We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newport
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was my first stay at a LaQuinta Inn and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. We selected this hotel based on the fact that they accepted pets and that they had a great rate. The room was big, had a small kitchenette, and was really clean. The decor was a little corporate, but that is quickly overlooked when you take into account that the staff was really nice, the room was very clean, the parking was abundant, it was quiet and overall really nice -- but most of all they accept pets for no additional fee and were very accommodating. We have an APBT who is often discriminated against at other hotels, but here, she was treated like a VIP guest. We didn't really eat the breakfast, but many people seemed to be enjoying it. At checkin however, they offered cookies, which were a welcome treat after a long road trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    150
    95
    35
    20
See reviews for
235
144
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Great Plains, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The rooms could definitely use some updating. My room was spacious but not terribly convenient. There was a nice desk with no available outlets near it. I had to plug my laptop, phone and other devices in all around the room, including the bathroom. Not terribly convenient for the modern traveler. The sink and mirror are separate from the shower/bath and toilet. The sink area has almost no counter space. There wasn't nearly enough room for my toiletries. The bed was comfortable, and it was pretty quiet. The breakfast was standard hotel fare - scrambled egg patty things that looked strange but were actually really good, cold cereal, waffle maker, bagels, yogurt etc. Just about everything at the coast is overpriced, but I'll try somewhere else next time I stay in Newport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrivingMissCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Because of the nature of my trip I didn't actually have choice about where to stay. The room was pleasant enough though the furnishing was a bit odd. The room was large but oddly had few spots where one could actually sit down. The bed in the bedroom was enormous, my wife and I agreed we'd much rather have a bed half the size and an armchair by the window. The breakfasts were free, but that is where the recommendations stops - the reconstituted eggs were edible.

The hotel is very handy to the aquarium and the Hatfield Marine Station, but the other side of a bridge from the tourist area of Newport. Contrary to one other recent report we found the Wifi to be strong and efficient, and free.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardFreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hotel is getting older. The drain in the bathtub did not drain properly and the faucet changed temperatures as it would not stay in one place. The sheets on our bed the first night had blood stains and was brought to the attention of the front desk staff. The toaster in the breakfast room only had one side working for the 4 days we were there. Not sure how one side of a toaster is to accommodate even one family of 4 or a hotel. The WiFi in the hotel did not work. The issue was brought up with front desk staff and they informed us that they were in the process of changing the WiFi network and therefore it probably wouldn't work.

Lots of negative however for the price and the location it's kind of give and take. There was a good size pool for kids and it was walking distance to the Oregon Aquarium.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rizatripan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the La Quinta in Newport. The beds and pillows were as good and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definately stay again. The hotel is well located by the Newport aquarium. It was great to find a good name hotel in Newport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We weren't looking for anything fancy when we reserved a room at this La Quinta, and the hotel was just fine. The room was clean and reasonably quiet, though the AC unit was a bit grumpy at times. Joy, at the front desk, gave us several recommendations for dinner, including Local Ocean, where we had the best meal of our week-long trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Address: 45 Southeast 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#9 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor Swimming Pool open March thru December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LaQuinta, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Newport Hotel Newport
La Quinta Hotel Newport
La Quinta Newport
Newport La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing