We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$155
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whaler(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agate Beach Motel(Newport)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,458)
Filter reviews
1,458 results
Traveller rating
552
538
235
97
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
538
235
97
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarfish grillocean viewbest westernsoregon coasthotel restaurantparking lotsand dunesgreat viewshort walk to the beachsmall balconyrooms are niceyaquina lighthousewould stay here againpool and hot tubsliding doorgreat place to stayeasy access
Filter
Updating list...
1,361 - 1,366 of 1,458 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Best Western Plus Agate Beach Inn. Our room was on the 6th floor with a wonderful view of the ocean and sunsets. The hotel is dog friendly and had a little treat bag for our pup. From the first floor it's about 100 yards to the beach access. We ordered breakfast from the restaurant. Fantastic food, I had the Eggs, Potatoes and Razor Clams and my wife had the Bagel and Salmon. Our stay was very enjoyable and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Ocean front high floor for the best views of the beach and sunsets. Upper parking lot has access directly to the 6th floor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdseil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Plus Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, The picture you took is beautiful, I actually remember that day the sky was like that. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed recently on the Oregon Coast for a work meeting. Typically most best westerns are nice and up to date. This one was not. The staff was friendly but the room was less to be desired.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duckdog98604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Plus Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

I am very sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with our property, Yes we do need to make some upgrades and are currently working on some things. I do hope you come back when we have done this. I appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel is right off the main highway and only a two minute walk from Agate Beach. The room was large and clean, the restaurant seemed a little old and outdated, although the food was very good. Will probably stay here again just to visit the beach!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TikiDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Plus Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, You mentioned that our restaurant seemed out dated. We have just put 7 all new Flat Screen TVs in our lounge this last weeks so that it is updated. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

While this is an older property and our pet room faced the highway--which we knew before arrival--the hotel was extremely pet friendly, allowing dogs of any weight, and the staff was more than friendly and helpful. We had a spacious room with two beds and it was very clean and quiet. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJK1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Plus Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will come back to see us again. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

There are many choices of hotels along the Oregon coast, with lots of options in Newport. We have stayed at the Agate Beach Inn several times, and can highly recommend the facility.

Positives: Great location. As many previous reviewers have noted, be sure to request an ocean-view room, on the back side of the building - and the higher the better. The evening sunsets over the beach, with the Yaquina Head lighthouse in the background are unforgettable. The front side faces US 101, and can be noisy. The hotel is very popular for conventions, workshops, etc., so book early for the ocean-view rooms. Great welcoming staff, and a minor problem was very quickly resolved half-way through our three-day stay. Our room had a flat screen HDTV set; the WiFi was very fast at all times. The rooms are not large, but we spent very little time in them!

There's lots to do in the area: don't miss the Hatfield Marine Science Center and the Oregon Coast Aquarium, a short drive away. This year, we spent a full day at the Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area, with a lighthouse to visit and several trails to walk - again, a short drive away. There's a good restaurant on site, with some great seafood restaurants along the "Old Town" waterfront.

Negatives: Although the facility is close to the beach, it is a steep walk to and from. There is a parking lot at the bottom of the hill, but beach access was still problematic for some. Some rooms are dog-friendly, so if you have allergy concerns, you might want to check whether the room assigned to you has been so designated. There are balconies attached to all rooms, but they are far too small to be used for sitting out.

In all, a very good location.. we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stamperbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Plus Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews