We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older decent hotel, small amenities flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Older decent hotel, small amenities flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Dissapointed that all the channels were fuzzy and no HBO. Also lacking in a good place to take dogs outside, though its listed as pet OK. Rooms and hotel pretty dated with small bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were dissapointed with the TV, Did you let our staff know so that we could have fixed the problem or moved you? Yes we are a older hotel but strive to maintain and keep clean, We are hoping to do some upgrades soon! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    426
    185
    73
    26
See reviews for
421
473
43
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, IA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Older hotel that needs updating, but great place to stay. Wonderful views, clean rooms, restaurant was nice. Waitstaff efficient, friendly and helpful. Only had breakfast, but it was ok.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cejones4210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review, We are hoping to some things to upgrade in the near future, However we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass on the nice comments to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great accommodations, great ocean views of beach & Yaquina Head Lighthouse, easy access to the beach, sports bar, dining room, swimming pool, hot tub, exercise room, all top of the line.
Comfortable king bed in oversize room which allows for priviate dining. Can't miss on this property, you'll love it. We hit it perfect, with 64 degrees, sunny and clear, no wind. Awesome sunsets to die for.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the ocean view single king with wet bar,refrigerator & microwave on 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kentandrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We are very happy to hear that you had such a great time and stay with us, I am very fortunate to have this view everyday! Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Older but lovely spot with beautiful view of the ocean. Watching the lighthouse was a treat for our grandson. Quiet, well appointed room was comfortable for the three of us. The dinning room was a pleasure with great staff and well prepared food.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay on the ocean side where he views are endlessly changing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, We do have a great view! We are very happy you had a pleasant time in our dining rooms, We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA Area
Level Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We enjoyed what little time we were in our room with spectacular views of the sandy beaches being washed over by some of the biggest waves we have seen along the coast. This time of year, the last of winter, is really fun for dramatic coastal winds, waves, and views. The 4th, 5th, or 6th floors offer the best of Yaquina Head light and the cove that it protects. The beach is easy access for family and friends for a long walk on a very level beach with lots of flotsam to look at and plow through or just for some quiet time. Not a good rock beach despite the name "Agate Beach", but never the less a fun walk along the water's edge.

Room Tip: Top floor, ocean view rooms offer the best of comfort and visual exploring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bw13802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed The view and the beautiful ocean, I never get tired of the view! You are right the upper level rooms provide the most wonderful view and the light house is seen as well, Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here in february 2012. I reserved two rooms. It was very clean. The service was only ok. I felt that they were not very helpful.However, the staff in the restraunt were so very friendly. The bathrooms are also very small. The hot tub is not very hot.It seemed to be just a little warmer then the pool. We waited for twenty minutes for the elevator on check out day. The view is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your review, I was very sorry to hear that you didn't feel our staff was helpful! This is unacceptable to me and glad that I will have the chance to work on things with my staff as our guest are very important to us! I do hope that you reported the problem of the hot tub temperature to our desk so that we could take a look to see if there was a problem. I also hope that you will come visit us again. Judy Kuhl GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, The staff was great and very helpful. My family loved the pool and hot tub the most the water temp was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raeanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you so much for your great comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Property: Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Address: 3019 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing