We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's no hilton, but it's no super 8”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It's no hilton, but it's no super 8”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Flew out to Oregon for a funeral, nothing great or exciting..
The staff here was amazingly helpful, and knowledgable of the local area. As a local, I liked quizzing them to see what they told tourists, and surprisingly they were candid and honest about where to go and when, not sending you to the traps.
The hotel was on par with a 2.5 star, a bit overpriced, but not a motel meth lab like in town..

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NukedNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    156
    98
    35
    22
See reviews for
243
151
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was a great find! The hotel seems very new, the room could have held two king-sized beds, so the extra room made it very spacious. Breakfast was on time and had eggs and waffles, the usual wide variety that I expect from La Quinta. Front desk service was superb and friendly. A very positive experience. Thanks to all.
I especially liked the fact that the screened window opened to give us fresh air all night. Everything was very quiet in this location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Got in late but were greeted by a pleasant front desk clerk. I asked for a room on the first floor, and she was happy to accommodate us. She told me that their facilities (pool, business center with a computer, gym) are available 24 hours a day, though I haven't used them so I can't comment. Free breakfast was 6:00-9:30 and included some egg patties, biscuits and gravy, waffles, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, pasties, and yogurt (I might be forgetting something). Quite decent and stocked up well, though I would've liked some meat (e.g. sausage or bacon).

The room itself was clean and fresh, The sheets were fitted. The wall paint color was a bit institutional, but that didn't bother us. There was a fridge and a microwave in the room. The fridge was turned on and running (cold inside). Decent toiletries in the bathroom. The shower worked well (both water temperature and pressure).

They had three luggage carts to help you load/unload the car. We didn't have a problem getting one. There was an ice machine, and fortunately they didn't have stupid "Don't fill your ice chests" sign.

Wireless internet was free and worked well.

The location was easy to get to and close to everything.

Overall I liked the place and definitely wouldn't stayed again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband, 3 kids(ages 10yrs, 8yrs & 5month old) and I stayed at La Quinta in Newport for a couple nights during spring break 2014. It was our first time in Newport, the experience at the hotel was pleasant, a little outdated and the pool was a little chilly but we got a pretty good deal when we booked so can’t complain much. Also, the free breakfast is a plus! My kids really enjoyed the waffles...the food area could be a little bigger. Overall a pretty decent stay for a good price! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Lorena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Chose this motel on the fly for an overnight stay. Had stayed here years ago when it was under different ownership.

Location is convenient to Hwy 101, Aquarium, and OSU facilities. Not scenic, look elsewhere if you are looking for a view or beach access. No restaurants within walking distance, that I am aware of.

Basic motel, pretty standard La Quinta property. Good service from staff. Room could have been a bit cleaner. Standard motel breakfast.

Room had strong smell of "air freshener" --- if you have chemical sensitivities, you should ask to see the room before you complete your check in. I would not have stayed here for more than one night, due to this issue alone.

I was impressed with the wide, well-lit hallways. We did not use the pool, so cannot comment.

Our room had both a microwave and refrigerator, much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJMtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice room, had a droor to keep kids and adults with a little privacy, nice pool and hot tub, open all the time. Direct tv instead of charter boxes. Cannt watch blazers if they're on. Has a radio u used to listen

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Address: 45 Southeast 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#9 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor Swimming Pool open March thru December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Newport Hotel Newport
La Quinta Hotel Newport
La Quinta Newport
Newport La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing