We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing/Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Showed up tense and exhausted expectiing a hassle at check in. Didn't happen. Caring and helpful clerk with a smile. Quick check in and clean fresh room. Beautiful first impression of the outside vegetation and condition of the outside building. Highly recommend this to everyone. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Rudy M

As a traveler it is so nice when check in goes like yours did. I am very happy with the staff that great our guests as we want them to feel welcome and want to come back. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stay here every summer and are never disappointed in the quality of service, cleanliness of the room and the facility, and the wonderful view of agate beach, the ocean, and the lighthouse. The restaurant offers a satisfying dining experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Phyllis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Phyllis R,

It is nice to hear that you spend time here every summer, As you can tell we are still doing upgrades to the property and will have some more things done by next summer. I really appreciate you taking the time to write your review and we will see you again.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had stayed at BW Agate Beach 7 years ago in May and since Newport was a convenient stop on a quick trip up the coast again, I reserved it. Only a bed for a night this time, never even walked down to the beach. (Husband registered and I never even went into the lobby, just walked across the bridge from parking to our 6th floor room. So I can only evaluate the room itself.)

First surprise was a folded sheet on the bed with two dog biscuits, something my husband and I have not developed a taste for. Were told that even though we didn't request a pet-friendly room, that was what was left in king rooms. Not sure why it would be assumed we had a pet if we hadn't requested a pet room.

The mattress was comfortable. The room was large and clean, a bit dated in appearance but not shabby. However, when we awoke the next morning I could see that the black-out curtains were full of holes and badly needed replacing. My husband had problems with the water temperature fluctuating when he showered the next morning, but it remained consistent when I showered a few minutes later. Toiletries were used and the shampoo and lotion bottles were less than half full.

Being from the east coast, I never thought about the absence of air conditioning in the list of amenities, especially in a chain hotel. But that is something I will certainly consider in the future if making a summer trip. Since Oregon was having something of a heat wave when we were there, our 6th floor room was rather warm (heat rises!) and was slow to cool off even with the balcony door wide open. Maybe a lower room wouldn't have gotten as hot during the day or an ocean view room would have gotten a better breeze. But our view-of-the-parking-deck room about 3 balconies down from the bridge into the hotel not only didn't get much breeze but was also noisy from people going too and from the parking. Having to keep the drapes open also meant that we had to put up with the lights from the parking deck shining into the room. We were reluctant to keep the door open after we went to sleep since all the balconies were connected; while it would have been a bit of a squeeze, it wouldn't have been extremely difficult for even a somewhat overweight person to go from one balcony to the next. (And maybe not even too hard to access the balconies from the bridge to the parking deck, I didn't check that.) For this reason I would not stay at this hotel at a time of year when there was any possibility of warm weather.

Room Tip: Would avoid 6th and probably 5th floor rooms on the parking deck side. Would avoid the hotel altoge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsforwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

PollyFinder,

I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, You were here on a night that we were sold out of most rooms so a pet room was all that was available. I am very sorry if your husband was not told that. We do not have air conditioning and until lately have not needed it. It seems that the humidity has been worse the last couple of years. Again I apologize for the problems with your stay and hope you come back and give us another try.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was a perfect location on Agate Beach. But be aware, breakfast is not included! So unusual and disappointing for a Best Western. Other than that it was great. Front desk people were neutral, but cleaning staff was awesome. Hotel has a path that leads right to the Beach. Gorgeous views from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 657kerryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

657kerryj,

I am sorry that you were disappointed with no free breakfast. Since we have a full service dining room we do not offer a free continental. We do have a B&B rate that includes breakfast for two that is a limited menu to choose from but has a good variety. We also offer a $5.00 breakfast special each morning. I am glad other than the breakfast that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will see you again. I appreciate you writing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The only thing "wrong" was age of facility - which is really not a bad thing, as most coastal stays require at least a few nights in older buildings. So, unless you want to pay high "resort" prices, this was a very nice stay. Definitely will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Frequent_RoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Frequent_Roadtrips,

We are a older hotel and in the last couple of years have done quite a few things to upgrade the guest rooms. We are getting ready to do more upgrades to hopefully modernize the hotel. I was glad to see that you would stay with us again. I appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Lovely well appointed rooms, updated with a nice classy touch. Stayed July 30th in an 5th floor king bed ocean view for $183 inc tax - Quiet rooms - only (minor) downside was they appeared to have wifi probs as it was strong in the afternoon but disappeared for hours that evening. However, it was useable in the lobby and the staff were offering the business center computers when it all came back up. FYI, Agate beach (steps away out the back entrance) can be windy - but it's great fun - and attracted quite a few people who gathered to watch the sunset. Lovely wind swept beach with little mini dunes. Oh, the restaurant Starfish Grill had lovely food - and were knowledgeable on what gluten free diners could order. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pirtrosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Pirtrosi,

It is so worth the extra for an ocean view room. I am very sorry about the Wifi problem. It seems that we have had a few problems and are trying to figure out what is going on. It does sound like other than that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The overall hotel is very nice. The rooms are a bit dark and dated, but very clean. The morning breakfast, while not complimentary, was very inexpensive and well-prepared. But what makes this hotel stand out is its location. From the beach-side rooms you can see over the beach and to the water. On a bluff nearby is a quaint lighthouse and lighthouse keeper's house. The beach is wide, clean and wonderful for sailing kites or just a romantic walk

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to get a room on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debkits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Debkits,

The view here from our hotel is beautiful, I am glad you were able to enjoy it. The rooms on the hillside do seem to be a little darker because of the natural light is shaded with trees. I am glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and thank you for your review.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,097 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,932 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Address: 3019 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £95 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing