We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing is the view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best thing is the view.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at the BW in Brookings which was the 1st BW we have stayed at in years due to past stays and we were very impressed so I thought we'd try another one. We were on the 4th floor and the view is great, the room was clean, the check in went okay. There is only about 12 parking places in front where the lobby is, so you have to drive up to the parking lot and take a skybridge from the lot which goes to the 6th floor of the hotel and there were no luggage carts so had to go back down to the 1st floor in the elevator to get a cart and back up to get bags and then back down to our room on the 4th floor. The room has a small bathroom that is about 5' by 9' and that's the toilet, tub, and sink. Everything is dated except for the granite top, bed, carpet and TV. The room did have a balcony that's about a foot and a half wide and it would be nice if they cleaned the windows for the view. The wi-fi has been hit and miss and the beach is across a 2 lane road and to get to the water is at least a 1/4 mile away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Charles S,

I appreciate you taking time to write your review. It sounds like you have mixed feelings about your stay with us. We have just updated our rooms and now will be doing some other things in the hotel to update and refresh it! I do hope you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    429
    187
    75
    26
See reviews for
426
481
44
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were extremely satisfied with our stay. Great room, great view. Staff was very helpful. Wonderful to see a great blue heron fly by a couple of times. This was our second stay and I know we will return some time in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank sharonj652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Sharon J,

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Its amazing as each day you never know what kind of birds or wildlife you may see from our hotel. I am happy to hear that you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweet Home, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here the night before the Newport Marathon. It was quiet, clean, and kind of nice being away from everything else. They provided a free shuttle to the starting line, and all though we didn't use it- it was a nice bonus. Our room didn't have an ocean view, but we couldn't have enjoyed it anyhow with as early as we had to check out. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We were happy with our short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sspartyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
sspartyof2,

My hope is that you will get to come back and stay with us again when you can stay longer. I hope that you had a great race. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a pleasant experience with everything -- the room was adequate and clean, the pool was nice, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and we slept well. The beach is very close by, which is also nice. My only complaint was about the wi-fi -- we frequently had trouble connecting, or when we did connect, it was quite slow. Overall we enjoyed our visit and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Sarah E,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am going to look and see where on property your room was located to see if I can figure out the Wifi problem as I thought we had this fixed. I do apologize for that. I hope you will come stay with us again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquille, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I never hesitate to stop a the Agate Beach Inn whenever I travel to the Central Coast of Oregon. The staff is delightful, the room couldn't be better. The beach is easily accessible. Can't think of a better choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gunta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Gus N,

I am delighted to hear that we are your favorite place to stay. We appreciate your business. I hope we will see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here with my mother, my daughter, and our dog Maggie for a girls' weekend get-away. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of their pet-friendly rooms. It's nice to have a clean, comfortable, and affordable place to stay when travelling with a pet. The beds were very comfortable, and the location was convenient to nearby businesses and attractions in Newport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Monique B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am so glad you had a great weekend and was able to bring Maggie with you! I hope that you will come stay with us again. I appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The interior was old but nonetheless the bed was comfortable. Close by there was grocery and number of franchise restaurants. The hotel is also close to the Yaquina Lighthouse and has direct to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Suk Jong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Suk Jong K,

We are in the process of updating our property, We did several things last year and are installing tile and granite this year. I am glad that you did enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Property: Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing