We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn Newport
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$167
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whaler(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agate Beach Motel(Newport)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
130
164
44
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
164
44
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskcookiesyogurtroom was cleanbottled waterhot breakfastnye beachstay there againroad tripthe breakfast areareasonable ratesincluded breakfastshort walknice staythird floorparking lothotel room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

No shelter outside for smokers. They were in construction, so half the time had to use other entrance...lots of nails in parking lot. When I mentioned to the manager it would help to have a smoking gazebo (had 50 mph winds during our stay), he said " I hope you aren't smoking in your room as I'd hate to have to charge you $200". If I'd been smoking in the room, why would I complain about getting wet outside?
No phone book in room. WiFi didn't work. Phone book in lobby was for north coast, not central. Clueless front desk help. Sounds like whining, I know...but this was a bereavement visit between my husband and his daughter in the navy who flew out to see him before he dies. Not a lot of concern on their part, no deal beyond what I found online. No recommendations from me

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank firstlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn1, Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We are so sorry that you feel that you werent treated well. We sincerely try to make every guest feel welcome and wanting to come back to our hotel. We are under construction to beautify our hotel, I am so sorry that it has affected you stay. We do encourage you to come back after our construction and see all the improvemts that we have made. We are a 100% non smoking property and therefor we do not and will not have smoking shelters on our property.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager
Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

They were remodeling when we stopped, so we were a little nervous, but they gave us a great deal. We had a king room, pretty small but clean and comfortable with a mini fridge & microwave. Good light blocking curtains & fan in bathroom. No pool or hot tub but there is an exercise room and elevator. Fresh cookies in the evening. Nice staff. Very short walk to the beautiful beach. Quiet area. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmgirlIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn1, Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review for our Comfort Inn in Newport Oregon, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and your comments have been passed on tho the staff and owners. Thank you too for putting up with our remodel, while we know that the property will look great when completed, the process of getting there can be quite challenging. Please do come back and see us agin, we really do appreciate your business.
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights in late September. The location is good, no ocean view but a very short walk to the beach. The rooms are a little dated but everything seemed very clean and the breakfast was decent. Have stayed in many other hotels in Newport over the years and this one is the best of all the moderate priced competitors.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klamathbeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for posting your review for our Comfort Inn in Newport Oregon. Our guest reviews are eagerly read by our manangement and staff alike and your opinion means everything. We are in the process of updating our property and would like it very much if you come back and see us when it is complete, I do believe you might be impressed.
Thank you again for your response.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

this is your typical box hotel, But they have clean rooms, not all worn out, like some of the older ones here in Newport. And,it's got a fridge and micro and coffee pot, and a decent size flat screen tv , Also the bedding is clean and nice enough, and they have a breakfast thats pretty good
Its an OK hotel all in all , there is one thing that I usually want when I get a room anywhere in Oregon and that's A/C . this hotel does not have A/C , But its November and so it's not needed,
the best part is the price ,,,, its a perk i guess because of the renovation's ,, all i know is it's the best price locally for the quality that you get !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vardis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for posting your review for our Comfort Inn in Newport Oregon. We are going through an extensive remodel after which we will have A/C, new bedding and closets, not to mention a new look for our exterior, lobby and front desk. We sincerely hope that you will stay with us when all of this work is completed and thanks again for your review.
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have stayed at several Comfort Inn's in the last couple of years and I have ALWAYS been pleased with their manager, all of their employees, and comfortable accomodations. The rooms have always been clean, in good repair, and the beds sumptuous. Morning breakfast and a free newspaper is a wonderful way to start the day and to meet fellow travelers. This time, the person tending breakfast was a real hoot -- her sense of humor made us all laugh.
While there was just a hint of an ocean view, the beach is less than a block away and I came to enjoy the beach not the view. Why pay three times as much for a full ocean view when you should be outside, on the beach, soaking in everything wonderful -- even if it does sometimes rain? There are lots of things to do in the rain too.
Because of renovations at the other end of the hotel, the manager reduced the price. That kind of customer care is what makes this chain of motels so special. The fresh cookies in the evening are a nice touch too. They will always be my first choice when traveling and I will recommend them to anyone who will listen.

Room Tip: Express your needs to the desk person and they will find the exact, right room for you -- always!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review for our Comfort Inn in Newport Oregon, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and your comments have been passed on tho the staff and owners. Thank you too for putting up with our remodel, while we know that the property will look great when completed, the process of getting there can be quite challenging. Please do come back and see us agin, we really do appreciate your business.
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews