We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AGATE IS THE PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
ROY, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AGATE IS THE PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would highly recommend the Agate in Newport, Or. It is on the Pacific Ocean overlooking a lighthouse. The hotel is imaculate with great customer service and is a relaxing place to walk the waves on a quiet beach and enjoy the sunset. I loved the sound of the waves when going to sleep and would love to go there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Debra D,

I wish you could come back too! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate you taking time to write your review. I think I have a great staff.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    442
    189
    76
    27
See reviews for
439
490
44
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
786 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our top floor double-queen room faced the mountains (or more accurately, the trees between the hotel and Hwy 101). We heard our neighbor's TV but nothing else. The room was not large, but it was really efficiently laid out with plenty of storage and towel racks, and two stuffed chairs plus a desk chair. The beds were very comfortable with appropriate summer covers (blanket and extra sheet instead of a heavy comforter). We ate breakfast in the restaurant, and the chili omelet was nicely made (two of us shared it). We watched sunset from the 6th floor lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a nice stay. Very clean hotel. Very helpful staff. Wish room had air conditioning. Had an unforeseen incident, however staff was very prompt to fix the problem and offer a different room. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Nice beach access. Also enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank L1532UWmaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
L1532UWmaryb,

I appreciate your review and am so glad that the staff got the water leak in vent taken care of for you! I am very glad to hear that you would come stay with us again.
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place is a nice hotel in a great location with an amazing view. We enjoyed staying here. We were on the 3rd floor which was ok and you still had a great view but I can imagine if you were on the 6th it was even better. We did have the smell of propane coming through our room at certain times and I think it might have been from the lamps at the restaurant below we weren't sure since it was really windy it could have been from anywhere. The walls are thin and you can hear other people but it was still comfortable and manageable. We would stay here again. Beds are comfy too!

Room Tip: Go for the top level if you can and in the middle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
mp0609,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us! The view higher up is a little better, However we cut a bunch of trees that has helped. I hope that when you are in town again you will come stay with us. Thank you for your review.
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is an older hotel, but well kept. We had a beach view room, and I am very happy that we spent the extra to get the view. It may be the last time we make it to the ocean! It was very quiet, which we appreciated. The weather was not the best when we were there, so the kids really enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Judy K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It sounds like you had a good time here and since the weather was not the greatest a indoor pool is always so nice. I know you said it may be the last time to the ocean but I hope it will not be and that you will come see us again.
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverton, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It was very disappointing not to receive a room with a view as promised over the phone, we had a tiny bathroom with very low water pressure while using the shower. Children unsupervised after 10pm running and yelling up and down hallways. I don't think the night crew care's about noise so why bother reporting it to them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Telesa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Telesa W,

I am very sorry about the confusion of your reservation. All Price line rooms are hillside view and you can upgrade to ocean view upon availability at an additional cost! I do apologize that you were disappointed with your stay and hope you will give us another try! Thank you for your review.
Judy
Judyk@agatebeachinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel was clean, updated, and the staff was friendly and efficient. it is not close to other attractions or restaurants, but it has great views and access to a beautiful, giant beach. Though our room was otherwise clean and in good repair, with a comfortable bed, the ventilation was a problem. There was no way to get fresh air in the room without opening the sliding door to the small balcony. If you stay, use the beach road for access to the town instead of highway 101. That has less traffic and easier access to the Nye Beach area. Nye Beach has a good selection of restaurants and shopping as an alternative to the old harbor area of Newport.

Room Tip: The view from the ocean side rooms are spectacular. If you aren't in the room at sunset, the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Scott M,

I am so sorry about not having air conditioning. Along the coast in years past their has not been a need and now it seems that the humidity has increased causing us to have a need. Usually the ocean breeze does help. I do hope that you will come stay with us again. I appreciate your review.
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,015 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,706 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Property: Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing