We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable with a sour smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Uncomfortable with a sour smell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

A good location. quick and easy access to anything in Newport. Rogue is a short walk down the street. The front desk was very nice and helpful. other than the strong chlorine smell when walking into the lobby no other issues until we got to our room. The elevator sounds like it's ready to go down and man was there a strong odor in there! The room is dated and there was a lot of odd marks on the walls I'm assuming mildew bc the room smelled of it. The bed was comfy but that was all. This was a flip flop only kind of room. There was little to no pressure in the shower which is assumed when traveling but I didn't feel clean and refreshed. There is a fridge in the room which is helpful. The air is loud all through the night. I only ate breakfast once and I'm glad I'd was only once. It did not sit well with me or my husband. Just a typical carb overload and an egg on the side. I suggest to get breakfast elsewhere.
On a side note there is a wall mart if you continue north, just in case you forgot something :)
I hate to leave a bad review but this place just did nothing for me and the price is not much less than the hilton right next door.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    152
    96
    35
    22
See reviews for
241
147
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff at this La Quinta went WAY out of their way to make our honeymoon memorable. They upgraded us to a jacuzzi suite, offered all kinds of suggestions for where to eat and shop and were SO friendly!!! Our room was simply amazing! We almost extended our honeymoon just to stay an extra night. =) The indoor pool was wonderful! The location is very convenient! We will definitely be going back to Newport, and this is where we will stay. =)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSilva077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
175 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Using my 'dog lovers guide to oregon' found this hotel...very nice for the price, close to beaches, cookies in evening, breakfast in morning, 3rd floor king room is very nice and spacious...huge dog walking area too...if i stay over in newport again, i will come back for sure! no idea what the negative reviews are about.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I booked an ADA King Deluxe on the LQ website, but got a regular King room when I checked in. The front desk said they don't have that room type. I had to get a rollaway when I was expecting a sleeper sofa. Be aware if you book a ADA accessible King Deluxe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank DallasPizzaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Overnighted here for our trip up the coast. Staff was very friendly but the hotel really needs a facelift. Our room was clean but I couldn't help but wish I had taken the gamble on one of the cute owner-operated inns that pepper the coastal highway.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaurieL222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a nice hotel, with breakfast, and indoor pool. Summer rate $149+ could have been lower, but no other complaints. Literally five minutes or less to the Oregon Aquarium. It was nice, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank wallyrd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The primary attraction of this hotel (and the Holiday Inn Express next door) is the location, just a short walk to the Oregon Aquarium and Hatfield Marine Science Center. This hotel offers basic but fine accommodation with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Address: 45 Southeast 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#9 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor Swimming Pool open March thru December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LaQuinta, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Newport Hotel Newport
La Quinta Hotel Newport
La Quinta Newport
Newport La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing