We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Portland
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Comfortable room and bed. Great view. Easy beach access. Pool is great for kids. Easy check in. Lots of parking. Very close/short drive to everything Newport has to offer--Nye Beach, Old Town, Aquarium, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Kathy M,

Sound like your family had a great time in Newport and enjoyed your stay here with us. I do hope you will come often since you do not live far away. I appreciate your review.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    460
    199
    82
    30
See reviews for
470
507
45
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked this hotel a day in advance because we couldn't find anything else on a busy weekend.
Although this place looks new and has "everything", the value is just not there.
It cost 40 dollars more than our previous stays, and breakfast was NOT included as in other BW hotels.
There was a disabled person ahead of us with a service dog. She did have an older friend with her, however I thought the staff would have jumped to assist them with luggage. But no, it was merely suggested to them that it they found that they were unable to manage, they should come back to the lobby and they would get assistance.
The best thing about this place is that it is right near the beach.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an ocean view. Most people did not get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
notanangel,

I appreciate your review, I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay with us! I appreciate the comments so that I can follow up and train our staff to be more aware and helpful
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomeroy, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent spot to stay on Oregon coast Efficient staff Very clean and up to date Nice pool and hot tub Great views Restaurant has problem with volume and closes early Could not get lunch at 2PM Reastaurant closed and no minors in bar

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
James L M,

I am very sorry about the confusion with our hours we serve lunch. Yes we serve lunch in our Rookie sports bar and Minor till 2:00 pm This is due to the Lottery machines. However if you arrive after 2 we will always seat you in the dining room and the bartender can serve you. Again I apologize.
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We always stay at Best Western Agate Beach Inn whenever we visit the Oregon Coast. This hotel has a very gracious and generous pet policy. Staff seem to enjoy the dogs as well. The restaurant is quite good serving everything from comfort food to high end superbly broiled lamb.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Pat K,

I am so glad that you appreciate that we are pet friendly. I lost my dog a year ago so I love to see all the dogs or pets that come and stay with us. It is nice to know that you also enjoy our restaurant. Thank you for writing your review.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a modern, good-looking motel in a beautiful location. The value was great. The room was comfortable and attractive. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only problem was the high-speed internet - they apparently have expanded the motel, but the internet cannot keep up with all the guests, because it says it is connected, but you can't actually access the internet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Eric C,

Thank you for your great comments! I am very sorry about the internet. I have called our IT person and he is making a plan to remedy the problem. I do hope you will come stay with us again.
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Agate beach best western was a very nice stay, hotel was clean and up-to-date, staff was very courteous and accommodating. Views from the hotel were fantastic (when it wasn't foggy), internet worked great, felt secure, bar was decent...nice atmosphere anyway, restaurant was prompt and food was good. We would definitely stay here again (and most likely will be in the coming months)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Mark W,

That is great news that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be back. I really appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

They do not provide breakfast, the Jaccuzi was broken but they didn't tell us at check in, when we asked for hot choc packet for the coffee they said we could buy at the gift shop, We made the reservation weeks in advance but we told to request a beach view room at check in but at check in they had been all sold out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Ryan B,

I am very sorry about not getting upgraded to an Ocean view Room. Upgrades are based on Availability and we do our best to accommodate. We do appreciate you being one of our loyal reward members. I am very sorry that you were not told about the spa as I know it was right about check in that we had the problem so the desk may not have been told yet as we were hoping not to have to close it! I do hope you will come stay with us again.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,027 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,755 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Property: Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing