We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to celebrate our anniversary.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Albany, OR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to celebrate our anniversary.”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed Mother's Day weekend. The front desk staff was friendly from booking to checkout. The bar staff you had to go looking for them most of the time to place an order but they were professional when approached (not overly friendly) which was just fine with us. We had a fantastic view from our ocean front room, a great dinner while watching the sunset, a short walk to the beach, and the kids in the pool were easily evicted after 10pm after a quick phone call. The pool and hot tub after a long day of exploring was relaxing and we thought it was kept up place.

We will definitely stay again and bring the family!

Room Tip: Don't skimp, get the Ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us! I am so glad that you had a great anniversary, I appreciate you letting me about the bartendar so I can follow up on this. They have a long way to go to get food so not sure if that was the problelm or not I do apologize. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    443
    189
    78
    27
See reviews for
440
490
44
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I was very impressed by this property. It is an older well kept property with updates in process. I was there for a large family gathering with my 3 brothers and their families. We had 4 rooms and the Hospitality room. Three of us on the 6th floor and one family on the 2nd in an ADA room. I was on one end of the adjoining hospitality suite and another family member in the other adjoining room. We had a great time. The hotel more then sufficiently worked for all of us. There were 14 of us in the entire party. The adults and kids loved the pool and spa, the short walk to the beach, the gorgeous view from the rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. One of my brothers brought his dog. Pet friendly!!! The Starfish Grill (in hotel) was great for any meal. There was complimentary coffee and tea served all day in the lobby. I felt the price of the oceanview rooms was very acceptable. We were all happy with our stay at this hotel and would go back again and again..

Room Tip: I had room 612 and found the view incredible. Close to upper parking and the elevator yet far enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosebolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Sounds like your family had a great time! We welcome large families to come and stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments about our hotel. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I read reviews saying this place was outdated. My only complaint was the bathroom was very small, and the heater was something out of the 60's. I was surprised to learn that a room with an ocean view was more money. We originally booked the room online for $104 (not incl. tax), but when I arrived and asked for a room with an ocean view, the front-desk rep said it would cost $131. Oh well. It was worth it. Beautiful view from our 5th floor room. The hotel is very nice, and if I remember right, it used be be a Hilton Hotel. Spacious room and free internet made our stay even more enjoyable. Room is equipped with microwave; refrigerator, and coffee maker. The beach is within walking distance, and you're within a short distance from town and the movie theater. We had a good time and would stay here again. We took pictures of our room #516. Hope this helped.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view. You pay more, but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank UScardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and the pictures are nice as well, We are glad that you had a nice time staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquille, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Staff was efficient and friendly. Very pet friendly. The sixth floor offerred easy access for dog walking across the bridge to the upper parking lot. The ocean view, including the lighthouse in the distance was absolutely gorgeous.

If I really had to search for something negative, I'd say that the placement for the bathroom door is a wee bit weird. The bathroom isn't huge and the door opens into the bathroom, so you have to maneuver around it to do anything - even just to close it. But overall that was a very minor inconvenience.

Who had time to watch TV with that spectacular view from the window.

The in house restaurant was excellent, but I plan to do a separate review of it.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view on the top floor for best views and easy dog-walk access. I know that's co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, The view is very pretty here and I am very fortunate to see it everyday! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutherlin, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel looked nice and modernized from the outside, staff was super friendly, but i wasnt too happy when i had an extra charge for $50 and they failed to tell me it was a like a security "hold". The rooms, mostly the bathrooms need updating. Seriously, there is like 3 inches between the toliet and door. The lighting is horrible for us women getting ready...pretty low light. But the beds were so comfy! The comforter was something to be desired... It was just a thick blanket wrapped in white sheets. Don't get me wrong, it was a great room, great amenities, perfect temperature pool and hot tub ( which for whatever reason is difficult for hotels...the water is either scalding hot or freezing beyond use) . The view was wonderful!! You are right on the edge of Agate beach and a quick walk to the beach down a path. After pointing out goods and bads, I think we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were not told about the $50.00 security hold that when you check out goes toward the final charge of your stay or is released. We do have some plans to do some interior upgrading which I can't wait! Just not sure how soon this will happen. I do wish our bathrooms were larger being a women I know what you mean! I am very happy to hear that with the goods and the bads you would come back so we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Rooms ok, heat is so-so. no temp controlled - its on/off. bathroom design sub par....No room for knees in the W/C ...if u know what I mean.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattleaviationfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your review of our Hotel, I am very sorry about the problem with the bathroom, We do hope that you did enjoy your stay with us and will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Dissapointed that all the channels were fuzzy and no HBO. Also lacking in a good place to take dogs outside, though its listed as pet OK. Rooms and hotel pretty dated with small bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were dissapointed with the TV, Did you let our staff know so that we could have fixed the problem or moved you? Yes we are a older hotel but strive to maintain and keep clean, We are hoping to do some upgrades soon! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,707 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Property: Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing