We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Kilgore, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice view!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A one nighter on our way back to Portland from Crater Lake. Very nice location across the street from a very unusual beach. There were about 200 yards of small sand dunes in front of the surf and the wind was blowing the sand like a sand blaster. Even in July it was too cold to venture into the water. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and rooms were clean. We didn't want to get out, so we ate in the hotel restraint and were well pleased with the quality of food and service. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Surfside room! reserve early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fufys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hello Fufys,
I am so glad you found us! We have just recently changed our menu in the restaurant and I think we have done a good job with it! With the rooms new furnishings we have put in the rooms are so nice to sit and enjoy the view. When you are out this way again please come and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    443
    189
    78
    27
See reviews for
440
490
44
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

we travel with our dog and were concerned where our room would be. We had reserved oceanview king and that is what we had on the 6th floor. It was close to the cross over bridge to the parking lot and walking the dog. We knew they were undergoing some upgrading, however our room was one that had been completed. We especially liked they provided a dog sheet to put on top of the bed, even though we always travel with one. For those who complained about the balcony, the online pictures show you the size, it is for standing, drinking whatever and watching the waves. If you have traveled on the coast you will find few hotels with air conditioning, open the door and enjoy the breeze and listen to the waves. On the non-ocean side you overlook the driveway, it is shielded from the highway noise. We did not eat at the lounge or restaurant. Having a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot in the room is a must for us as we make 3-5 pots of coffee a day (5 cup pots).
if you are going over July 4 expect noise from firecrackers from the beach until late. Our dog was a bit freaked out which is why we did not take him to the waterfront to watch. He will stay home next Jul 4 when we take our Oregon Coast trip and spend a couple of days here.
Housekeeping was very helpful, especially when I left a blouse in the room and they returned by mail.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkayinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hello VKayinno,
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! The beach is a noisy place on 4th of July and not the best for pets, We try hard to make sure when our guests leave items in the rooms that we are able to get it back to them. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

This was one of only a few available hotel openings/options for a last minute overnight trip.

However, there are a few small areas of concern that ill talk about and it looks like they are doing some remodeling so that make solve all these issues.

Did not get to try any food at the in-house restaurants, but I heard they had a Breakfast offering, $5 for adults and $1 kids (7 and under)

I will list the Pros and Cons

PROS

*Practically right on the BEACH!
*Great Views
*The Pool and Hot Tub were AWESOME!
*The Staff was friendly and helpful
*Mini-fridge and Microwave
*Free Coffee and Fruit in the AM at the beverage bar.
*Small Arcade for kids
*Internet Access with free printing options
*Kids Suite with bunk beds

CONS

**NO AC in room (this was a HUGE disappointment as it was SO HOT in the room)
**The room we got was NOT spacious, nor did it look like room photos that have been advertised, It was cluttered with beat up furniture and there was no walking room in the bed/tv area.
**Furniture was very dated and worn.
**TV service/connection was very fuzzy, we could hardly get a channel to come in clear. Thankfully we brought the WII so we could stream Netflix
**Hillside/Forest View was actually parking lot
**The walls are paperthin, could hear every toss and turn of the neighbors and sleeping at night did not work out too well.

Since we were only here for The Beach, I wasn't too disappointed. Hopefully though, all the upgrades make this place go from good to GREAT!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank created4thecreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
created4thecreator,

I appreciate your review, Unfortunately you were not in one of our standard size rooms if you were in the kids suite I can see why you did not have that much room do to the bunk beds and separate area for the kids makes this room seem very small. The pictures on line are of our standard rooms. I appreciate you writing the pros and cons, We have been getting some new furnishings and we are changing our TV service to satellite but it still should not have been fuzzy, Did you call the desk to have maintenance take a look at it? I appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Just a one night stay on Saturday June 29, 2013. We made our reservation months in advance, even had a comformation number and paperwork showing our reservation, but when we arrived at the hotel, they had no record of us. They had one room left, a parking lot view. The hotel has no air conditioning and the upper rooms are HOT. They supplied us with a fan, but it did little to cool the room. The food was very good in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
bybarr,

I am so sorry about your reservation, I just looked to see what happened and I found your reservation so I do not know what happened. I do apologize! I do hope that you will give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel several times. Best rooms are on the 6th floor with the ocean view, but ocean view rooms cost more. This time we noticed more wear on the chairs, not clean and even some left over food on one of the chair arms. Also found a long blond hair in the chair. The rooms are nice but the balcony is really small. Standing room only! The front desk service was acceptable but had to wait thru a couple phone calls to check in. Breakfast is not included in the room rate but is available at an additional charge. We never ate at the hotel so not sure how good the food is. Rack for the towels in the bathroom was hanging off the wall and never repaired in the 3 days we stayed there. I have stayed at a lot of nicer Best Western Hotels. We actually stayed there this time because the other hotels were full. This hotel is ok but not our first choice in Newport, OR.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 32street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
32Street,

I appreciate your review, As I mentioned in your survey we are in process of putting in new chair however even if you had an old chair it should have been clean. I do hope you will come back and give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just a two night stay during Fourth of July weekend. Definitely recommend the ocean view rooms. the view is spectacular of the ocean and the lighthouse. A very narrow balcony, but enough to stand and drink morning coffee. We left the sliding glass door open all night to listen to the ocean and get fresh air. The room was great. Bathroom and sink are together, so hard to multi task with two people, but it's minor. Great stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palousesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Palousesher,

Sound like you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the view! Which I agree is so pretty! I always recommend the ocean view when it is available as it is so nice to be able to sit and watch the waves! I hope you will stay with us next time you are in town! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warenton oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I booked this room early and was not able to get a ocean view with 2 queens, but the view is cool(by the elevator), you can see the lighthouse. The front desk and housekeeper were awesome, but they could only do so much. We got in the room and it was hot, called the front desk and they furnished a fan. WOW, this is a Best Western PLUS and the room had small issues. Went to get driving directions to dinner- the house computers did not work. the front desk made a strip map. The swimming pool was enjoyed by the grandkids. Other Best Western have better beds and free breakfast. Manager please make excuses- I'm not coming back

Room Tip: get the 6th floor and closer to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Scottbaj,

I was a little confused by your comments, You gave us some great ones but were said you would not be back! I am very sorry that you left our hotel feeling this way, I will not make excuses as we do make mistakes or have things not work So I do apologize !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,707 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Property: Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing