We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was a perfect location on Agate Beach. But be aware, breakfast is not included! So unusual and disappointing for a Best Western. Other than that it was great. Front desk people were neutral, but cleaning staff was awesome. Hotel has a path that leads right to the Beach. Gorgeous views from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 657kerryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
657kerryj,

I am sorry that you were disappointed with no free breakfast. Since we have a full service dining room we do not offer a free continental. We do have a B&B rate that includes breakfast for two that is a limited menu to choose from but has a good variety. We also offer a $5.00 breakfast special each morning. I am glad other than the breakfast that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will see you again. I appreciate you writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    419
    179
    71
    25
See reviews for
405
463
42
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The only thing "wrong" was age of facility - which is really not a bad thing, as most coastal stays require at least a few nights in older buildings. So, unless you want to pay high "resort" prices, this was a very nice stay. Definitely will stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frequent_RoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Frequent_Roadtrips,

We are a older hotel and in the last couple of years have done quite a few things to upgrade the guest rooms. We are getting ready to do more upgrades to hopefully modernize the hotel. I was glad to see that you would stay with us again. I appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Lovely well appointed rooms, updated with a nice classy touch. Stayed July 30th in an 5th floor king bed ocean view for $183 inc tax - Quiet rooms - only (minor) downside was they appeared to have wifi probs as it was strong in the afternoon but disappeared for hours that evening. However, it was useable in the lobby and the staff were offering the business center computers when it all came back up. FYI, Agate beach (steps away out the back entrance) can be windy - but it's great fun - and attracted quite a few people who gathered to watch the sunset. Lovely wind swept beach with little mini dunes. Oh, the restaurant Starfish Grill had lovely food - and were knowledgeable on what gluten free diners could order. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pirtrosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Pirtrosi,

It is so worth the extra for an ocean view room. I am very sorry about the Wifi problem. It seems that we have had a few problems and are trying to figure out what is going on. It does sound like other than that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The overall hotel is very nice. The rooms are a bit dark and dated, but very clean. The morning breakfast, while not complimentary, was very inexpensive and well-prepared. But what makes this hotel stand out is its location. From the beach-side rooms you can see over the beach and to the water. On a bluff nearby is a quaint lighthouse and lighthouse keeper's house. The beach is wide, clean and wonderful for sailing kites or just a romantic walk

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to get a room on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debkits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Debkits,

The view here from our hotel is beautiful, I am glad you were able to enjoy it. The rooms on the hillside do seem to be a little darker because of the natural light is shaded with trees. I am glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and thank you for your review.
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROY, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would highly recommend the Agate in Newport, Or. It is on the Pacific Ocean overlooking a lighthouse. The hotel is imaculate with great customer service and is a relaxing place to walk the waves on a quiet beach and enjoy the sunset. I loved the sound of the waves when going to sleep and would love to go there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Debra D,

I wish you could come back too! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate you taking time to write your review. I think I have a great staff.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
729 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our top floor double-queen room faced the mountains (or more accurately, the trees between the hotel and Hwy 101). We heard our neighbor's TV but nothing else. The room was not large, but it was really efficiently laid out with plenty of storage and towel racks, and two stuffed chairs plus a desk chair. The beds were very comfortable with appropriate summer covers (blanket and extra sheet instead of a heavy comforter). We ate breakfast in the restaurant, and the chili omelet was nicely made (two of us shared it). We watched sunset from the 6th floor lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a nice stay. Very clean hotel. Very helpful staff. Wish room had air conditioning. Had an unforeseen incident, however staff was very prompt to fix the problem and offer a different room. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Nice beach access. Also enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank L1532UWmaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
L1532UWmaryb,

I appreciate your review and am so glad that the staff got the water leak in vent taken care of for you! I am very glad to hear that you would come stay with us again.
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
Address: 3019 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing