited sight view. Overpriced. Not again ...

Room Tip: Be careful ... they impose a 48 hour ... 2 day cancellation rate. When you arrive, you are stuck wit...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

I am very sorry to hear about your experience with your stay. Our verbage does say that our balconies are step out, I do apologize for your dissapointment. Even though we have a cancellation policy, We would certainly never hold your money if you decided not to stay! We should be getting our new flat screen TVs sometime this winter which we are excited about. Again I just want to apologize for your dissapointment! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,055 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,854 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £93 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing