We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oregon Coast at its Best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great accommodations, great ocean views of beach & Yaquina Head Lighthouse, easy access to the beach, sports bar, dining room, swimming pool, hot tub, exercise room, all top of the line.
Comfortable king bed in oversize room which allows for priviate dining. Can't miss on this property, you'll love it. We hit it perfect, with 64 degrees, sunny and clear, no wind. Awesome sunsets to die for.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the ocean view single king with wet bar,refrigerator & microwave on 2nd floor...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kentandrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

We are very happy to hear that you had such a great time and stay with us, I am very fortunate to have this view everyday! Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Agate Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Older but lovely spot with beautiful view of the ocean. Watching the lighthouse was a treat for our grandson. Quiet, well appointed room was comfortable for the three of us. The dinning room was a pleasure with great staff and well prepared food.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay on the ocean side where he views are endlessly changing.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freeddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, We do have a great view! We are very happy you had a pleasant time in our dining rooms, We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We enjoyed what little time we were in our room with spectacular views of the sandy beaches being washed over by some of the biggest waves we have seen along the coast. This time of year, the last of winter, is really fun for dramatic coastal winds, waves, and views. The 4th, 5th, or 6th floors offer the best of Yaquina Head light and the cove that it protects. The beach is easy access for family and friends for a long walk on a very level beach with lots of flotsam to look at and plow through or just for some quiet time. Not a good rock beach despite the name "Agate Beach", but never the less a fun walk along the water's edge.

Room Tip: Top floor, ocean view rooms offer the best of comfort and visual exploring.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bw13802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed The view and the beautiful ocean, I never get tired of the view! You are right the upper level rooms provide the most wonderful view and the light house is seen as well, Thank you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here in february 2012. I reserved two rooms. It was very clean. The service was only ok. I felt that they were not very helpful.However, the staff in the restraunt were so very friendly. The bathrooms are also very small. The hot tub is not very hot.It seemed to be just a little warmer then the pool. We waited for twenty minutes for the elevator on check out day. The view is amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for your review, I was very sorry to hear that you didn't feel our staff was helpful! This is unacceptable to me and glad that I will have the chance to work on things with my staff as our guest are very important to us! I do hope that you reported the problem of the hot tub temperature to our desk so that we could take a look to see if there was a problem. I also hope that you will come visit us again. Judy Kuhl GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, The staff was great and very helpful. My family loved the pool and hot tub the most the water temp was perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raeanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you so much for your great comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My family and I first stayed here in Thanksgiving of 2010 and were absolutely blown away! The Thanksgiving buffet is amazing! The pool facility is great! The beds are comfy and the rooms are very nice. The view is positively incredible! Even though you do have to cross the street, it is a very short walk to Agate Beach.
The service is excellent. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. One time when my family was staying here, there were some boys at the pool who were throwing a BOOGIE BOARD into the water and then jumping on it. It was very rude and when my mother went down to complain (the rest of the family was already in the water), an employee came down promptly and asked them to leave, no questions asked. Very impressive!
The restaurant is a little pricy, but most hotel restaurants are, and there are many great places to eat in Newport.
We have probably stayed in this hotel 4 times since that first Thanksgiving and refuse to stay anywhere else when we visit Newport. We all agree that one of the most exciting parts about our visits to Newport is getting to stay in what is probably just about our favorite hotel anywhere! We highly, highly, HIGHLY recommend staying here when you visit Newport!

(Note: The time we stayed, indicated below, is our most recent stay.)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceana_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel! We are so happy that you like our hotel and is a tradition to your family. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed in Newport for a night, and found this hotel because their pool looked incredible, which it was. It was the biggest, and warmest pool we have been in on the Oregon Coast. The rooms however were a bit outdated, and needed a makeover. The toilet kept not flushing, and the heater kept making loud noises when it was set a certain way. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hallways were a bit dark, cold, and felt dingy. The view was spectacular from the the pool, the hallways, and restaurant. Which by the way is ok, if you are hungry and want to eat that restaurant on the ground floor will do. We would be back but only because the pool, and the prices were decent.

Room Tip: Get a ocean view room only if the weather is nice, and you are going to be in your room quite a bit...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisaungie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed our swimming pool we get great comments on it! We are still in the process stage of doing some upgrading to our rooms. We are hoping that some of the things will be done by the end of the year. I do hope that you reported the problems that you had to our front desk. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,056 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,859 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £93 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing